Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Hissho Sushi logo

Hissho Sushi Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsNCFranchising since 2013
AStrongest tierStrongest tier76/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$27K – $137K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01197FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Hissho Sushi runs made-fresh sushi counters, typically inside supermarkets, food courts, and high-traffic venues. Franchisees operate a compact in-store station rolling sushi to order under Hissho's recipes and standards.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Hissho Sushi franchise requires a total initial investment of $27K – $137K, including a $8K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$27K – $137K
1st pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
0.0%
0th pct Service Resta…
Units
2,449
38th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$27K – $137K
Median $678K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$8K – $8K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$5K – $25K
Median $43K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
0.0%
Median 5.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
2.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
2,449 units
Median 20 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
10.7%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $27K – $137K including a $8K franchise fee, 0.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 76/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +200 franchised outlets in the latest year (461 opened, 261 closed) (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 16.4% CAGR over 3 years with 2449 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Hissho International, LLC
Parent company
Hissho Holdco, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
Hissho Sushi Holdings, LLC (controlled by Brentwood Associates)
FDD Item 1, page 11 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Daniel Beem
CEO experience
7 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
11949 Steele Creek Road, Charlotte, North Carolina 28273
Auditor
Cherry Bekaert
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$37.5M
vs $34.3M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Affiliated brands

  • Hissho Operations
  • Lwin Family Co

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Daniel Beem
Headquarters
NC
Founded
2013
FDD year
2025
States available
48

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 88% below the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$27K – $137KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 30 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$7,500Verified — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty0.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$5K – $25K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown16 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$8K$8K
Insurancenot refundable$500$5K
Training (Initial, Sushi Chef)not refundable$4K$13K
ServSafe Food Protection Manager Certificationnot refundable$99$179
Professional Advisorsnot refundable$1K$5K
Point-of-Sale and Other Marketing Materialsnot refundable$300$2K
Initial equipment & small waresnot refundable$1K$25K
Sushi robotnot refundable$0$14K
Hissho Label System Terminalnot refundable$2K$2K
Initial food inventory and supply purchasesnot refundable$5K$31K
Uniformsnot refundable$400$400
Local and State Business License Fees and Permitsnot refundable$100$6K
Confidential Franchise Manual Loan Deposit Fee & Initial Loan Deposit SSOP/HACCP Food Safety Plan Book Feenot refundable$300$300
Initial Background Check, Credit Check, and Drug Testnot refundable$150$150
Computer (hardware & software)not refundable$500$800
Additional funds (3 months initial phase)not refundable$5K$25K
Total initial investment$27K$137K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$27K – $137K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$5K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$8K – $8K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
0.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
2.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Hissho Sushi: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty0.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of net sales
Technology fee$125
Training fee$2K
Transfer fee$3K
Renewal fee$8K
Inventory (initial)$5K – $31K
Total fee load2.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Hissho Sushi makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Hissho Sushi unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $27K–$137K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $5K–$25K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$97K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 132 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 2.0% — below the Full-Service Restaurants median of 7.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 16.4% CAGR over 3 years across 2,449 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Hissho Sushi Compares

Metric
Hissho Sushi
Category median
vs median
Investment
$82K
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
2,449
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units2,449Verified — printed on page 62 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+16.4% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate10.7% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
2,449
Opened
461
Last reporting year
Closed
261
Terminated
107
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
10.7%
Company-owned
60
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
98%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+16.4%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+16.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
107
Not renewed
0
Transferred
304
Reacquired
154
Franchisor bought back
Transfer rate
12.4%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Continuity rate
90.2%
Units that stayed open
Termination rate
4.4%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
2022
2,052
Franchised units
2023
2,189+137
Franchised units
2024
2,389+200
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 46 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 46 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

1,924 current owners across 46 states; 367 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

  • NC 169
  • CA 163
  • PA 130
  • VA 119
  • FL 114
  • MI 108
  • MD 91
  • TX 87
  • NY 84
  • CT 65
  • OH 64
  • MA 61
  • +34 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score76/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier76Verdict score 76/100

Hissho Sushi presents caution-level risk due to complete absence of unit-level financial disclosure, variable royalty structure, unprotected territory, and modest system growth that masks unknown unit churn.

Low confidence±15 pts
6191

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Cherry Bekaert

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $37.5MYr 2: $34.3MNon-royalty: $1.6M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

FY2024 Total Revenue of $37,523,567 comprised Administrative fees $1,638,181, Commissions income $29,201,596, and Franchisee fees $6,683,790. Audited statements of Hissho International, LLC (franchisor) for years ended Dec 31, 2024 and 2023.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 76 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo Item 19 financial disclosure (average revenue and net income not provided) — impossible to assess unit economics or profitability
  2. 02MINORRoyalty structure ranges 0-25% with no clarity on how/when rates increase — potential for unexpected margin compression
  3. 03MINOR2,449 units with only 9.1% YoY growth is modest for established brand; no context on unit closures or churn rate
  4. 04MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk — franchisor can award same area to competitors
  5. 05MEDShort 3-year term with no renewal information disclosed — recurring renegotiation risk and potential forced exit
  6. 06MINORWide investment range ($26,849–$136,829) suggests highly variable unit economics and unclear path to profitability
  7. 07MINORLow franchise fee ($7,500) relative to investment range indicates franchisor revenue heavily dependent on ongoing royalties

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 132 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 2.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term3 yrs
Renewal term3 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training81 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term3 years
Renewal term3 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Non-compete (miles)ℹ20 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice15 days
Termination groundsℹ1
Curable defaultsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationCharlotte, North Carolina
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNC
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
31 hrs
On-the-job training
50 hrs
Training location
Corporate Headquarters, Charlotte, NC; Regional locations and/or designated Sushi Bar
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisor selects or approves franchisee-proposed sites at Retail Host locations
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Hissho Label System (touch screen terminal with label printer; sales processed through Retail Host POS)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Hissho Label System (touch screen terminal with label printer; sales processed through Retail Host POS)

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

2,291 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 2,291 contacts · $49
Free preview
770-200-••••GA
Unlock all 2,291 contacts
928-499-••••AZ
404-965-••••GA
817-453-••••TX
202-806-••••DC

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Hissho Sushi franchise?

The total investment to open a Hissho Sushi franchise ranges from $27K – $137K, with an initial franchise fee of $8K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Hissho Sushi franchise owners earn?

Hissho Sushi makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Hissho Sushi?

Hissho Sushi is franchised by Hissho International, LLC. Its parent company is Hissho Holdco, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Hissho Sushi Holdings, LLC (controlled by Brentwood Associates). Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Hissho Sushi FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Hissho Sushi FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Hissho Sushi's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Hissho Sushi (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Hissho Sushi franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Hissho Sushi has 2,449 total units in the United States, including 2,389 franchised units and 60 company-owned units. 461 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Hissho Sushi a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Hissho Sushi as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 76 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Hissho Sushi, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.