Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Steamatic logo
FV-02446FDD 2025Data Quality·Excellent86%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Steamatic Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Cleaning & MaintenanceTXFranchising since 2020CEOBrent AdamczykWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

CAverage41/100

Steamatic is a cleaning and restoration franchise offering carpet and air duct cleaning plus water, fire, and mold restoration. Franchisees run local operations, managing technicians, scheduling, and residential and commercial accounts.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Steamatic franchise requires a total initial investment of $222K – $445K, including a $40K – $70K franchise fee and an ongoing 8.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 23.3% charge-off rate across 43 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2025 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$222K – $445K
76th pct Cleaning & Ma…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
8.0%
56th pct Cleaning & Ma…
Units
44
38th pct Cleaning & Ma…
SBA charge-off
23.3%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Cleaning & Maintenance · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$222K – $445K
Avg $312K
near avg
Franchise Fee
$40K – $70K
Avg $41K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$75K – $150K
Avg $38K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
8.0%
Avg 7.1%
Ongoing Fees
3.0% of rev
Avg 9.7%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
23.3%
Avg 16.3%
above avg ↑
System Size
44 units
Avg 213 units
Turnover Rate
9.1%
Avg 8.3%
Territory
Protected
Exclusive zone granted
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Cleaning & Maintenance avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $222K – $445K including a $40K franchise fee, 8.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 41/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 23.3% across 43 loans (well above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • FLAG4 units terminated last reporting year (9.1% of the system). Ask existing franchisees why.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Steamatic, LLC
Parent company
Steamatic Holdings, LLC (f/k/a Johns Lyng Florida, LLC)
Ultimate parent
Johns Lyng Group, Limited
Predecessor
Steamatic, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Managing Director
Brent Adamczyk
Incorporated in
Florida
HQ
4320 Marsh Ridge Rd, Suite 190, Carrollton, TX 75010
Auditor
Kezos & Dunlavy
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$4.0M
vs $1.7M prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Affiliated brands

  • JLG Florida

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Brent Adamczyk
Headquarters
TX
Founded
1967
FDD year
2025
States available
23

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about average for a cleaning & maintenance franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$222K – $445KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 23 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$40,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty + ad fund8.0% + 2.0%
Working capital$75K – $150K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown16 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$40K$70K
Franchise Startup Feenot refundable$5K$5K
Training Expenses$2K$3K
Insurance$2K$3K
Franchise Equipment Packagenot refundable$61K$84K
Franchise Equipment Package Shipping Expensesnot refundable$2K$8K
Optional HVAC Equipment Packagenot refundable$7K$11K
Franchise Equipment Package Installation$3K$6K
Vehicle wrap and installation$3K$8K
Vehicle$10K$75K
Storage$0$600
Computer System$3K$5K
Software License Fee$2K$3K
Miscellaneous Expenses$9K$14K
Additional Funds - 3 Months$75K$150K
Initial Franchise Fee (Conversion)not refundable$20K$70K
Total initial investment$242K$515K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$222K – $445K
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$75K – $150K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$40K – $70K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
8.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
3.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Steamatic: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty8.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$0
Transfer fee$12K
Renewal fee$5K
Total fee load3.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Steamatic makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Steamatic unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $222K–$445K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $75K–$150K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$446K
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 3.0% — below the Cleaning & Maintenance average of 9.7%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (0.0% 3-year CAGR) with 44 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Cleaning & Maintenance averages

How Steamatic Compares

Metric
Steamatic
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$334K
$312K
Revenue
N/A
$809K
Unit Count
44
213.083

Is the system healthy?

Total units44Verified — printed on page 52 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+0.0%
Turnover rate9.1%

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
44
Opened
4
Last reporting year
Closed
4
Terminated
4
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
9.1%
Company-owned
3
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
1%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
4
Closed (3yr)
0
Terminated (3yr)
4
Non-renewed (3yr)
0
Transfers (3yr)
0
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
Continuity rate
91.1%
Units that stayed open
Termination rate
19.5%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
2022
41
Franchised units
2023
41±0
Franchised units
2024
41±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 24 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 24 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

D
SBA Lending Health
Below-average SBA lending record · 23.3% charge-off
Total loans
43
Loan volume
$8.6M
Median loan
$70K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
23.3%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
76.7%
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
21
Defaults
7
Typical loan rate
N/A
Franchised industry avg
16.6%
brand above franchise avg ↑
Jobs supported
23
1.1 per loan
Lender concentration
23%
top lender's share

Franchise vs independent — in carpet and upholstery cleaning services, franchised businesses charge off at 16.6% vs 18.5% for independents — franchising is associated with 10% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing Steamatic franchisees

Bank of America, National Association3 loans66.7%
Fulton Bank, National Association2 loans100.0%
Loans from Old Closed Lenders1 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 21 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
3
Loan volume
$928K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
28

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Steamatic's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 7 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
  • 9-year lending trend
  • SBA 504 real estate/equipment data
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

Lending insight

A 23.3% charge-off rate means roughly 1 in 4 franchisees failed to repay their SBA loan. Investigate what changed.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 23.3% — 45% above the 16.0% national norm, i.e. higher lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off23.3%
Verdict score41/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage41Verdict score 41/100
High confidence±3 pts
6470

Litigation (Item 3)

0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 1 settled.

Largest disclosed settlement: $1

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Kezos & Dunlavy

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $4.0MYr 2: $1.7MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Total revenue of $3,986,316 for fiscal year ended Dec 31, 2024 is disclosed in Item 6 (as the base for the 0.57% supplier-revenue figure), sourced from the franchisor's (Steamatic, LLC) audited financials. The actual Item 21 / Exhibit B audited financial statements (balance sheet, income statement) were NOT present in the extracted text — only the Exhibit B divider page was included — so total_assets, total_liabilities, net_worth, net_income, and auditor_name could not be extracted and are left null rather than guessed.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 41 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGHOne litigation matter (settled, dismissed with prejudice)
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  3. 03MEDFranchisor-level net worth not disclosed

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 3.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training112 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewals3
Territory typeGeographic area based on population
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryNo
Territory population400,000
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)2 years
Non-compete (miles)25 mi
Right of first refusalYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination grounds2
Curable defaults1
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationPrincipal city closest to franchisor's principal place of business (currently Dallas, Texas)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawTexas
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 1 settled.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
79 hrs
On-the-job training
33 hrs
Training location
On-site and off-site
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Not applicable - mobile business operated from truck/van/home, no site selection required
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Xactimate, DASH, QuickBooks, and Mitigate
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: Xactimate, DASH, QuickBooks, and Mitigate

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

40 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 40 contacts · $49
Free preview
903-597-••••TX
Unlock all 40 contacts
701-746-••••ND
941-756-••••FL
217 352 ••••IL
715-834-••••WI

FDD download

Steamatic · FDD (2025) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Steamatic franchise?

The total investment to open a Steamatic franchise ranges from $222K – $445K, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Steamatic franchise owners earn?

Steamatic makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Steamatic FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Steamatic FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Steamatic's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Steamatic has a charge-off rate of 23.3% across 43 loans, meaning 23.3% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Steamatic franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Steamatic has 44 total units in the United States, including 41 franchised units and 3 company-owned units. 4 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Steamatic a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Steamatic as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 41 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Steamatic, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Cleaning & Maintenance franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Cleaning & Maintenance category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.