Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
ACE SUSHI logo

Ace Sushi Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsCaliforniaFranchising since 2005
BAbove averageAbove average65/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$18K – $128K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00067FDD 2026Data QualityStandard76%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Ace Sushi is a franchise operating fresh, made-in-store sushi counters inside supermarkets and grocery stores. Franchisees run an in-store sushi station preparing rolls and bowls to order.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A ACE SUSHI franchise requires a total initial investment of $18K – $128K, including a $6K – $15K franchise fee and an ongoing 8.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$18K – $128K
0th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
8.0%
37th pct Service Resta…
Units
123
32nd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$18K – $128K
Median $678K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$6K – $15K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$5K – $10K
Median $43K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
8.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
10.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
123 units
Median 20 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
41.5%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
5 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $18K – $128K including a $6K franchise fee, 8.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 65/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +20 franchised outlets in the latest year (71 opened, 51 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAG37 units terminated last reporting year (30.1% of the system). Ask existing franchisees why.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Ace Sushi Franchise Corporation
Parent company
Asiana Management Group, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2026 FDD
CEO title
Director, President and Chief Executive Officer
Harlan H. Chin
Incorporated in
California
HQ
22771 S Western Avenue, Torrance, California 90501
Auditor
Windes, Inc.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.1M
vs $1.2M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Harlan H. Chin
Headquarters
California
Founded
2004
FDD year
2026
States available
23

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 89% below the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$18K – $128KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 26 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$6,000Verified — printed on page 14 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty8.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$5K – $10K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown15 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Application Fee$125$125
Initial Training Fee$500$500
Initial Franchise Fee$6K$15K
Licenses$100$1K
Insurance$400$4K
Initial Food Inventory$3K$30K
Initial Marketing, Small Wares, Supplies, Uniforms and Other Non-Food Items$1K$4K
Equipment Purchase/Rental$50$500
Label Machine$500$500
Sushi Robot$0$17K
Computer System$100$600
Onsite Training Fee$2K$9K
Leasehold Improvements$0$30K
Expenses Before Opening$500$5K
Additional Funds, Working Capital Reserve (for 3 months)$5K$10K
Total initial investment$18K$128K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$18K – $128K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$5K – $10K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$6K – $15K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
8.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
10.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

ACE SUSHI: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty8.0%
Marketing / ad fund2.0%
Technology fee$99
Training fee$500
Transfer fee$3K
Renewal fee$100
Inventory (initial)$3K – $30K
Total fee load10.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

ACE SUSHI makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one ACE SUSHI unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $18K–$128K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $5K–$10K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$80K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 138 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 10.0% — above the Full-Service Restaurants median of 7.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 98.3% CAGR over 3 years across 123 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Ace Sushi Compares

Metric
Ace Sushi
Category median
vs median
Investment
$73K
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
123
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units123Verified — printed on page 52 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+98.3% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate41.5% (caution)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
123
Opened
71
Last reporting year
Closed
51
Terminated
37
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
41.5%
Company-owned
6
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
95%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+98.3%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+98.3%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
37
Not renewed
0
Transferred
24
Reacquired
4
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
2
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
59
Franchised units
2024
97+38
Franchised units
2025
117+20
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 31 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 31 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

588 current owners across 31 states.

  • CA 283
  • IL 44
  • MI 37
  • IN 31
  • MO 20
  • OH 15
  • WA 15
  • WI 14
  • PA 13
  • ID 11
  • MT 11
  • MN 10
  • +19 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score65/100 (higher is better)
Litigation5 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average65Verdict score 65/100
Low confidence±15 pts
5080

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Item 3 discloses 5 actions: (1) Maryland Securities Division determination/consent order that AMG's Contracts for Services were unregistered franchises (2004-2005); (2) Rhode Island determination of franchise-law violation, $5,000 fine (2005); (3) Virginia State Corporation Commission action, $1,500 investigation costs + $15,600 penalty (2005-2006); (4) Washington DFI Securities Division consent order, $600 reimbursement (2006); and (5) Ngung Sang v. Ace Sushi Franchise Corp. (Iowa small claims, 2021), a former franchisee breach/fraud claim settled for $5,375 in 2022. The first four are regulatory/administrative orders against AMG (and Ace) relating to pre-franchise Contracts for Services; the fifth is a private franchisee small-claims action. "Other than these 5 actions, no litigation is required to be disclosed."

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Windes, Inc.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.1MYr 2: $1.2M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

FY2025 revenue = franchise fees $822,256 + initial training fees $290,200 = $1,112,456 (FY2024 $1,198,473). Net of provision for credit losses, recognized revenue $1,111,656 (2025).

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 65 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGH4 state regulatory orders (MD, RI, VA, WA) for franchise registration/disclosure violations suggest systemic compliance failures and potential fraud risk
  2. 02MEDNo average revenue or net income disclosed (missing Item 19) — prevents ROI validation and suggests corporate may be hiding poor unit economics
  3. 03MINORNo territory protection — franchisees face direct competition from other ACE SUSHI units and cannot defend market share
  4. 04MINORRoyalty structure tied to 'chef or invoice price' is vague and creates ambiguity on actual payment obligations
  5. 05HIGH1 franchise closure with small claims litigation suggests unit failure and potential payment disputes with franchisor
  6. 06MINOR20.6% YoY growth masks potential unit churn — growth rate is superficial without retention/closure data

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 138 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 10.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term4 yrs
Renewal term4 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training8 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term4 years
Renewal term4 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawCalifornia
Litigation count5
View Item 3 litigation summary

Item 3 discloses 5 actions: (1) Maryland Securities Division determination/consent order that AMG's Contracts for Services were unregistered franchises (2004-2005); (2) Rhode Island determination of franchise-law violation, $5,000 fine (2005); (3) Virginia State Corporation Commission action, $1,500 investigation costs + $15,600 penalty (2005-2006); (4) Washington DFI Securities Division consent order, $600 reimbursement (2006); and (5) Ngung Sang v. Ace Sushi Franchise Corp. (Iowa small claims, 2021), a former franchisee breach/fraud claim settled for $5,375 in 2022. The first four are regulatory/administrative orders against AMG (and Ace) relating to pre-franchise Contracts for Services; the fifth is a private franchisee small-claims action. "Other than these 5 actions, no litigation is required to be disclosed."

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
8 hrs
On-the-job training
55 hrs
Training location
ACE's Online Learning Management System (initial); Host Venue Sushi Bar (onsite)
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisor
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

588 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 588 contacts · $49
Free preview
(973) 971-••••NJ
Unlock all 588 contacts
(219) 934-••••IN
(507) 513-••••MN
(949) 898-••••TX
(331) 229-••••IL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a ACE SUSHI franchise?

The total investment to open a ACE SUSHI franchise ranges from $18K – $128K, with an initial franchise fee of $6K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do ACE SUSHI franchise owners earn?

ACE SUSHI makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns ACE SUSHI?

ACE SUSHI is franchised by Ace Sushi Franchise Corporation. Its parent company is Asiana Management Group, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the ACE SUSHI FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the ACE SUSHI FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is ACE SUSHI's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for ACE SUSHI (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many ACE SUSHI franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, ACE SUSHI has 123 total units in the United States, including 117 franchised units and 6 company-owned units. 71 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is ACE SUSHI a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates ACE SUSHI as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 65 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent ACE SUSHI, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.