Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Waffle Cabin logo

Waffle Cabin Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsVTFranchising since 2012
AStrongest tierStrongest tier76/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$93K – $226K
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02913FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Waffle Cabin is a quick-service franchise specializing in fresh-made Belgian liege waffles. Franchisees run compact shops and kiosks, managing waffle production, staffing, and counter service in high-traffic spots.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Waffle Cabin franchise requires a total initial investment of $93K – $226K, including a $24K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. The 2025 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$93K – $226K
5th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Incl. company outlets
Royalty
5.0%
12th pct Service Resta…
Units
57
67th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$93K – $226K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$24K – $24K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $18K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
37.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
57 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
3.5%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $93K – $226K including a $24K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports 2023 systemwide Gross Sales for 14 company-owned cabins (total $2,708,968) and 38 franchisee-owned cabins (total $4,654,426), broken out per-location with high/low/average/median; no single systemwide average figure is stated, so no systemwide average is shown, rather than present a per-location figure as if it were systemwide.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 76/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +4 franchised outlets in the latest year (6 opened, 2 closed) (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 35.7% CAGR over 3 years with 57 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Atomium, Inc.
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Peter E. Creyf
Incorporated in
Vermont
HQ
18 Night Pasture Lane, South Chittenden, Vermont 05701
Auditor
McCormack, Guyette & Associates, PC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$686K
vs $872K prior year

Affiliated brands

  • has never offered franchises in this or any other line of business

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Peter E. Creyf
Headquarters
VT
Founded
2012
FDD year
2025
States available
12

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 67% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$93K – $226KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$23,500Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$10K – $18K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown16 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$24K$24K
Delayed Opening Feenot refundable$0$15K
Leasehold Improvementsnot refundable$30K$100K
Lease Payments - 3 Monthsnot refundable$1K$21K
Security Deposits——
Equipment, Furniture and Fixturesnot refundable$21K$30K
Signagenot refundable$750$1K
Initial Inventory - Proprietary Itemsnot refundable$3K$3K
Initial Inventory - Othernot refundable$2K$3K
Point-of-Sale Systemnot refundable$1K$2K
Travel, Lodging and Meals for Initial Trainingnot refundable$0$4K
Insurance - 3 Monthsnot refundable$500$500
Grand Opening Advertisingnot refundable——
Licenses and Permitsnot refundable$250$1K
Professional Feesnot refundable$1K$5K
Additional Funds - 3 Monthsnot refundable$10K$18K
Total initial investment$93K$226K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$93K – $226K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $18K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$24K – $24K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
37.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Waffle Cabin: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$30
Training fee$2K
Transfer fee$8K
Renewal fee$2K
Inventory (initial)$4K – $6K
Total fee load37.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typegross sales
Sample size38

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Waffle Cabin is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Waffle Cabin unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $93K–$226K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$18K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$173K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Item 19 reports 2023 systemwide Gross Sales for 14 company-owned cabins (total $2,708,968) and 38 franchisee-owned cabins (total $4,654,426), broken out per-location with high/low/average/median; no single systemwide average figure is stated, so no systemwide average is shown, rather than present a per-location figure as if it were systemwide.

Includes company-owned outlets

Item 19 type
gross sales
Sample size
38
vs category median 19
Reporting year
2023
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2025
Disclosed in the 2025 filing, covering 2023
Transparency
3 / 10
vs category median 4 / 10 · below
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank5th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank12th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank67th
vs Quick-Service Restaurants peers
Risk score rank8th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 781 Quick-Service Restaurants brands

Showing the headline figures — all 156 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Item 19 · by group

What the filing does disclose

Item 19 of this FDD reports performance in more than one group. We publish no single average for this brand; the groups the filing does disclose are listed below, quoted from its own Item 19 table.

Each row below is quoted from the FDD's own Item 19 table. Gross sales are not profit.

Incl. company outlets

Item 19 detail

What these figures cover

Item 19 reports 2023 systemwide Gross Sales for 14 company-owned cabins (total $2,708,968) and 38 franchisee-owned cabins (total $4,654,426), broken out per-location with high/low/average/median; no single systemwide average figure is stated, so no systemwide average is shown, rather than present a per-location figure as if it were systemwide.

company owned

SegmentSampleAvg
Company-owned cabins (2023)14$41K

franchisee owned

SegmentSampleAvg
Franchisee-owned cabins (2023)38$23K

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 37.0% — above the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.

Operator retention

System expanding at 35.7% CAGR over 3 years across 57 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Waffle Cabin Compares

Metric
Waffle Cabin
Category median
vs median
Investment
$160K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
57
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units57Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
3-yr growth+35.7% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate3.5% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
57
Opened
6
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Terminated
2
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
3.5%
Company-owned
15
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
73%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+35.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+35.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
2
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
2
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
7.1%
Units that stopped operating
2022
33
Franchised units
2023
38+5
Franchised units
2024
42+4
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 12 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

12

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score76/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier76Verdict score 76/100

No litigation, no bankruptcy; Item 19 disclosed, audited, $872K revenue and +35.7% net growth across 52 units. Going-concern field is unstated and equity is not disclosed, leaving a single unresolved financial-transparency concern.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
6389

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · McCormack, Guyette & Associates, PC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.7MYr 2: $0.9MTotal: $0.9MNon-royalty: $0.6M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 76 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDFranchisor net worth not disclosed; going-concern field unstated
  2. 02MEDNo litigation/bankruptcy, Item 19 disclosed
  3. 03MINORPositive +35.7% net growth

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 156 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 37.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training25 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory radius3 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ2
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationVermont (Rutland County)
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawVermont
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
12 hrs
On-the-job training
13 hrs
Training location
franchisor_facility_and_on_site
Ongoing training
Optional
Site selection
franchisor
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
ShopKeep POS System
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: ShopKeep POS System

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

25 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 25 contacts · $49
Free preview
908-442-••••
Unlock all 25 contacts
617-763-••••
610-826-••••
646-287-••••
845-494-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Waffle Cabin franchise?

The total investment to open a Waffle Cabin franchise ranges from $93K – $226K, with an initial franchise fee of $24K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Waffle Cabin franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the Waffle Cabin FDD discloses figures for part of the system but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Waffle Cabin?

Waffle Cabin is franchised by Atomium, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Waffle Cabin FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Waffle Cabin FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Waffle Cabin's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Waffle Cabin (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Waffle Cabin franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Waffle Cabin has 57 total units in the United States, including 42 franchised units and 15 company-owned units. 6 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Waffle Cabin a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Waffle Cabin as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 76 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Waffle Cabin, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.