Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
The Seals logo

The Seals Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsFLFranchising since 2019
BAbove averageAbove average59/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$101K – $147K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02705FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

The Seals is a commercial kitchen services franchise that repairs and replaces refrigeration and oven door gaskets, sweeps, and hardware. Franchisees run mobile operations, managing service calls and recurring accounts.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A The Seals franchise requires a total initial investment of $101K – $147K, including a $49K franchise fee and an ongoing 8.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$101K – $147K
4th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
8.0%
37th pct Service Resta…
Units
6
9th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$101K – $147K
Median $678K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$49K – $49K
Median $40K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$30K – $45K
Median $43K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
8.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
10.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
6 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $101K – $147K including a $49K franchise fee, 8.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 59/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +2 franchised outlets in the latest year (2 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
The Seals Franchising, LLC
Parent company
Clintar, Inc. d/b/a EverSmith Brands
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
Riverside Micro-Cap Fund V, L.P. / Riverside Micro-Cap Fund V-A, L.P. (The Riverside Company)
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and Director
Ken Hutcheson
Incorporated in
North Carolina
HQ
6700 Forum Drive, Suite 150, Orlando, Florida 32821
Auditor
Plante & Moran, PLLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$22.2M
vs $35.0M prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

2 other brands on this site name Riverside Micro-Cap Fund V, L.P. / Riverside Micro-Cap Fund V-A, L.P. (The Riverside Company) as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Portfolio: The Riverside Company (private-equity sponsor)

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2025 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Ken Hutcheson
Headquarters
FL
Founded
2019
FDD year
2025
States available
3

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 82% below the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$101K – $147KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$49,000Verified — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty8.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$30K – $45K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

The Seals: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$49K$49K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$30K$45K
Equipment, build-out, other$22K$53K
Total initial investment$101K$147K

Source: The Seals 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$101K – $147K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$30K – $45K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$49K – $49K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
8.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
10.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

The Seals: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty8.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$499
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$5K
Total fee load10.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

The Seals makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one The Seals unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $101K–$147K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $30K–$45K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$162K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 10.0% — above the Full-Service Restaurants median of 7.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth of +150.0% over 3 years (2 opened, 0 closed).

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How The Seals Compares

Metric
The Seals
Category median
vs median
Investment
$124K
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
6
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units6Verified — printed on page 42 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+150.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
6
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
83%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+150.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+150.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
4
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
2
Franchised units
2023
3+1
Franchised units
2024
5+2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 3 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

3

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

2 current owners across 1 state.

  • IL 2

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score59/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average59Verdict score 59/100

Clean profile: no litigation, bankruptcy, going-concern, or distress. Very strong net worth of $22.0M and audited financials. Small 6-unit system with strong 150% growth; no Item 19 but no financial red flags.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
4672

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Plante & Moran, PLLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $22.2MYr 2: $35.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 59 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGHNo litigation, bankruptcy, or distress
  2. 02MINORStrong net worth $21,995,161
  3. 03MINORPositive growth +150%
  4. 04MINORAudited financials

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 10.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training54 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory sizeℹ1,000-2,500 Retail Food Service Locations (RFSL)
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ10
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationOrlando, Florida (Company's then-current National Headquarters)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawFlorida
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
12 hrs
On-the-job training
42 hrs
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

2 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 2 contacts · $49
Free preview
(312) 856-••••IL
Unlock all 2 contacts
(312) 856-••••IL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a The Seals franchise?

The total investment to open a The Seals franchise ranges from $101K – $147K, with an initial franchise fee of $49K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do The Seals franchise owners earn?

The Seals makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns The Seals?

The Seals is franchised by The Seals Franchising, LLC. Its parent company is Clintar, Inc. d/b/a EverSmith Brands. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Riverside Micro-Cap Fund V, L.P. / Riverside Micro-Cap Fund V-A, L.P. (The Riverside Company). Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the The Seals FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the The Seals FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is The Seals's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for The Seals (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many The Seals franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, The Seals has 6 total units in the United States, including 5 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is The Seals a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates The Seals as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 59 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent The Seals, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.