Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
85°C Bakery Cafe logo

85°C Bakery Cafe Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsCaliforniaFranchising since 2020
AStrongest tierStrongest tier75/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$819K – $1.8M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00039FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent81%
Manager-run OKYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

85 Degrees C Bakery Cafe is a franchise pairing a fresh bakery, dozens of pastries and breads, with a specialty coffee and tea cafe. Franchisees run high-volume bakery-cafes managing production, counter service, and staffing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A 85°C Bakery Cafe franchise requires a total initial investment of $819K – $1.8M, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.5% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$819K – $1.8M
89th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.5%
89th pct Service Resta…
Units
88
75th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$819K – $1.8M
Median $486K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$45K – $100K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.5%
Median 5.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
7.5% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
88 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
1.1%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $819K – $1.8M including a $50K franchise fee, 6.5% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 75/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +3 franchised outlets in the latest year (4 opened, 1 closed) (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 100.0% CAGR over 3 years with 88 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
WinStar 85C, LLC
Parent company
Prime Scope Trading Limited
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2026 FDD
Ultimate parent
Gourmet Master Co Ltd
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2026 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Ming Hua Kuo
CEO experience
6 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
1415 Moonstone, Brea, California 92821
Auditor
Wright Ford Young & Co.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.1M
vs $602K prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Affiliated brands

  • Gourmet Master
  • is a California

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Ming Hua Kuo
Headquarters
California
Founded
2020
FDD year
2026
States available
6

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 167% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$819K – $1.8MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Verified — printed on page 12 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$45K – $100K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown17 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$50K$50K
Licenses, Permits, Fees and Deposits$5K$35K
Real Estate or Advance Rent and Security Deposit and other Prepaid Costs and Expenses$9K$50K
Building Costs/Leasehold Improvements$391K$902K
Equipment and Fixtures$185K$350K
Signs$13K$25K
Point of Sale System and Software$16K$29K
Software Set Up Fee$450$450
Network and Store Management Solutions$3K$3K
Payment Processing & Online Ordering Service$550$550
Insurance$2K$6K
Opening Inventorynot refundable$50K$100K
Expenses Incurred in Training$30K$90K
Grand Opening Advertising$10K$10K
Attorney's Fees and Business Consultants$10K$20K
Background Check and Asset Verificationnot refundable$125$500
Additional Funds (for the initial 3 months of operations)$45K$100K
Total initial investment$819K$1.8M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$819K – $1.8M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$45K – $100K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Bottom third — review vs category
Royalty
6.5%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

85°C Bakery Cafe: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.5% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$1K
Training fee$30K
Transfer fee$25K
Renewal fee$25K
Inventory (initial)$50K – $100K
Total fee load7.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

85°C Bakery Cafe makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one 85°C Bakery Cafe unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $819K–$1.8M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $45K–$100K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.4M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 154 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.5% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 100.0% CAGR over 3 years across 88 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How 85°C Bakery Cafe Compares

Metric
85°C Bakery Cafe
Category median
vs median
Investment
$1.3M
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
88
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units88Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 35 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth+100.0% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate1.1% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
88
Opened
4
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
1.1%
Company-owned
82
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
7%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+100.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+100.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
1
Franchisor bought back
2023
3
Franchised units
2024
3±0
Franchised units
2025
6+3
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 3 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 3 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Maryland
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Virginia

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

0 current owners across 0 states; 8 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

    Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

    Growth insight

    Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

    SBA loan performance

    Government records

    SBA Loan Data

    Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

    No SBA loan data available for this brand.

    What could kill this investment?

    SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
    Verdict score75/100 (higher is better)
    Litigation0 cases
    Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

    Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

    Risk analysis

    FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

    Risk & Legal

    AStrongest tier75Verdict score 75/100

    Bakery-cafe franchise with strong unit expansion but critical transparency gaps on unit economics, questionable growth metrics, and no financial performance data to justify high capital requirements.

    Moderate confidence±13 pts
    6288

    Litigation (Item 3)

    Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

    No litigation is required to be disclosed in Item 3.

    Bankruptcy (Item 4)

    None disclosed

    Audited financials (Item 21)

    Yes · Wright Ford Young & Co.

    Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

    Yr 1: $1.1MYr 2: $0.6M

    Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

    Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

    • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
    • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
    • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
    • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
    • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

    Score breakdown · what drove the 75 / 100 verdict

    1. 01MEDNo Item 19 financial performance disclosure (average revenue and net income not disclosed) prevents informed ROI analysis
    2. 02MEDHigh initial investment range ($819k-$1.77M) with no disclosed average unit volumes to validate payback period
    3. 03MINOR100% YoY unit growth claim is mathematically impossible (88 units cannot grow 100% YoY) — suggests data error or misleading metric reporting
    4. 04MINORProtected territory provided but no information on territory size, population density, or exclusivity enforcement mechanism
    5. 05MINORFranchise fee ($50k) appears low relative to high unit investment, potentially indicating undercapitalization or aggressive growth prioritized over franchisee success

    Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

    Showing the headline figures — all 154 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

    What are you signing up for?

    Ongoing fees run about 7.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

    Initial term10 yrs
    Renewal term5 yrs
    TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
    Initial training6 hrs

    Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

    FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

    Contract & Territory Detail

    Initial term10 years
    Renewal term5 years
    Allowed renewalsℹ2
    Territory typeExclusive territory
    Protected territoryYes
    Exclusive territoryℹYes
    Territory radius1 mi
    Online sales rightsℹRestricted
    Franchisor can competeYes
    Hire a manager?Allowed
    Owner-operatorOptional
    Non-compete (years)ℹ3 years
    Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
    Right of first refusalℹYes
    Transfer requires consentYes
    Termination notice30 days
    Curable defaultsℹ3
    Mandatory arbitrationYes
    Arbitration locationOrange County, California (American Arbitration Association)
    Jury trial waiverYes
    Governing lawCalifornia
    Litigation count0
    View Item 3 litigation summary

    No litigation is required to be disclosed in Item 3.

    Items 10, 11

    Training & Operations

    Classroom training
    6 hrs
    On-the-job training
    234 hrs
    Training location
    Online (classroom) and in-store at an 85°C Bakery Cafe in California designated by franchisor
    Ongoing training
    Required
    Field support
    234 hrs/yr
    On-site visits per year
    Time to open
    15 mo
    From signing to launch
    Site selection
    franchisee (franchisor approves)
    Franchisor financing
    Not offered
    Item 10
    POS system
    Clover Mini POS System
    Operating tech stack

    Items 5 & 11

    Franchisor Support

    ✓Site selection assistance
    ✓Grand opening support
    ✗Lease negotiation help

    Technology: Clover Mini POS System

    Item 20 · call current owners

    Franchisee Contacts

    8 owners to call

    Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

    Unlock 8 contacts · $49

    Frequently asked questions

    Frequently Asked Questions

    How much does it cost to open a 85°C Bakery Cafe franchise?

    The total investment to open a 85°C Bakery Cafe franchise ranges from $819K – $1.8M, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

    What do 85°C Bakery Cafe franchise owners earn?

    85°C Bakery Cafe makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

    Who owns 85°C Bakery Cafe?

    85°C Bakery Cafe is franchised by WinStar 85C, LLC. Its parent company is Prime Scope Trading Limited. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Gourmet Master Co Ltd. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

    What is Item 19 in the 85°C Bakery Cafe FDD?

    The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the 85°C Bakery Cafe FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

    What is 85°C Bakery Cafe's franchise failure rate?

    SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for 85°C Bakery Cafe (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

    How many 85°C Bakery Cafe franchise locations are there?

    As of their most recent FDD filing, 85°C Bakery Cafe has 88 total units in the United States, including 6 franchised units and 82 company-owned units. 4 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

    Is 85°C Bakery Cafe a good franchise to buy?

    FranchiseVerdict rates 85°C Bakery Cafe as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 75 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

    Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

    For franchisors

    Are you the franchisor?

    If you represent 85°C Bakery Cafe, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

    Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

    Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

    Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.