Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen logo

Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsSDFranchising since 1994
BAbove averageAbove average51/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$63K – $173K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (7)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01232Data QualityStandard62%Pre-openingFDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Hot Stuff Pizza is a franchise offering pizza and hot foods, often as a counter inside convenience stores and other host locations. Franchisees run a compact pizza operation managing prep, order fulfillment, and staffing with light franchisor overhead.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen franchise requires a total initial investment of $63K – $173K. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2024 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - figures are from a filing two or more years old

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored2 of 2 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$63K – $173K
2nd pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
752
37th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$63K – $173K
Median $678K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$0 – $0
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$26K – $51K
Median $43K
near median
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 5.0%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 7.0%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (7)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 7 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
752 units
Median 20 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
12.6%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $63K – $173K.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 51/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -71 franchised outlets in the latest year (24 opened, 95 closed); 3 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -16.7% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
ORION FOOD SYSTEMS, LLC
Parent company
Performance Manufacturing, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2024 FDD
Ultimate parent
Performance Food Group Company
Predecessor
Orion Food Systems, Inc. (OFSI)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President
Raden Smith
Incorporated in
SD
HQ
2930 West Maple Street, Sioux Falls, South Dakota 57107
Auditor
Deloitte & Touche LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$58.3B
vs $57.3B prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Independent Franchisee Association

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Overview

About

CEO
Raden Smith
Headquarters
SD
Founded
1994
FDD year
2024
States available
39

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 83% below the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$63K – $173KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise feeNot extracted
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$26K – $51K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown10 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Training Expenses$6K$11K
Leasehold Installation$2K$7K
Equipment, Fixtures and Furnishings including OLM Installation Assistance$20K$72K
Opening Inventory$5K$16K
Security Deposits, Utility Deposits, Business Licenses and other Prepaid Expenses——
Insurance$2K$5K
Additional Funds (for the first three months' of operations)$26K$51K
Contractor Expenses$3K$10K
Grand Opening Kit$500$500
RightBytes Essentials License Fee$597$597
Total initial investment$63K$173K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$63K – $173K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$26K – $51K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
N/A
Paid to franchisor at signing
Royalty
No royalty or other continuing fee required under standar…
Ad fund
No advertising fund; franchisees pay $150/quarter for mar…

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Technology fee$199
Training fee$6K
Inventory (initial)$5K – $16K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $63K–$173K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $26K–$51K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$157K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 129 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -16.7% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen Compares

Metric
Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen
Category median
vs median
Investment
$118K
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
752
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units752Verified — printed on page 34 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-16.7% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate12.6% (caution)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
752
Opened
24
Last reporting year
Closed
95
Terminated
14
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
17
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
12.6%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-16.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-16.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
14
Not renewed
17
Signed, not yet open
3
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
45
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2021
903
Franchised units
2022
823-80
Franchised units
2023
752-71
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 39 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

39

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

A system losing more than 10% of its units year-over-year is a red flag. Check whether closures are concentrated in specific regions.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 7 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
7
Loan volume
$3.5M
Median loan
$498K
average
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (7)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 7 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (7)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (7)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
4
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (7)
Verdict score51/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average51Verdict score 51/100

Hot Stuff Pizza presents HIGH RISK due to system contraction, missing financial performance data, lack of territorial protection, and unclear franchisor financial health, despite low entry cost.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Moderate confidence±11 pts
4062

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Deloitte & Touche LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $58281.2MYr 2: $57254.7M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 statements are the audited consolidated financial statements of the franchisor's ultimate parent and guarantor, Performance Food Group Company, as of June 29, 2024 and July 1, 2023 (FY2024/FY2023), prepared under US GAAP and reported in millions of USD (all figures scaled x1,000,000). Performance Food Group Company guarantees the franchisor's (Orion Food Systems, LLC) performance. No standalone audited statements of the franchisor are provided. Reconciles: assets 13,392.9M = liabilities 9,266.0M + equity 4,126.9M.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 51 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORSystem declining 8.6% YoY with 752 units suggesting market saturation or franchisee dissatisfaction
  2. 02MINORNo financial disclosure (Item 19) — average revenue and net income not provided, making ROI assessment impossible
  3. 03MINORZero franchise fee with no royalties is unusual and may indicate weak franchisor support model or inability to enforce standards
  4. 04MINORNo protected territory combined with declining unit count creates oversaturation risk and direct franchisee competition
  5. 05MINOR5-year term is shorter than industry standard (10 years), limiting franchisee ability to recoup $63K-$173K investment

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 129 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training39 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawSD
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
9 hrs
On-the-job training
30 hrs
Training location
At franchisee's Unit site
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
4 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with OLM approval/site survey
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
RightBytes System
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: RightBytes System

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

674 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 674 contacts · $49
Free preview
901-757-••••
Unlock all 674 contacts
580-357-••••
701-322-••••
601-787-••••
251-843-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen franchise?

The total investment to open a Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen franchise ranges from $63K – $173K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen franchise owners earn?

Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen?

Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen is franchised by ORION FOOD SYSTEMS, LLC. Its parent company is Performance Manufacturing, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Performance Food Group Company. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen has 752 total units in the United States, including 752 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 24 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 51 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Hot Stuff Pizza / Hot Stuff Kitchen, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.