Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Coastal Angler Magazine logo

Coastal Angler Magazine Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Business ServicesFLFranchising since 2008
BAbove averageAbove average63/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$29K – $35K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00581FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent81%
Manager-run OKYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Coastal Angler Magazine is a media franchise publishing local fishing and boating magazines in print and digital. Franchisees run local editions, selling advertising to marine businesses and managing content and distribution.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Coastal Angler Magazine franchise requires a total initial investment of $29K – $35K, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 8.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$29K – $35K
7th pct Business Serv…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
8.0%
33rd pct Business Serv…
Units
34
30th pct Business Serv…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Business Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$29K – $35K
Median $133K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $48K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$3K – $6K
Median $23K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
8.0%
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
10.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
34 units
Median 39 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
9.1%
Median 3.7%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Business Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $29K – $35K including a $25K franchise fee, 8.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 63/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (3 opened, 3 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Coastal Angler Magazine Franchising, Inc.
CEO title
Chairman of the Board
Benjamin Martin
Incorporated in
FL
HQ
1980 N. Atlantic Avenue, Suite 230-17, Cocoa Beach, Florida 32931
Auditor
McCain Samons & Fiorini
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$827K
vs $854K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Benjamin Martin
Headquarters
FL
Founded
2008
FDD year
2026
States available
10

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 76% below the typical business services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$29K – $35KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Verified — printed on page 9 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty8.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$3K – $6K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Coastal Angler Magazine: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$25K$25K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$3K$6K
Equipment, build-out, other$975$4K
Total initial investment$29K$35K

Source: Coastal Angler Magazine 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$29K – $35K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$3K – $6K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
8.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
10.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Coastal Angler Magazine: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty8.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0%
Training fee$200
Transfer fee$3K
Renewal fee$3K
Total fee load10.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Coastal Angler Magazine makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Coastal Angler Magazine unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $29K–$35K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $3K–$6K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$36K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 122 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 10.0% (near the Business Services median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (0.0% 3-year CAGR) with 34 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Business Services medians

How Coastal Angler Magazine Compares

Metric
Coastal Angler Magazine
Category median
vs median
Investment
$32K
$133Kmiddle half $79K–$260K · n=193
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$686Kmiddle half $373K–$1.4M · n=61
N/A
Unit Count
34
39middle half 8–116 · n=193
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Business Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units34Verified — printed on page 35 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+0.0%
Turnover rate9.1% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
34
Opened
3
Last reporting year
Closed
3
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
9.1%
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
97%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
4
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
7
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
33
Franchised units
2024
33±0
Franchised units
2025
33±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 10 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

10

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

3 current owners across 2 states.

  • FL 2
  • AU 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 30 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score63/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average63Verdict score 63/100

Coastal Angler presents elevated risk due to absent financial disclosures, regulatory history, stagnant growth, and exposure to a declining print media industry.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
5076

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · McCain Samons & Fiorini

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.8MYr 2: $0.9MNon-royalty: $0.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Audited Statement of Income, year ended December 31, 2024. Total revenue $827,114 comprised of Advertising Income $658,142, Other Income $114,387, and Franchise Sales $54,585. Auditor signed in Vero Beach, FL on February 24, 2025; CPA firm name not present in extracted text.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 63 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo Item 19 financial performance disclosure (revenue/net income) prevents ROI validation
  2. 02MINORSecurities enforcement action in Hawaii (2013) indicates regulatory compliance issues and unauthorized sales practices
  3. 03MEDStagnant unit count at 33 with no growth trajectory disclosed over unknown timeframe raises expansion and viability concerns
  4. 04MEDHigh 8% royalty rate on undisclosed revenues creates uncertainty about actual franchisee profitability
  5. 05MINORMagazine/publishing model faces structural headwinds from digital disruption and declining print advertising
  6. 06MINOR10-year term with $25,000 franchise fee is long commitment with minimal franchisor transparency

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 122 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 10.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training16 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory population500,000
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationBrevard County, Florida
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawFL
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
15 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Cocoa Beach, Florida / franchisee's work site / Remote
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects; franchisor assists and must approve within 30 days
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Quickbooks
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Quickbooks

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

33 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 33 contacts · $49
Free preview
(281) 610-••••
Unlock all 33 contacts
(407) 790-••••
(866) 275-••••
(813) 830-••••
(518) 473-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Coastal Angler Magazine franchise?

The total investment to open a Coastal Angler Magazine franchise ranges from $29K – $35K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Coastal Angler Magazine franchise owners earn?

Coastal Angler Magazine makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Coastal Angler Magazine?

Coastal Angler Magazine is franchised by Coastal Angler Magazine Franchising, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Coastal Angler Magazine FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Coastal Angler Magazine FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Coastal Angler Magazine's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Coastal Angler Magazine (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Coastal Angler Magazine franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Coastal Angler Magazine has 34 total units in the United States, including 33 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 3 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Coastal Angler Magazine a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Coastal Angler Magazine as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 63 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Coastal Angler Magazine, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Business Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Business Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.