Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Chicken Strips and Dips logo

Chicken Strips and Dips Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsAZFranchising since 2022
DBelow averageBelow average29/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$38K – $116K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00515FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent81%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Chicken Strips and Dips is a quick-service franchise serving chicken strips paired with dipping sauces and sides. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing food prep, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Chicken Strips and Dips franchise requires a total initial investment of $38K – $116K, including a $5K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$38K – $116K
2nd pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
1 outlet
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
1
3rd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$38K – $116K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$5K – $5K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$20K – $20K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
1 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
200% (!)
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
18 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $38K – $116K including a $5K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 29/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -2 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 2 closed) (Item 20).
  • LEGAL18 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Kahala Franchising, L.L.C.
Parent company
Kahala Brands, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2026 FDD
Ultimate parent
MTY Food Group, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2026 FDD
Predecessor
The Extreme Pita Franchising USA, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Eric Lefebvre
CEO experience
14 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
AZ
HQ
9311 E. Via De Ventura, Scottsdale, Arizona 85258
Auditor
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$604.2M
vs $597.5M prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 7

26 other brands on this site name MTY Food Group, Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Portfolio: MTY Food Group · Kahala Brands

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2026 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Eric Lefebvre
Headquarters
AZ
Founded
2008
FDD year
2026
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 84% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$38K – $116KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 38 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$5,000Verified — printed on page 29 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 31 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 31 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$20K – $20K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Chicken Strips and Dips: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$5K$5K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$20K$20K
Equipment, build-out, other$13K$91K
Total initial investment$38K$116K

Source: Chicken Strips and Dips 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$38K – $116K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$20K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$5K – $5K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Chicken Strips and Dips: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$75
Training fee$2K
Transfer fee$3K
Renewal fee$3K
Inventory (initial)$1K – $2K
Total fee load7.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Chicken Strips and Dips makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Chicken Strips and Dips unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $38K–$116K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $20K–$20K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$97K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 154 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System shrank 83.3% over 3 years — 2 closures. Ask existing franchisees about local market conditions.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Chicken Strips and Dips Compares

Metric
Chicken Strips and Dips
Category median
vs median
Investment
$77K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
1
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units1Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 72 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-83.3% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate200% (!) (caution)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
1
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Terminated
2
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
200% (!)
Closures exceed total units. See FDD Item 20
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-83.3%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-83.3%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
2
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
33.3%
Units that stayed open
2023
6
Franchised units
2024
3-3
Franchised units
2025
1-2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

0 current owners across 0 states; 1 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

    Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

    SBA loan performance

    Government records

    SBA Loan Data

    Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

    No SBA loan data available for this brand.

    What could kill this investment?

    SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
    Verdict score29/100 (higher is better)
    Litigation18 cases
    Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

    Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

    Risk analysis

    FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

    Risk & Legal

    DBelow average29Verdict score 29/100

    This franchise exhibits HIGH RISK characteristics including near-total unit collapse (down 66.7%), undisclosed financial performance, extensive litigation history across affiliated brands, no going concern viability, and lack of transparent financial disclosure.

    Moderate confidence±13 pts
    1642

    Litigation (Item 3)

    Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

    18 distinct cases disclosed including concluded and active litigation involving Kahala Franchising and predecessor/affiliate entities (Extreme Pita, Famous Dave's, sweetFrog, Wetzel's Pretzels, Papa Murphy's, VI BrandCo, Blimpie, Maui Wowi, BF Acquisition Holdings/Triune). Active fiscal year 2025 suits: 3 suits filed by Kahala against franchisees for breach of contract and trademark infringement.

    Bankruptcy (Item 4)

    None disclosed

    Audited financials (Item 21)

    Yes · PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

    Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

    Yr 1: $604.2MYr 2: $597.5MNon-royalty: $47.1M

    Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

    Audited consolidated financial statements of MTY Franchising USA, Inc. (parent of franchisor Kahala Franchising, L.L.C.), in thousands of US dollars, for fiscal years ended November 30, 2025 and 2024. Revenue is reported as a single consolidated line of $604,239K (FY2025) and $597,538K (FY2024). Audit issued by PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, Montreal, dated February 5, 2026.

    ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

    Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

    • Franchisor sells you products: No
    • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
    • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
    • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
    • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

    Score breakdown · what drove the 29 / 100 verdict

    1. 01MEDCatastrophic unit decline of 66.7% year-over-year with only 1 unit remaining signals system collapse
    2. 02MEDNo Item 19 financial disclosures (Avg Revenue and Net Income not disclosed) prevents validation of profitability claims
    3. 03HIGHExtensive litigation history across multiple affiliated brands and the franchisor itself, including FIPA violations and registration/disclosure issues, indicates systemic compliance problems
    4. 04MINORNo protected territory combined with minimal franchise fee ($5,000) suggests low franchisor investment in franchisee success
    5. 05MINORUnspecified surcharge mechanism ('maximum $10/week') lacks transparency and creates cost uncertainty
    6. 06HIGHActive litigation as plaintiff against former franchisees suggests adversarial franchisee relationships and potential disputes

    Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

    Showing the headline figures — all 154 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

    Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

    What are you signing up for?

    Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

    Initial term5 yrs
    Renewal term5 yrs
    TerritoryNone (caution)
    Initial training64 hrs

    Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

    FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

    Contract & Territory Detail

    Initial term5 years
    Renewal term5 years
    Allowed renewalsℹ1
    Territory typeNo territory protection
    Protected territoryNo
    Exclusive territoryℹNo
    Online sales rightsℹGranted
    Franchisor can competeYes
    Hire a manager?Allowed
    Owner-operatorOptional
    Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
    Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
    Right of first refusalℹYes
    Transfer requires consentYes
    Termination notice90 days
    Termination groundsℹ14
    Curable defaultsℹ5
    Mandatory arbitrationYes
    Arbitration locationcounty and state where the Franchised Business is located
    Jury trial waiverYes
    Governing lawState where franchised business is located
    Litigation count18
    View Item 3 litigation summary

    18 distinct cases disclosed including concluded and active litigation involving Kahala Franchising and predecessor/affiliate entities (Extreme Pita, Famous Dave's, sweetFrog, Wetzel's Pretzels, Papa Murphy's, VI BrandCo, Blimpie, Maui Wowi, BF Acquisition Holdings/Triune). Active fiscal year 2025 suits: 3 suits filed by Kahala against franchisees for breach of contract and trademark infringement.

    Items 10, 11

    Training & Operations

    Classroom training
    40 hrs
    On-the-job training
    24 hrs
    Training location
    Online / KTEC Scottsdale AZ / training store in Arizona
    Ongoing training
    Optional
    Time to open
    6 mo
    From signing to launch
    Site selection
    Franchisee selects with franchisor approval
    Franchisor financing
    Offered
    Item 10
    POS system
    Focus or Micros
    Operating tech stack

    Items 5 & 11

    Franchisor Support

    ✓Site selection assistance
    ✓Grand opening support
    ✓Lease negotiation help

    Technology: Focus or Micros

    Item 20 · call current owners

    Franchisee Contacts

    1 owners to call

    Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

    Unlock 1 contacts · $49

    Frequently asked questions

    Frequently Asked Questions

    How much does it cost to open a Chicken Strips and Dips franchise?

    The total investment to open a Chicken Strips and Dips franchise ranges from $38K – $116K, with an initial franchise fee of $5K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

    What do Chicken Strips and Dips franchise owners earn?

    Chicken Strips and Dips makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

    Who owns Chicken Strips and Dips?

    Chicken Strips and Dips is franchised by Kahala Franchising, L.L.C.. Its parent company is Kahala Brands, Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is MTY Food Group, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

    What is Item 19 in the Chicken Strips and Dips FDD?

    The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Chicken Strips and Dips FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

    What is Chicken Strips and Dips's franchise failure rate?

    SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Chicken Strips and Dips (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

    How many Chicken Strips and Dips franchise locations are there?

    As of their most recent FDD filing, Chicken Strips and Dips has 1 total units in the United States, including 1 franchised units and 0 company-owned units.

    Is Chicken Strips and Dips a good franchise to buy?

    FranchiseVerdict rates Chicken Strips and Dips as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 29 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

    Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

    For franchisors

    Are you the franchisor?

    If you represent Chicken Strips and Dips, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

    Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

    Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

    Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.