Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Dickey's Barbecue Pit logo

Dickey's Barbecue Pit Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsTXFranchising since 1994
FWeakest tierWeakest tier21/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$438K – $529K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
32.0%
on 402 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00750Data QualityExcellent86%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Dickey's Barbecue Pit is a fast-casual barbecue franchise serving slow-smoked meats, classic sides, and its signature big yellow cups. Franchisees run restaurants managing smoking, counter service, and staffing, standalone or multi-unit.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Dickey's Barbecue Pit franchise requires a total initial investment of $438K – $529K, including a $15K – $20K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 32.0% charge-off rate across 402 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: F (Weakest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2024 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - figures are from a filing two or more years old

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$438K – $529K
69th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
386
87th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
32.0%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$438K – $529K
Median $486K
near median
Franchise Fee
$15K – $20K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $30K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
32.0%
402 loans · Median 14.3%
above median ↑, worse than category
System Size
386 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
26.4%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
12 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $438K – $529K including a $15K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict F (Weakest tier), verdict score 21/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 32.0% across 402 loans (well above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -82 franchised outlets in the latest year (20 opened, 102 closed); 19 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • FLAGBankruptcy history disclosed in the FDD. Review Item 4 for details before proceeding.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Dickey's Barbecue Restaurants, Inc.
Parent company
Dickey's Capital Group, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2024 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Laura Rea Dickey
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
TX
HQ
850 Central Parkway East, Suite 140, Plano, Texas 75074
Auditor
Carr, Riggs & Ingram, LLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$37.4M
vs $32.3M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 10

1 other brand on this site name Dickey's Capital Group, Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2024 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Laura Rea Dickey
Headquarters
TX
Founded
1994
FDD year
2024
States available
40

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about typical for a quick-service restaurants franchise (near the category median).

Total investment (Item 7)$438K – $529KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 36 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$15,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 33 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 24 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund3.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 24 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$15K – $30K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown28 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Franchise Fee(1)$20K$20K
Architectural Plans(2), (13)$16K$25K
Permits(6), (13)$1K$15K
Leasehold Improvements(3), (13)$275K$350K
Furniture, Fixtures, and Equipment (4), (13)$125K$160K
Graphics$4K$6K
Digital Menu Boards$4K$5K
Signage (5)$12K$20K
Point of Sale Computer and Technology in A Box$6K$8K
Tenant Improvements(25)$-30K$-92K
Lease Deposits (13) (14)$0$15K
Training (15)$2K$4K
ServSafe Training (16) (13)$0$185
BU Enrollment Fee (17) (13)$30$30
Opening Inventory and Services (8), (13)$7K$8K
Insurance (7), (13)$0$12K
Restaurant Opening Fee(9), (13)$375$12K
Professional Fees(10), (13)$2K$2K
Closing and Finance Costs(11), (13)$0$15K
Smokestack Sales Reporting System Software Fee (18)$200$200
Total initial investment$438K$529K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$438K – $529K
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$15K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Dickey's Barbecue Pit: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.0% of net sales
Technology fee$58
Training fee$5K
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$15K
Inventory (initial)$5K – $8K
Total fee load9.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Dickey's Barbecue Pit makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Dickey's Barbecue Pit unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $438K–$529K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$30K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$506K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 146 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% — above the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -20.6% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Dickey's Barbecue Pit Compares

Metric
Dickey's Barbecue Pit
Category median
vs median
Investment
$483K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
386
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units386Verified — printed on page 83 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-20.6% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate26.4% (caution)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
386
Opened
20
Last reporting year
Closed
102
Terminated
3
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
26.4%
Company-owned
9
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
98%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-20.6%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-20.6%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
3
Not renewed
0
Transferred
106
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
19
0.05 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
4
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
27.5%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Continuity rate
82.1%
Units that stayed open
Ceased ops
21.2%
Units that stopped operating
2021
475
Franchised units
2022
459-16
Franchised units
2023
377-82
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 40 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 40 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

329 current owners across 40 states; 2 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

  • TX 100
  • CA 32
  • CO 19
  • AZ 17
  • LA 12
  • GA 11
  • WA 11
  • FL 10
  • MS 10
  • MI 9
  • NM 7
  • OH 7
  • +28 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

A system losing more than 10% of its units year-over-year is a red flag. Check whether closures are concentrated in specific regions.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

F
SBA Lending Health
Weak SBA lending record · 32.0% charge-off
Total loans
402
Loan volume
$139.3M
Median loan
$305K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
32.0%
on 402 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
68.0%
5-yr charge-off
32.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
128
Defaults
93
Typical loan rate
6.6%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
10.8%
brand above franchise avg ↑
Jobs supported
4,126
5.0 per loan
Lender concentration
11%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 73% went to startups / new businesses, 27% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in limited-service restaurants, franchised businesses charge off at 10.8% vs 10.0% for independents — franchising is associated with 8% higher SBA default risk in this category.

Vintage analysis

Dickey's Barbecue Pit charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Dickey's Barbecue Pit charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 10 vintages from 2013 to 2022. Rates range from 9.7% to 73.3%.0%5%10%15%20%25%30%35%40%45%50%55%60%65%70%75%'13'15'17'19'21'22

Top lenders financing Dickey's Barbecue Pit franchisees

Stearns Bank National Association26 loans32.0%
Luminate Bank24 loans33.3%
Byline Bank13 loans53.8%

Showing 3 of 128 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
2
Loan volume
$684K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
14

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Dickey's Barbecue Pit from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
16.9%
Avg SBA guarantee
74%
Avg interest rate
6.56%
Avg chargeoff amount
$238K
Lender concentration
11.0%
Job velocity
5.0 per $100K
Startup risk premium
+22.0pp
NAICS benchmark
8.7%
NAICS 722513
Jobs supported
4,126

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 11% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Stearns Bank National Association26$7.4M32.0%
2Luminate Bank24$12.3M33.3%
3Byline Bank13$5.2M53.8%
4Citizens Bank8$3.3M25.0%
5Bank Five Nine7$1.3M14.3%
6The Huntington National Bank7$1.5M0.0%
7Dogwood State Bank7$2.5M0.0%
8Community Bank of Mississippi6$1.4M0.0%
9First Bank6$3.4M100.0%
10U.S. Bank, National Association5$942K0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
TXTexas421135.5%
CACalifornia321257.1%
COColorado13112.5%
FLFlorida13654.5%
MIMichigan12112.5%
AZArizona8228.6%
TNTennessee8240.0%
WAWashington8233.3%
PAPennsylvania700.0%
WIWisconsin7342.9%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2008
1
2013
6
2014
31
2015
26
2016
35
2017
39
2018
19
2019
16
2020
11
2021
16
2022
22
2023
7
2024
5
2025
2
2026
1

Borrower profile

Startup59 (60%)
Ownership change14 (14%)
New (< 2 yr)13 (13%)
Existing (2+ yr)6 (6%)
Unanswered4 (4%)
Less than 4 years old but at least 32 (2%)
2-3 years1 (1%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

Lending insight

A 32.0% charge-off rate means roughly 1 in 3 franchisees failed to repay their SBA loan. Investigate what changed.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 32.0% — 100% above the 16.0% national norm, i.e. higher lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off32.0% · 402 loans
Verdict score21/100 (higher is better)
Litigation12 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

FWeakest tier21Verdict score 21/100

Dickey's presents HIGH RISK due to significant unit contraction (-17.9% YoY), multiple active franchisee litigation cases alleging fraud/breach, complete absence of profitability disclosure, and a data security incident—collectively suggesting a deteriorating franchise system with deteriorating franchisor-franchisee relations.

High confidence±4 pts
1725

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

6 pending cases including franchisee claims for fraudulent inducement, breach of contract, RICO, and data security/consumer protection class actions; 5 concluded cases including a $2.35M data breach class settlement and a $500K franchise dispute settlement.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

Subject: the company or an affiliate. Disclosed (Item 4 covers the last 10 years)

Affiliates Stanford Sonoma Corp. and ORS.COM, Inc. filed Chapter 11 petitions on April 17, 2023. Both sold equipment to Dickey's franchisees. Joint reorganization plan was confirmed October 22, 2023, and substantially consummated by February 28, 2024.

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Carr, Riggs & Ingram, LLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $37.4MYr 2: $32.3M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Consolidated statements of operations revenue figures were not present in the extracted FDD text (table values blank); only the balance sheet and cash flow statement contained numeric data. FY ending May 31, 2024. Royalty Fees are stated to represent 63% of the Operating Income revenue line.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 21 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDUnit count declined 17.9% year-over-year (386 units), indicating system contraction and potential franchisee struggle
  2. 02HIGHMultiple franchisee litigation cases alleging breach of contract, fraud, and misrepresentation suggest systemic franchisor-franchisee relationship problems
  3. 03MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure (Item 19) prevents ability to assess actual franchisee profitability and ROI
  4. 04MINORData security class-action settlement indicates operational/compliance vulnerabilities and potential reputational damage
  5. 05MINOR20-year term is unusually long and locks franchisees into relationship with declining system
  6. 06MED6% royalty on undisclosed revenue base creates uncertainty about true cost structure and break-even point

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 146 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training140 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius1 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ30 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationTexas
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawTX
Litigation count12
View Item 3 litigation summary

6 pending cases including franchisee claims for fraudulent inducement, breach of contract, RICO, and data security/consumer protection class actions; 5 concluded cases including a $2.35M data breach class settlement and a $500K franchise dispute settlement.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
43 hrs
On-the-job training
75 hrs
Training location
Dickey's corporate training center (Plano, TX) or designated Restaurant location
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
10 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Spark POS (TIBS - Technology in a Box)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Spark POS (TIBS - Technology in a Box)

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

331 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 331 contacts · $49
Free preview
(269) 788-••••MI
Unlock all 331 contacts
(951) 360-••••CA
(972) 318-••••TX
(540) 541-••••NC
(813) 333-••••FL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Dickey's Barbecue Pit franchise?

The total investment to open a Dickey's Barbecue Pit franchise ranges from $438K – $529K, with an initial franchise fee of $15K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Dickey's Barbecue Pit franchise owners earn?

Dickey's Barbecue Pit makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Dickey's Barbecue Pit?

Dickey's Barbecue Pit is franchised by Dickey's Barbecue Restaurants, Inc.. Its parent company is Dickey's Capital Group, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Dickey's Barbecue Pit FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Dickey's Barbecue Pit FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Dickey's Barbecue Pit's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Dickey's Barbecue Pit has a charge-off rate of 32.0% across 402 loans, meaning 32.0% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Dickey's Barbecue Pit franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Dickey's Barbecue Pit has 386 total units in the United States, including 377 franchised units and 9 company-owned units. 20 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Dickey's Barbecue Pit a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Dickey's Barbecue Pit as a F-grade franchise with a verdict score of 21 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Dickey's Barbecue Pit, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.