Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION logo
FV-00182Data Quality·Excellent81%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Ascend Hotel Collection Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingMDFranchising since 2008CEOPatrick S. PaciousWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.
AStrongest tier74/100

The Ascend Hotel Collection is Choice Hotels' soft brand for upscale, independent, and boutique hotels. Franchisees own and operate a distinctive property, running guest services while tapping Choice's reservation and marketing systems.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION franchise requires a total initial investment of $188K – $2.2M, including a $45K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. The 2024 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2024 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$188K – $2.2M
7th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Projection
Royalty
5.0%
3rd pct Lodging
Units
177
52nd pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$188K – $2.2M
Avg $10.5M
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
$45K – $45K
Avg $60K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$25K – $50K
Avg $566K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Non-annual metric
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Avg 5.4%
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Avg 10.4%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
No SBA data
Not SBA-matched
System Size
177 units
Avg 229 units
Turnover Rate
10.2%
Avg 4.0%
Territory
Not protected
Franchisor can open nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
7 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $188K – $2.2M including a $45K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports operational metrics rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 74/100 (higher is better).
  • DATAItem 19 reports operational metrics rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable. Ask franchisees directly for full unit-level revenue.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Choice Hotels International, Inc.
Parent company
Choice Hotels International, Inc.
CEO title
Director, President and Chief Executive Officer
Patrick S. Pacious
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
915 Meeting Street, Suite 600, North Bethesda, Maryland 20852
Auditor
Ernst & Young LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.5B
vs $1.4B prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Overview

About

CEO
Patrick S. Pacious
Headquarters
MD
Founded
1939
FDD year
2024
States available
42

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 88% below the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$188K – $2.2MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 48 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$45,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty + ad fund5.0% + 3.0%
Working capital$25K – $50K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown12 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Affiliation Fee$45K$45K
Property Improvements$78K$1.8M
Insurance$3K$88K
Advertising$3K$40K
Hardware to operate choiceADVANTAGE property management system$4K$11K
choiceADVANTAGE Software License and Systems Training$9K$11K
Opening Inventory of Supplies$0$123K
Onboarding, Sales, Hospitality Leadership Certification Fees, and Orientation Fees$4K$9K
Mandatory On-Premise Plaque$200$750
Pre-Opening Photography$4K$5K
Working Capital Required Before Operations Begin$15K$40K
Additional Funds for 3-Month Initial Period$25K$50K
Total initial investment$188K$2.2M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$188K – $2.2M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$25K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$45K – $45K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$472
Training fee$9K
Transfer fee$45K
Inventory (initial)$0 $123K
Total fee load8.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Item 19 typeoperational metrics
Sample size133

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $188K–$2.2M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $25K–$50K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$1.2M
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

Not a revenue figure

Item 19 type
operational metrics
Sample size
133
vs category median 98
Reporting year
2023
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2024
Disclosed in the 2024 filing, covering 2023
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank7th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank3th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank52th
vs Lodging peers
Risk score rank21th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 175 Lodging brands

Showing the headline figures — all 143 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% — below the Lodging average of 10.4%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports operational metrics rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (-0.6% 3-year CAGR) with 177 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging averages

How Ascend Hotel Collection Compares

Metric
Ascend Hotel Collection
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$1.2M
$10.5M
Revenue
N/A
$1.4M
Unit Count
177
229.333

Is the system healthy?

Total units177Verified — printed on page 89 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+2.9%
Turnover rate10.2%

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
177
Opened
17
Last reporting year
Closed
13
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
1
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
10.2%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+2.9%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-0.6%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
23
Closed (3yr)
15
Terminated (3yr)
2
Non-renewed (3yr)
1
Transfers (3yr)
5
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
Termination rate
1.7%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
8.5%
Units that stopped operating
2021
178
Franchised units
2022
174-4
Franchised units
2023
177+3
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 42 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

42

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
32
Loan volume
$95.3M
Median loan
$3.0M
average
Charge-off rate
N/A
no resolved loans yet — rate needs a terminal outcome

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
N/A
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
16
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
6.5%
avg rate to borrowers
vs industry
N/A
Jobs supported
N/A
Lender concentration
11%
top lender's share

Vintage analysis

Ascend Hotel Collection charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Ascend Hotel Collection charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 12 vintages from 2014 to 2025. Rates range from 0.0% to 20.0%.0%5%10%15%20%'14'16'18'20'22'24'25

Top lenders financing Ascend Hotel Collection franchisees

PromiseOne Bank3 loans0.0%
NewBank2 loans
GBank2 loans

Showing 3 of 16 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Ascend Hotel Collection's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 16 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

What could kill this investment?

Verdict score74/100 (higher is better)
Litigation7 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier74Verdict score 74/100

HIGH RISK: Stagnant growth, pervasive litigation, high franchisor enforcement actions, and missing financial disclosures indicate a troubled system where franchisees face legal exposure and undisclosed profitability risks.

High confidence±3 pts
3844

Litigation (Item 3)

3 pending matters: (1) Norma Knuth class action in Canada re destination marketing fees; (2) Jai Sai Baba multi-plaintiff RICO/franchise law suit (stayed, in arbitration); (3) T&T Management breach of contract/data misappropriation. Resolved: Wydredge (settled 2014), Sender Kohl ($85K settlement 2021), Highmark Lodging ($779K judgment against Choice 2024), Dahya Investments (mixed award). Large volume of 2023 royalty collection arbitrations by franchisor against franchisees.

Largest disclosed settlement: $779,398

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Ernst & Young LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1544.2MYr 2: $1401.9MNon-royalty: $46.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Consolidated financial statements of Choice Hotels International, Inc. (parent franchisor); amounts in thousands. FY2023 total revenues $1,544.165M; FY2022 $1,401.949M. Audited by Ernst & Young LLP (PCAOB ID 42).

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 74 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORMinimal system growth (1.7% YoY) with only 177 units suggests stagnation or contraction pressure
  2. 02MINORMultiple active class action lawsuits regarding destination marketing fees and discriminatory practices indicate systemic franchisor issues affecting profitability
  3. 03MINOR61 recovery actions initiated by franchisor in prior year suggests widespread franchisee defaults, payment disputes, or breach claims
  4. 04MINORUnprotected territory exposes franchisees to direct brand competition and canibalization within same market
  5. 05MINOR5% royalty on gross room revenue (not net) penalizes franchisees during low-occupancy periods common in hospitality

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 143 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training87 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Allowed renewals0
Territory typenone
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination grounds3
Curable defaults2
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMaryland
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMD
Litigation count7
View Item 3 litigation summary

3 pending matters: (1) Norma Knuth class action in Canada re destination marketing fees; (2) Jai Sai Baba multi-plaintiff RICO/franchise law suit (stayed, in arbitration); (3) T&T Management breach of contract/data misappropriation. Resolved: Wydredge (settled 2014), Sender Kohl ($85K settlement 2021), Highmark Lodging ($779K judgment against Choice 2024), Dahya Investments (mixed award). Large volume of 2023 royalty collection arbitrations by franchisor against franchisees.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
47 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
North Bethesda, Maryland or Scottsdale, Arizona (Choice Onboard); online/virtual (HOST)
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisor must approve site; franchisee selects
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
choiceADVANTAGE
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: choiceADVANTAGE

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

152 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 152 contacts · $49
Free preview
781856••••HA
Unlock all 152 contacts
318747••••
540381••••
402371••••
407406••••

FDD download

ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION · FDD (2024) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION franchise?

The total investment to open a ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION franchise ranges from $188K – $2.2M, with an initial franchise fee of $45K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION franchise owners earn?

No average owner earnings figure for ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION is on file. Item 19 — where a franchisor may disclose what its outlets earn — is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and we have not established what this brand's FDD says. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION has 177 total units in the United States, including 177 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 17 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 74 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.