Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Comfort Inn logo
FV-04661Data Quality·Minimal38%Limited DataFDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Comfort Inn Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingMDFranchising since 1981CEOPatrick S. PaciousWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.
AStrongest tier86/100

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Comfort Inn franchise requires a total initial investment of $319K – $2.3M, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. The 2024 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. SBA 7(a) loans show a 1.8% charge-off rate across 225 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2024 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$319K – $2.3M
17th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Projection
Royalty
6.0%
53rd pct Lodging
Units
1,664
72nd pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
1.8%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$319K – $2.3M
Avg $10.5M
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Avg $60K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$25K – $50K
Avg $566K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Non-annual metric
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Avg 5.4%
Ongoing Fees
9.5% of rev
Avg 10.4%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
1.8%
Avg 5.7%
below avg ↓
System Size
1,664 units
Avg 229 units
Turnover Rate
2.2%
Avg 4.0%
Territory
Not protected
Franchisor can open nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
83 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $319K – $2.3M including a $50K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports Historical rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 86/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 1.8% across 225 loans (well below the franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • LEGAL83 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Choice Hotels International, Inc.
Parent company
Choice Hotels International, Inc.
Predecessor
Quality Courts Motels, Inc. (later Choice Hotels Franchising, Inc.); now Choice Hotels International, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Director, President and Chief Executive Officer
Patrick S. Pacious
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
915 Meeting Street, Suite 600, North Bethesda, Maryland 20852
Auditor
Ernst & Young LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.5B
vs $1.4B prior year

Overview

About

Franchisor of limited-service, upper mid-scale hotels operating under the COMFORT INN, COMFORT INN & SUITES, and COMFORT SUITES trademarks

CEO
Patrick S. Pacious
Headquarters
MD
Founded
1939
FDD year
2024

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 87% below the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$319K – $2.3MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 49 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty + ad fund6.0% + 3.5%
Working capital$25K – $50K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2024 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Comfort Inn: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$50K$50K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$25K$50K
Equipment, build-out, other$244K$2.2M
Total initial investment$319K$2.3M

Source: Comfort Inn 2024 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$319K – $2.3M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$25K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.5%
typical 3–5%

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Comfort Inn: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.5% of gross sales
Inventory (initial)$24K $136K

What do units actually make?

Item 19 typeHistorical
Sample size1,600

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Comfort Inn is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Comfort Inn unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $319K–$2.3M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $25K–$50K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$1.4M
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

An occupancy metric, not unit revenue

Item 19 type
Historical
Sample size
1,600
vs category median 98 · large
Reporting year
2023
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2024
Disclosed in the 2024 filing, covering 2023
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank17th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank53th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank72th
vs Lodging peers
Risk score rank0th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 175 Lodging brands

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

6.0% royalty + 3.5% ad fund.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports Historical rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging averages

How Comfort Inn Compares

Metric
Comfort Inn
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$1.3M
$10.5M
Revenue
N/A
$1.4M
Unit Count
1,664
229.333

Is the system healthy?

Total units1,664Verified — printed on page 94 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
Turnover rate2.2%

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
1,664
Opened
45
Last reporting year
Closed
36
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
9
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
2.2%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
45
Closed (3yr)
26
Terminated (3yr)
1
Non-renewed (3yr)
9
Transfers (3yr)
107
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
2021
1,645
Franchised units
2022
1,655+10
Franchised units
2023
1,664+9
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 14 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 14 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

A
SBA Lending Health
Excellent SBA lending record · 1.8% charge-off
Total loans
225
Loan volume
$283.1M
Median loan
$1.1M
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
1.8%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
98.2%
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
99
Defaults
4
Typical loan rate
5.7%
avg rate to borrowers
vs industry
N/A
NAICS 7211
Jobs supported
1,064
0.4 per loan
Lender concentration
9%
top lender's share

Vintage analysis

Comfort Inn charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Comfort Inn charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 20 vintages from 1992 to 2013. Rates range from 0.0% to 12.5%.0%5%10%15%'92'95'98'01'04'09'12'13

Top lenders financing Comfort Inn franchisees

First Western SBLC, Inc21 loans
Wells Fargo Bank National Association16 loans
Truist Bank10 loans

Showing 3 of 99 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Comfort Inn's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 5 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 15 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
  • 22-year lending trend
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

Lending insight

With a 1.8% charge-off rate across 225 loans, banks have historically viewed this brand favorably for lending.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 1.8% — 89% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off1.8%
Verdict score86/100 (higher is better)
Litigation83 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier86Verdict score 86/100
High confidence±6 pts
2537

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Ernst & Young LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1544.2MYr 2: $1401.9MNon-royalty: $46.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Audited consolidated financial statements of Choice Hotels International, Inc. (parent franchisor) for years ended December 31, 2023, 2022, 2021 (Exhibit C), in thousands. FY2023 total revenues $1,544.165M include $784.16M of pass-through other revenues from franchised and managed properties; royalty/licensing/management fees $513.412M, initial franchise fees $27.787M. Net worth (total shareholders' equity) is low ($35.598M) due to $2.047B treasury stock against $1.756B retained earnings.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Allowed renewals0
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryNo
Franchisor can competeYes
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMaryland
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMD
Litigation count83

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Training duration
3 days
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee selects site; franchisor must approve location
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
choiceADVANTAGE
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: choiceADVANTAGE

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

78 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 78 contacts · $49
Free preview
(928) 607-••••AZ
Unlock all 78 contacts
(949) 413-••••CA
(928) 776-••••AZ
(928) 600-••••AZ
(303) 517-••••CO

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Comfort Inn franchise?

The total investment to open a Comfort Inn franchise ranges from $319K – $2.3M, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Comfort Inn franchise owners earn?

No average owner earnings figure for Comfort Inn is on file. Item 19 — where a franchisor may disclose what its outlets earn — is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and we have not established what this brand's FDD says. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Comfort Inn FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Comfort Inn FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Comfort Inn's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Comfort Inn has a charge-off rate of 1.8% across 225 loans, meaning 1.8% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Comfort Inn franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Comfort Inn has 1,664 total units in the United States, including 1,664 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 45 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Comfort Inn a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Comfort Inn as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 86 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Comfort Inn, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.