Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Makenna Koffee logo

Makenna Koffee Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsCAFranchising since 2024
CAverageAverage38/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$441K – $1.2M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01560FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Makenna Koffee is a coffee franchise serving espresso drinks, specialty beverages, and light food. Franchisees run the cafes, managing baristas, retail, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Makenna Koffee franchise requires a total initial investment of $441K – $1.2M, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2024. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$441K – $1.2M
69th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
2 outlets
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
2
9th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$441K – $1.2M
Median $486K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Median $35K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$40K – $60K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
6.5% of rev
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
2 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $441K – $1.2M including a $35K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 38/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative, pipeline stalled: 3 agreements signed but not yet open against 2 open outlets (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Makenna Koffee Franchise, LLC
CEO title
President & Chief Executive Officer
Lance Clauson
Incorporated in
CA
HQ
153 Cochran Street #310, Simi Valley, California 93065
Auditor
DNJ & Associates
Audited financials

Overview

About

CEO
Lance Clauson
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2024
FDD year
2025
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 68% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$441K – $1.2MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$35,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$40K – $60K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown16 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$35K$35K
Utility Deposits, Fees & Licenses$2K$5K
Pre-Construction Cost (Architect, Plans, Permits)$20K$40K
Leasehold/Construction$200K$750K
Equipment/Smallwares$90K$160K
Signage (Interior & Exterior)$4K$20K
Furniture and Fixtures$10K$15K
POS System and Software; Back Office Computer, Printer and Related Hardware and Software; Sound System; Televisions$2K$5K
Opening Inventory$15K$30K
Video Surveillance and Related Equipment$1K$3K
Grand Opening Marketing$2K$5K
Franchised Location (Lease Deposit and First 3 Months' Rent)$15K$50K
Insurance - Liability & Workers' Compensation (initial deposit)$2K$4K
Legal Fees/Organizational Expenses$1K$2K
Training Expenses$2K$8K
Additional Funds (3 months)$40K$60K
Total initial investment$441K$1.2M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$441K – $1.2M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$40K – $60K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Makenna Koffee: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.5% of gross sales
Technology fee$5K
Training fee$1K
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$15K – $30K
Total fee load6.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Makenna Koffee makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Makenna Koffee unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $441K–$1.2M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $40K–$60K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$867K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 125 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.5% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Multi-unit rate

Only 1% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Makenna Koffee Compares

Metric
Makenna Koffee
Category median
vs median
Investment
$817K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
2
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units2Verified — printed on page 53 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it one way.

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
2
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
2
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
1.0%

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Signed, not yet open
3
1.50 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
3
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
0±0
Franchised units
2024
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

1 current owner across 1 state.

  • CA 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score38/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage38Verdict score 38/100
Moderate confidence±13 pts
2551

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · DNJ & Associates

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Startup franchisor; financial statements cover the period from April 7, 2024 (inception) to December 31, 2024. The Statement of Operations reports no revenue (only $9,665 general and administrative expenses), resulting in a net loss of $(10,465).

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 38 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDOnly 2 units in entire system indicates nascent/stalled growth with no disclosed unit growth trajectory
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 (average revenue/net income) disclosure prevents ROI validation and suggests franchisor cannot demonstrate unit profitability
  3. 03MINORWide investment range ($441K-$1.192M) with no clarity on what drives cost variance or expected returns at each tier
  4. 04MED6% royalty on undisclosed sales figures makes it impossible to calculate actual break-even timeline or profit margins
  5. 05MINORExtremely small franchisee base (2 units) eliminates meaningful peer validation and suggests difficulty recruiting/retaining franchisees
  6. 06MEDNo disclosed litigation but Going Concern status suggests potential underlying legal or financial disputes

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 125 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training158 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius3 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ20 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice10 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationNot applicable - litigation only in Ventura County, California
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawCA
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
76 hrs
On-the-job training
82 hrs
Training location
Company-Owned Makenna Koffee Shop, Simi Valley, California or your Franchised Location or Virtual Communications Platform
Time to open
18 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Square
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Square

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1 contacts · $49
Free preview
(805) 422-••••CA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Makenna Koffee franchise?

The total investment to open a Makenna Koffee franchise ranges from $441K – $1.2M, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Makenna Koffee franchise owners earn?

Makenna Koffee makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Makenna Koffee?

Makenna Koffee is franchised by Makenna Koffee Franchise, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Makenna Koffee FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Makenna Koffee FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Makenna Koffee's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Makenna Koffee (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Makenna Koffee franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Makenna Koffee has 2 total units in the United States.

Is Makenna Koffee a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Makenna Koffee as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 38 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Makenna Koffee, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.