Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Champs Chicken logo

Champs Chicken Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsMOFranchising since 2014
BAbove averageAbove average64/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$9K – $410K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00496FDD 2025Data QualityStandard67%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Champs Chicken is a quick-service fried-chicken franchise built for non-traditional sites like convenience stores and supermarkets. Franchisees run a store-in-store or kiosk serving fried chicken, tenders, and sides.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Champs Chicken franchise requires a total initial investment of $9K – $410K. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2025 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - a newer filing may exist

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$9K – $410K
0th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
397
87th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$9K – $410K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$0 – $0
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$3K – $30K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 5.5%
Ongoing Fees
4.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
397 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
9.1%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
3 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $9K – $410K.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 64/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -3 franchised outlets in the latest year (33 opened, 36 closed) (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -7.2% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Champs Chicken Franchising, LLC
Predecessor
None
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President and Chief Executive Officer
Shawn Burcham
CEO experience
26 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
120 Commerce Drive, Holts Summit, Missouri 65043
Auditor
Auditor located in Fargo, North Dakota (report dated August 21, 2024)
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$191K
vs $203K prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Shawn Burcham
Headquarters
MO
Founded
2013
FDD year
2025
States available
36

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 57% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$9K – $410KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise feeNot extracted
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fund0.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 29 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$3K – $30K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Champs Chicken: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Working capital (3–6 mo)$3K$30K
Equipment, build-out, other$6K$380K
Total initial investment$9K$410K

Source: Champs Chicken 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$9K – $410K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$3K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
N/A
Paid to franchisor at signing
Royalty
No royalty is charged. The franchisor does not charge an …
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
4.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Champs Chicken: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Technology fee$5K
Transfer fee$3K
Inventory (initial)$3K – $15K
Total fee load4.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Champs Chicken makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Champs Chicken unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $9K–$410K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $3K–$30K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$226K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 108 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 4.0% — below the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -7.2% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Champs Chicken Compares

Metric
Champs Chicken
Category median
vs median
Investment
$210K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
397
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units397Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 46 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-7.2% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate9.1% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
397
Opened
33
Last reporting year
Closed
36
Turnover rate
9.1%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-7.2%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-7.2%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Transferred
17
Transfer rate
4.2%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Continuity rate
90.3%
Units that stayed open
Ceased ops
10.7%
Units that stopped operating
2022
415
Franchised units
2023
400-15
Franchised units
2024
397-3
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 33 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 33 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

120 current owners across 33 states.

  • MN 12
  • MO 11
  • OK 10
  • KS 8
  • TX 8
  • OH 5
  • OR 5
  • GA 4
  • KY 4
  • VA 4
  • AR 3
  • CO 3
  • +21 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 6 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score64/100 (higher is better)
Litigation3 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average64Verdict score 64/100

Champs Chicken presents HIGH RISK due to system contraction, multi-state regulatory violations, undisclosed financials, and evidence of franchisor-franchisee disputes over payments.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Low confidence±15 pts
4979

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Three Item-3 matters disclosed: (1) TravelCenters of the Ozarks/Wilmoth Enterprises v. Champs Chicken Franchising (Cole County, MO, 2022) — breach of contract over rebate payments, in preliminary stage; (2) Illinois Assurance of Voluntary Compliance (2016) — sold franchises while registration suspended, paid $2,000; (3) Washington Consent Order (2017) — sold franchises without a current permit, paid $3,000.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Auditor located in Fargo, North Dakota (report dated August 21, 2024)

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.2MYr 2: $0.2M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

License fees are the sole revenue line; recognized over time and consist of license fees received from Pro Food Systems, Inc. Interest income of $11,472 is reported separately as Other Income below operating income.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 64 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNegative unit growth (-3.6% YoY) indicates system contraction and potential franchisee dissatisfaction
  2. 02MEDMultiple regulatory violations across three states (Missouri, Illinois, Washington) suggesting compliance issues and operational negligence
  3. 03MEDNo average revenue or net income disclosure (missing Item 19) prevents validation of profitability claims
  4. 04HIGHActive litigation regarding rebates suggests franchisor-franchisee financial disputes and broken promises
  5. 05MINORSuspended registration in Illinois and permit violations in Washington indicate franchisor failed basic legal obligations
  6. 06MINORDeclining unit count combined with non-disclosure makes it impossible to assess franchisee success rates

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 108 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 4.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training0 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius1 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice60 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawDE
Litigation count3
View Item 3 litigation summary

Three Item-3 matters disclosed: (1) TravelCenters of the Ozarks/Wilmoth Enterprises v. Champs Chicken Franchising (Cole County, MO, 2022) — breach of contract over rebate payments, in preliminary stage; (2) Illinois Assurance of Voluntary Compliance (2016) — sold franchises while registration suspended, paid $2,000; (3) Washington Consent Order (2017) — sold franchises without a current permit, paid $3,000.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
0 hrs
On-the-job training
12 hrs
Training location
Franchisee's Restaurant
Time to open
6 mo
From signing to launch
POS system
MicroSale (reporting service); POS not mandated
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: MicroSale (reporting service); POS not mandated

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

126 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 126 contacts · $49
Free preview
404-809-••••GA
Unlock all 126 contacts
417-736-••••MO
660-395-••••MO
864-497-••••NC
217-236-••••IL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Champs Chicken franchise?

The total investment to open a Champs Chicken franchise ranges from $9K – $410K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Champs Chicken franchise owners earn?

Champs Chicken makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Champs Chicken?

Champs Chicken is franchised by Champs Chicken Franchising, LLC. The FDD names no parent company. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Champs Chicken FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Champs Chicken FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Champs Chicken's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Champs Chicken (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Champs Chicken franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Champs Chicken has 397 total units in the United States, including 397 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 33 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Champs Chicken a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Champs Chicken as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 64 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Champs Chicken, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.