Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham logo
FV-01624FDD 2026Data Quality·Excellent81%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingNJFranchising since 1995CEOGeoff BallottiWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

BAbove average63/100

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham is a limited-service, economy-to-midscale hotel franchise of new-construction properties. Franchisees develop and operate individual hotels, running rooms and guest services on Wyndham's systems.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham franchise requires a total initial investment of $7.5M – $9.6M, including a $40K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. The 2026 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2026 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$7.5M – $9.6M
37th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Outlet subsetProjection
Royalty
6.0%
53rd pct Lodging
Units
280
56th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$7.5M – $9.6M
Avg $10.5M
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
$40K – $40K
Avg $60K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$118K – $184K
Avg $566K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Non-annual metric
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Avg 5.4%
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Avg 10.4%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
No SBA data
Not SBA-matched
System Size
280 units
Avg 229 units
Turnover Rate
2.9%
Avg 4.0%
Territory
Protected
Exclusive zone granted
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
9 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $7.5M – $9.6M including a $40K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports ADR/Occupancy/RevPAR metrics (not gross sales) rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 63/100 (higher is better).
  • DATAItem 19 reports ADR/Occupancy/RevPAR metrics (not gross sales) rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable. Ask franchisees directly for full unit-level revenue.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Microtel Inns and Suites Franchising, Inc.
Parent company
U.S. Franchise Systems, Inc. (USFS); Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC; Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc.
Ultimate parent
Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc.
CEO title
President and Chief Executive Officer
Geoff Ballotti
Incorporated in
GA
HQ
22 Sylvan Way, Parsippany, New Jersey 07054
Auditor
Deloitte & Touche LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.4B
vs $1.4B prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Affiliated brands

  • WSSI

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Geoff Ballotti
Headquarters
NJ
Founded
1995
FDD year
2026
States available
42

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 19% below the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$7.5M – $9.6MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 45 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$40,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 26 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty + ad fund6.0% + 2.0%
Working capital$118K – $184K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$40K$40K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$118K$184K
Equipment, build-out, other$7.4M$9.3M
Total initial investment$7.5M$9.6M

Source: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$7.5M – $9.6M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$118K – $184K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$40K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Training fee$5K
Transfer fee$40K
Renewal fee$40K
Inventory (initial)$276K $299K
Total fee load8.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Item 19 typeADR/Occupancy/RevPAR metri…
Sample size141

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $7.5M–$9.6M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $118K–$184K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$8.7M
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

Reported for a subset of outlets rather than the whole system

An occupancy metric, not unit revenue

Item 19 type
ADR/Occupancy/RevPAR metrics (not gross sales)
Sample size
141
vs category median 98
Reporting year
2025
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2026
Disclosed in the 2026 filing, covering 2025
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank37th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank53th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank56th
vs Lodging peers
Risk score rank33th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 175 Lodging brands

Showing the headline figures — all 123 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% — below the Lodging average of 10.4%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports ADR/Occupancy/RevPAR metrics (not gross sales) rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System contracting at -4.4% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging averages

How Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Compares

Metric
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$8.5M
$10.5M
Revenue
N/A
$1.4M
Unit Count
280
229.333

Is the system healthy?

Total units280Verified — printed on page 84 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-4.4%
Turnover rate2.9%

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
280
Opened
3
Last reporting year
Closed
8
Turnover rate
2.9%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-4.4%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-4.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
8
Closed (3yr)
20
Terminated (3yr)
1
Non-renewed (3yr)
0
Transfers (3yr)
36
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
Transfer rate
3.1%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Termination rate
0.3%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
3.1%
Units that stopped operating
2023
293
Franchised units
2024
285-8
Franchised units
2025
280-5
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 42 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

42

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

Verdict score63/100 (higher is better)
Litigation9 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average63Verdict score 63/100

Declining system with undisclosed unit economics, multiple legal liabilities, and no financial benchmarking data creates elevated risk for an $8M+ hotel investment.

Moderate confidence±10 pts
4060

Litigation (Item 3)

No pending litigation against the Franchisor. Nine pending cases against parents/affiliates include Canadian class actions (price-fixing/hotel fee), franchisee breach cases, and extended stay antitrust litigation. One resolved case named MISF directly (New Mexico). One pending indemnification suit filed by MISF and affiliates against franchisees.

Largest disclosed settlement: $7,000

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Deloitte & Touche LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1429.0MYr 2: $1408.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21/Exhibit D references audited consolidated financial statements of parent Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc. (auditor PCAOB ID No. 34). Only the index page (F-1) appears in the extracted text; balance sheet, income statement, and equity pages (F-2 to F-9) were not captured, so no figures are available.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 63 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count (-1.8% YoY) indicates system contraction and potential saturation or performance issues
  2. 02HIGHMaterial litigation disclosed involving price-fixing, fee transparency, breach of contract, and data security—suggests franchisor governance and legal compliance concerns
  3. 03MINORHigh capital requirement ($7.5M-$9.6M) combined with 6% royalty creates substantial fixed costs with unvalidated revenue potential
  4. 04MINOR20-year term locks franchisee into relationship with litigious franchisor; exit costs likely high given capital intensity

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 123 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training67 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Allowed renewals0
Territory typeprotected
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice10 days
Termination grounds4
Curable defaults3
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationNew Jersey (Morris County or US District Court for NJ); non-binding mediation available
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNJ
Litigation count9
View Item 3 litigation summary

No pending litigation against the Franchisor. Nine pending cases against parents/affiliates include Canadian class actions (price-fixing/hotel fee), franchisee breach cases, and extended stay antitrust litigation. One resolved case named MISF directly (New Mexico). One pending indemnification suit filed by MISF and affiliates against franchisees.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
34 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Corporate designated location (Parsippany, NJ) or online (hybrid or virtual-only)
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee selects, Franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
SynXis Property Hub (Aven Hospitality) or OPERA Cloud (Oracle Hospitality)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: SynXis Property Hub (Aven Hospitality) or OPERA Cloud (Oracle Hospitality)

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

274 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 274 contacts · $49
Free preview
800-758-••••
Unlock all 274 contacts
302227••••
(816) 305-••••
(704) 267-••••
(718) 606-••••

FDD download

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham · FDD (2026) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham franchise?

The total investment to open a Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham franchise ranges from $7.5M – $9.6M, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham franchise owners earn?

No average owner earnings figure for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham is on file. Item 19 — where a franchisor may disclose what its outlets earn — is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and we have not established what this brand's FDD says. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham has 280 total units in the United States, including 280 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 3 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 63 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.