Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Warabimochi Kamakura logo

Warabimochi Kamakura Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsFranchising since 2025
CAverageAverage43/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$89K – $227K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02926FDD 2025Data QualityLimited48%Limited DataPre-opening
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Warabimochi Kamakura is a dessert franchise serving traditional Japanese warabimochi and related confections. Franchisees run the shops and kiosks, managing dessert prep, inventory, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Warabimochi Kamakura franchise requires a total initial investment of $89K – $227K, including a $1K – $69K franchise fee. This fee is for a master or area-representative grant rather than a single unit, so it is not comparable with the single-unit fees shown for other brands. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2025. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$89K – $227K
4th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
0 outlets
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
0
0th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$89K – $227K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$1K – $69K
Median $35K
Master/area fee
Liquid Capital Req'd
$20K – $40K
Median $33K
near median
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 5.5%
Ongoing Fees
40.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
0 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $89K – $227K including a $1K franchise fee. This fee is for a master or area-representative grant rather than a single unit, so it is not comparable with the single-unit fees shown for other brands.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 43/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
KBM-USA Co., Ltd.
Parent company
K&S Co., Ltd.
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Director and President
Shinji Tanaka
Incorporated in
Japan
HQ
B1 Higashi ward office, 1-4-1 Shimokido, Higashi ward, Niigata city, Niigata prefecture, Japan
Auditor
J-Bridge International Audit Firm
Audited financials

Overview

About

CEO
Shinji Tanaka
Founded
2025
FDD year
2025
States available
0

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 68% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$89K – $227KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$1,383Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$20K – $40K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

The filing conditions this fee

This fee is for a master or area-representative grant rather than a single unit, so it is not comparable with the single-unit fees shown for other brands.

Full Item 7 breakdown3 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$1K$69K
Legal Compliance for Franchise Sales$68K$118K
Additional Funds - 3 months$20K$40K
Total initial investment$89K$227K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$89K – $227K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$20K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$1K – $69K
Master/area fee
Royalty
40% of the sum of (i) initial franchise fees and (ii) roy…
Ad fund
No advertising cooperative, co-op fees, or ad fund contri…
Total fee load
40.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Warabimochi Kamakura: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$10K
Total fee load40.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Warabimochi Kamakura makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Warabimochi Kamakura unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $89K–$227K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $20K–$40K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$188K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 94 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 40.0% — above the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Warabimochi Kamakura Compares

Metric
Warabimochi Kamakura
Category median
vs median
Investment
$158K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
0
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units0Verified — printed on page 21 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
0
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast

No multi-year history disclosed and no opening/closing activity in the last reporting year.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score43/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage43Verdict score 43/100

Pre-opening Japanese sweets franchisor (began franchising 2025) with 0 units of any kind, net worth $701,990. No litigation, bankruptcy, or going-concern, audited financials but no Item 19 disclosure. Base risk reflects zero operating history.

Very low confidence±20 pts
2363

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation disclosed.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · J-Bridge International Audit Firm

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Financial statements are an audited opening balance sheet only (as of March 26, 2025, in JPY), not income statements; company had not yet begun operations.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 43 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORBegan franchising 2025 - no track record
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  3. 03MINORNo litigation, no bankruptcy, no going-concern, audited, net worth $701,990

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 94 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 40.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial trainingNot extracted

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory sizeℹDefined by state boundaries (Development Territory)
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ3 years
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice180 days
Termination groundsℹ1
Curable defaultsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverNo
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation disclosed.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
0 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
On-site and at franchisor location
Ongoing training
Optional
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Warabimochi Kamakura franchise?

The total investment to open a Warabimochi Kamakura franchise ranges from $89K – $227K, with an initial franchise fee of $1K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD). This fee is for a master or area-representative grant rather than a single unit, so it is not comparable with the single-unit fees shown for other brands.

What do Warabimochi Kamakura franchise owners earn?

Warabimochi Kamakura makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Warabimochi Kamakura?

Warabimochi Kamakura is franchised by KBM-USA Co., Ltd.. Its parent company is K&S Co., Ltd.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Warabimochi Kamakura FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Warabimochi Kamakura FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Warabimochi Kamakura's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Warabimochi Kamakura (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

Is Warabimochi Kamakura a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Warabimochi Kamakura as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 43 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Warabimochi Kamakura, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.