Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Suburban Studios logo
FV-02482Data Quality·Excellent81%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Suburban Studios Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingMDFranchising since 2005CEOPatrick S. PaciousWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.
BAbove average63/100

Suburban Studios is a Choice Hotels economy extended-stay franchise with in-room kitchens for weekly and monthly guests. Franchisees own and operate individual properties, running rooms, housekeeping, and revenue management.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Suburban Studios franchise requires a total initial investment of $8.5M – $11.1M, including a $40K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. The 2024 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2024 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$8.5M – $11.1M
39th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Projection
Royalty
6.0%
53rd pct Lodging
Units
104
48th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$8.5M – $11.1M
Avg $10.5M
near avg
Franchise Fee
$40K
Avg $60K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$145K – $350K
Avg $566K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Non-annual metric
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Avg 5.4%
Ongoing Fees
8.5% of rev
Avg 10.4%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
No SBA data
Not SBA-matched
System Size
104 units
Avg 229 units
Turnover Rate
1.9%
Avg 4.0%
Territory
Protected
Exclusive zone granted
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
7 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $8.5M – $11.1M including a $40K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports occupancy, ADR and RevPAR rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 63/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 46.5% CAGR over 3 years with 104 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Choice Hotels International, Inc.
Parent company
None
Ultimate parent
Choice Hotels International, Inc.
Predecessor
Suburban Franchise Holding Company, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Director, President and Chief Executive Officer
Patrick S. Pacious
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
915 Meeting Street, Suite 600, North Bethesda, Maryland 20852
Auditor
Ernst & Young LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.5B
vs $1.4B prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Overview

About

CEO
Patrick S. Pacious
Headquarters
MD
Founded
1963
FDD year
2024
States available
30

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about average for a lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$8.5M – $11.1MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 49 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$40,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty + ad fund6.0% + 2.5%
Working capital$145K – $350K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown18 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Affiliation Fee$40K
Architectural Plans & Inspections$60K$150K
Legal Fees$10K$45K
Environmental Impact Study (if necessary)$0$16K
Market Study$3K$15K
Construction (excluding soft costs)$7.2M$8.8M
Insurance$45K$185K
Pre-Opening Advertising$5K$50K
Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment$609K$744K
Hardware to operate the choiceADVANTAGE property management systemnot refundable$4K$11K
choiceADVANTAGE Software License and Systems Onboarding Feesnot refundable$5K$7K
Opening Inventory of Supplies$202K$339K
Orientation and Hospitality Training Feesnot refundable$2K$3K
High Speed Internet Access for in-room, in-lobby, public areas and meeting rooms$14K$25K
Mandatory On-Premise Signs$20K$80K
Design and engineering costs and inspections$100K$180K
Working Capital Required Before Operations Begin$145K$350K
Additional Funds for 3-Month Initial Period$50K$75K
Total initial investment$8.5M$11.1M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$8.5M – $11.1M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$145K – $350K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Suburban Studios: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.5% of gross sales
Transfer fee$40K
Renewal fee$40K
Inventory (initial)$202K $339K
Total fee load8.5% of rev

What do units actually make?

Item 19 typeoccupancy, ADR and RevPAR
Sample size70

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Suburban Studios is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Suburban Studios unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $8.5M–$11.1M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $145K–$350K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$10.0M
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

An occupancy metric, not unit revenue

Item 19 type
occupancy, ADR and RevPAR
Sample size
70
vs category median 98
Reporting year
2023
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2024
Disclosed in the 2024 filing, covering 2023
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank39th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank53th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank48th
vs Lodging peers
Risk score rank33th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 175 Lodging brands

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.5% — below the Lodging average of 10.4%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports occupancy, ADR and RevPAR rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System expanding at 46.5% CAGR over 3 years across 104 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging averages

How Suburban Studios Compares

Metric
Suburban Studios
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$9.8M
$10.5M
Revenue
N/A
$1.4M
Unit Count
104
229.333

Is the system healthy?

Total units104Verified — printed on page 91 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+46.5%
Turnover rate1.9%

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
104
Opened
31
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
1.9%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+46.5%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+46.5%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
31
Closed (3yr)
2
Terminated (3yr)
0
Non-renewed (3yr)
0
Transfers (3yr)
4
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
Termination rate
1.5%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
9.1%
Units that stopped operating
2021
71
Franchised units
2022
75+4
Franchised units
2023
104+29
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 30 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

30

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
29
Loan volume
$83.7M
Median loan
$2.9M
average
Charge-off rate
N/A
no resolved loans yet — rate needs a terminal outcome

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
N/A
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
13
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
7.1%
avg rate to borrowers
vs industry
N/A
Jobs supported
N/A
Lender concentration
39%
top lender's share

Vintage analysis

Suburban Studios charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Suburban Studios charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 10 vintages from 2014 to 2025. Rates range from 0.0% to 0.0%.0%5%10%'14'17'20'22'24'25

Top lenders financing Suburban Studios franchisees

GBank11 loans0.0%
BankUnited, National Association2 loans0.0%
Celtic Bank Corporation2 loans

Showing 3 of 13 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Suburban Studios's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 13 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

What could kill this investment?

Verdict score63/100 (higher is better)
Litigation7 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average63Verdict score 63/100

Financials are parent-level (Choice Hotels) with strong $35.6M net worth and $258.5M net income on $1.54B revenue. The 33 litigation matters (3 pending, including a $403M Canadian class action and RICO claims) are against the large parent hotel group, normal relative to a multi-thousand-unit system. Franchisor-specific risk is low.

High confidence±5 pts
4555

Litigation (Item 3)

3 pending matters as of FDD date: (1) Norma Knuth v. Radisson Hotels International (Canadian class action re undisclosed destination marketing fees, $403M demand, class not yet certified); (2) Jai Sai Baba, LLC et al. v. Choice Hotels International (RICO/Sherman Act/anti-competitive practices claims by ~90 franchise owners, stayed pending arbitration) with related Choice v. DIP Hospitality arbitration ($498,495.93 sought, $3M counterclaim); (3) T&T Management, Inc. v. Choice Hotels International, Country Inn & Suites by Radisson (breach of license agreement, guest data misuse). Additionally, numerous collection arbitrations/lawsuits initiated by Choice against defaulting franchisees in the prior fiscal year.

Largest disclosed settlement: $85,000

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Ernst & Young LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1544.2MYr 2: $1401.9MTotal: $1311.8MNon-royalty: $46.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 statements are the audited consolidated financial statements of the franchisor, Choice Hotels International, Inc. and subsidiaries, for the years ended December 31, 2023/2022/2021. All figures reported in thousands and scaled to whole USD (x1000). FY2023 total revenues $1,544,165K; balance sheet reconciles: total liabilities $2,359,201K + total shareholders' equity $35,598K = total assets $2,394,799K. other_revenue is the 'Other' revenue line ($46,051K); the much larger 'Other revenues from franchised and managed properties' ($784,160K) is a pass-through line not used here.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 63 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORParent-level financials, strong ($258.5M net income)
  2. 02HIGH33 litigation count but against large parent system
  3. 03MINORPositive growth +46.5%, low turnover 1.9%
  4. 04MEDAudited, Item 19 disclosed

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training155 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Allowed renewals0
Territory typeRadius or geographically defined area
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination grounds4
Curable defaults6
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMaryland
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMaryland
Litigation count7
View Item 3 litigation summary

3 pending matters as of FDD date: (1) Norma Knuth v. Radisson Hotels International (Canadian class action re undisclosed destination marketing fees, $403M demand, class not yet certified); (2) Jai Sai Baba, LLC et al. v. Choice Hotels International (RICO/Sherman Act/anti-competitive practices claims by ~90 franchise owners, stayed pending arbitration) with related Choice v. DIP Hospitality arbitration ($498,495.93 sought, $3M counterclaim); (3) T&T Management, Inc. v. Choice Hotels International, Country Inn & Suites by Radisson (breach of license agreement, guest data misuse). Additionally, numerous collection arbitrations/lawsuits initiated by Choice against defaulting franchisees in the prior fiscal year.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
50 hrs
On-the-job training
105 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisor
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
choiceADVANTAGE
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: choiceADVANTAGE

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

74 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 74 contacts · $49
Free preview
814421••••
Unlock all 74 contacts
304599••••
847691••••
937456••••
505294••••ME

FDD download

Suburban Studios · FDD (2024) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Suburban Studios franchise?

The total investment to open a Suburban Studios franchise ranges from $8.5M – $11.1M, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Suburban Studios franchise owners earn?

No average owner earnings figure for Suburban Studios is on file. Item 19 — where a franchisor may disclose what its outlets earn — is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and we have not established what this brand's FDD says. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Suburban Studios FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Suburban Studios FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Suburban Studios's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Suburban Studios (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Suburban Studios franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Suburban Studios has 104 total units in the United States, including 104 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 31 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Suburban Studios a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Suburban Studios as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 63 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Suburban Studios, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.