Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN logo

Village Juice & Kitchen Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsNCFranchising since 2017
DBelow averageBelow average36/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$492K – $971K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02898Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Village Juice & Kitchen is a quick-service franchise serving cold-pressed juices, smoothies, and healthy prepared food. Franchisees run the shops, managing fresh prep, inventory, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN franchise requires a total initial investment of $492K – $971K, including a $40K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$492K – $971K
74th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
7.0%
90th pct Service Resta…
Units
6
27th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$492K – $971K
Median $486K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$40K – $40K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$25K – $50K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 5.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
6 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
25.0%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $492K – $971K including a $40K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 36/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -1 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 1 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
VILLAGE JUICE CO. FRANCHISING, LLC
Parent company
VJCO, INC.
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2024 FDD
Predecessor
VILLAGE JUICE COMPANY
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer, General Counsel and President of Franchise Development
Nathan B. Atkinson
CEO experience
2018 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
North Carolina
HQ
900 Northwest Blvd., Winston-Salem, NC 27101
Auditor
Thomas, Judy & Tucker, P.A.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$210K
vs $202K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Nathan B. Atkinson
Headquarters
NC
Founded
2017
FDD year
2024
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 51% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$492K – $971KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 23 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$39,500Verified — printed on page 12 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty7.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 150 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$25K – $50K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2024 filing

Initial investment breakdown

VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$40K$40K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$25K$50K
Equipment, build-out, other$427K$881K
Total initial investment$492K$971K

Source: VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN 2024 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$492K – $971K
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$25K – $50K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$40K – $40K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
7.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$2K
Training fee$10K
Transfer fee$25K
Renewal fee$10K
Inventory (initial)$12K – $18K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $492K–$971K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $25K–$50K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$769K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 142 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System shrank 20.0% over 3 years — 1 closures. Ask existing franchisees about local market conditions.

Multi-unit rate

33% of franchisees own multiple units, a moderate multi-unit rate.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Village Juice & Kitchen Compares

Metric
Village Juice & Kitchen
Category median
vs median
Investment
$731K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
6
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units6Verified — printed on page 69 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it one way.
3-yr growth-20.0% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate25.0% (caution)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
6
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
25.0%
Company-owned
2
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
67%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
33.3%
Net growth (3-yr)
-20.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-20.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
80.0%
Units that stayed open
Ceased ops
16.7%
Units that stopped operating
2021
5
Franchised units
2022
5±0
Franchised units
2023
4-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 2 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

2

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

6 current owners across 2 states.

  • NC 5
  • SC 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score36/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average36Verdict score 36/100

Clean legal/financial profile: no litigation, no bankruptcy, no going-concern, audited financials. Weak spots are no Item 19 disclosure and a tiny 6-unit system that shrank -20% net.

Low confidence±15 pts
2151

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Thomas, Judy & Tucker, P.A.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.2MYr 2: $0.2M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Exhibit C financial statements are image-based (no extractable figures) and are explicitly labeled UNAUDITED ('THESE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PREPARED WITHOUT AN AUDIT... NO CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT HAD AUDITED THESE FIGURES'), despite Item 21 text calling them 'audited'. No franchisor financial figures could be extracted. Franchisor: Village Juice Co. Franchising, LLC; parent VJCo, Inc.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 36 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  2. 02MINORSmall system: 6 units total (4 franchised), net growth -20%
  3. 03MINORNo litigation, no bankruptcy, audited

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 142 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training202 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius2 mi
Territory population50,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ5 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window45 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice15 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationWinston Salem, North Carolina
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNorth Carolina
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
24 hrs
On-the-job training
178 hrs
Training location
On-site at franchisee's restaurant and corporate facility
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee proposes, franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Toast POS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast POS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

6 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 6 contacts · $49
Free preview
(704) 705-••••NC
Unlock all 6 contacts
(919) 962-••••NC
(803) 777-••••SC
(336) 749-••••NC
(336) 278-••••NC

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN franchise?

The total investment to open a VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN franchise ranges from $492K – $971K, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN franchise owners earn?

VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN?

VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN is franchised by VILLAGE JUICE CO. FRANCHISING, LLC. Its parent company is VJCO, INC.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN has 6 total units in the United States, including 4 franchised units and 2 company-owned units.

Is VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 36 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent VILLAGE JUICE & KITCHEN, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.