Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
HOCCO The Indian Kitchen logo

HOCCO The Indian Kitchen Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsVAFranchising since 2024
CAverageAverage39/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$421K – $1.0M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01200FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

HOCCO The Indian Kitchen is a restaurant franchise serving authentic Indian cuisine. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing the kitchen, service, and staffing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A HOCCO The Indian Kitchen franchise requires a total initial investment of $421K – $1.0M, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2024. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$421K – $1.0M
67th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
1 outlet
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
1
3rd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$421K – $1.0M
Median $486K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$25K – $40K
Median $33K
near median
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
1 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $421K – $1.0M including a $30K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 39/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative, pipeline stalled: 2 agreements signed but not yet open against 1 open outlets (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Ingenious Foods Franchising LLC
Parent company
Hocco Foods USA LLC (HFU) - master franchisor
Predecessor
HRPL Restaurants Private Limited
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Partner
Fenil Patel
Incorporated in
VA
HQ
943 J Clyde Morris Blvd., Newport News, Virginia 23601
Auditor
Kezos & Dunlavy
Audited financials

Affiliated brands

  • does not offer franchises in any line of business
  • company
  • operates one
  • PRISH

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Fenil Patel
Headquarters
VA
Founded
2023
FDD year
2025
States available
0

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 50% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$421K – $1.0MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$25K – $40K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

HOCCO The Indian Kitchen: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$30K$30K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$25K$40K
Equipment, build-out, other$366K$963K
Total initial investment$421K$1.0M

Source: HOCCO The Indian Kitchen 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$421K – $1.0M
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$25K – $40K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

HOCCO The Indian Kitchen: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$0
Training fee$5K
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$15K
Inventory (initial)$31K – $63K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

HOCCO The Indian Kitchen makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one HOCCO The Indian Kitchen unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $421K–$1.0M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $25K–$40K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$759K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 130 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How HOCCO The Indian Kitchen Compares

Metric
HOCCO The Indian Kitchen
Category median
vs median
Investment
$727K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
1
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units1Verified — printed on page 41 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
1
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
2
2.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
0±0
Franchised units
2024
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

0 current owners across 0 states; 2 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

    Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

    SBA loan performance

    Government records

    SBA Loan Data

    Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

    No SBA loan data available for this brand.

    What could kill this investment?

    SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
    Verdict score39/100 (higher is better)
    Litigation0 cases
    Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

    Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

    Risk analysis

    FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

    Risk & Legal

    CAverage39Verdict score 39/100

    HOCCO presents extreme risk as a single-unit franchise system with no demonstrated financial performance data, questionable going concern status, and no track record of franchisee success.

    Low confidence±15 pts
    2454

    Litigation (Item 3)

    Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

    No litigation required to be disclosed for either IFF or HFU.

    Bankruptcy (Item 4)

    None disclosed

    Audited financials (Item 21)

    Yes · Kezos & Dunlavy

    Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

    Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

    Audited financial statements (Ingenious Foods Franchising LLC and Hocco Foods USA LLC, as of December 31, 2024) are included in Exhibit B as scanned images; no figures are extractable from the document text. Franchisor was formed May 1, 2023 and has not been in business three or more years.

    Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

    • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
    • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
    • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

    Score breakdown · what drove the 39 / 100 verdict

    1. 01MINOROnly 1 unit in system with unknown growth trajectory indicates minimal proven scalability and franchise model validation
    2. 02MEDNo disclosed average revenue or net income (no Item 19) prevents ROI validation and comparison to $421k-$1.03M investment range
    3. 03MED6% royalty on undisclosed revenue base creates uncertainty about actual franchisor financial sustainability
    4. 04MINOR10-year term locks franchisees into relationship with unproven single-unit system with no exit flexibility

    Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

    Showing the headline figures — all 130 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

    What are you signing up for?

    Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

    Initial term10 yrs
    Renewal term5 yrs
    TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
    Initial training38 hrs

    Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

    FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

    Contract & Territory Detail

    Initial term10 years
    Renewal term5 years
    Allowed renewalsℹ1
    Territory typeProtected territory
    Protected territoryYes
    Exclusive territoryℹNo
    Territory radius1 mi
    Online sales rightsℹRestricted
    Franchisor can competeYes
    Hire a manager?Allowed
    Owner-operatorOptional
    Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
    Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
    Right of first refusalℹYes
    RoFR response window30 days
    Transfer requires consentYes
    Termination notice30 days
    Curable defaultsℹ3
    Mandatory arbitrationYes
    Arbitration locationVirginia Beach, Virginia
    Jury trial waiverYes
    Governing lawVA
    Litigation count0
    View Item 3 litigation summary

    No litigation required to be disclosed for either IFF or HFU.

    Items 10, 11

    Training & Operations

    Classroom training
    5 hrs
    On-the-job training
    33 hrs
    Training location
    Virtual or Chesapeake, Virginia or franchisee's HOCCO location
    Ongoing training
    Required
    Time to open
    7 mo
    From signing to launch
    Site selection
    Franchisee with franchisor approval
    Franchisor financing
    Not offered
    Item 10

    Items 5 & 11

    Franchisor Support

    ✓Site selection assistance
    ✓Grand opening support
    ✓Lease negotiation help

    Item 20 · call current owners

    Franchisee Contacts

    2 owners to call

    Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

    Unlock 2 contacts · $49

    Frequently asked questions

    Frequently Asked Questions

    How much does it cost to open a HOCCO The Indian Kitchen franchise?

    The total investment to open a HOCCO The Indian Kitchen franchise ranges from $421K – $1.0M, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

    What do HOCCO The Indian Kitchen franchise owners earn?

    HOCCO The Indian Kitchen makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

    Who owns HOCCO The Indian Kitchen?

    HOCCO The Indian Kitchen is franchised by Ingenious Foods Franchising LLC. Its parent company is Hocco Foods USA LLC (HFU) - master franchisor. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

    What is Item 19 in the HOCCO The Indian Kitchen FDD?

    The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the HOCCO The Indian Kitchen FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

    What is HOCCO The Indian Kitchen's franchise failure rate?

    SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for HOCCO The Indian Kitchen (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

    How many HOCCO The Indian Kitchen franchise locations are there?

    As of their most recent FDD filing, HOCCO The Indian Kitchen has 1 total units in the United States.

    Is HOCCO The Indian Kitchen a good franchise to buy?

    FranchiseVerdict rates HOCCO The Indian Kitchen as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 39 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

    Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

    For franchisors

    Are you the franchisor?

    If you represent HOCCO The Indian Kitchen, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

    Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

    Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

    Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.