Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Wahoo's Fish Taco logo

Wahoo's Fish Taco Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsCAFranchising since 1998
BAbove averageAbove average48/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$547K – $793K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (2)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02919Data QualityExcellent86%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Wahoo's Fish Taco is a fast-casual franchise serving Mexican and Hawaiian-inspired fish tacos, burritos, and bowls with a surf vibe. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing food prep, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Wahoo's Fish Taco franchise requires a total initial investment of $547K – $793K, including a $40K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2024 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - figures are from a filing two or more years old

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$547K – $793K
79th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
12th pct Service Resta…
Units
42
63rd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$547K – $793K
Median $486K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$40K – $40K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$60K – $100K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
6.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (2)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 2 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
42 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
4.8%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
2 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $547K – $793K including a $40K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 48/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -2 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 2 closed); 2 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -14.8% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
WAHOO'S FISH TACO, LLC
Parent company
Lamkone Restaurants, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2024 FDD
CEO title
President
Renato Lee
CEO experience
1988 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
California
HQ
1185 Warner Avenue, Tustin, California 92780
Auditor
R.M. White & Associates
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.0M
vs $958K prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Renato Lee
Headquarters
CA
Founded
1998
FDD year
2024
States available
4

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 38% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$547K – $793KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$40,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 9 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 9 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 9 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$60K – $100K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2024 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Wahoo's Fish Taco: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$40K$40K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$60K$100K
Equipment, build-out, other$447K$653K
Total initial investment$547K$793K

Source: Wahoo's Fish Taco 2024 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$547K – $793K
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$60K – $100K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$40K – $40K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Wahoo's Fish Taco: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of net sales
Transfer fee$20K
Renewal fee$5K
Total fee load6.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Wahoo's Fish Taco makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Wahoo's Fish Taco unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $547K–$793K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $60K–$100K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$750K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 151 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% — below the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -14.8% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Multi-unit rate

Only 14% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Wahoo's Fish Taco Compares

Metric
Wahoo's Fish Taco
Category median
vs median
Investment
$670K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
42
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units42Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 46 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-14.8% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate4.8% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
42
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
1
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
4.8%
Company-owned
19
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
55%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
14.3%
Net growth (3-yr)
-14.8%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-14.8%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
1
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
2
0.05 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
92.0%
Units that stayed open
Termination rate
2.4%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
4.8%
Units that stopped operating
2021
27
Franchised units
2022
25-2
Franchised units
2023
23-2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 4 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 4 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • California

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

26 current owners across 5 states.

  • CA 11
  • CO 7
  • NV 6
  • LP 1
  • TX 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 2 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
2
Loan volume
$850K
Median loan
$425K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (2)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 2 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (2)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (2)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
2
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (2)
Verdict score48/100 (higher is better)
Litigation2 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average48Verdict score 48/100

Wahoo's is profitable (net income $546,390) with net worth of $2,559,364, but shows a -14.8% net unit decline across 42 units. Two litigation matters exist (a settled arbitration and a patron personal-injury suit), neither systemic, and Item 19 is not disclosed. Modest concerns keep it low.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
3561

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Two cases disclosed: (1) Double Overtime, LLC v. Wahoo's Fish Taco, LLC arbitration (Case No. 01-14-0000-3205 JIG) filed May 2, 2014, alleging violations of California Franchise Investment Law, negligent misrepresentation, unfair competition, breach of contract, and breach of implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing. Settled December 31, 2014 with franchise agreement termination. (2) Theodore Smith v. Wahoo's Fish Tacos et al. (Case No. A-21-845023-C, District Court, Clark County, Nevada) filed December 6, 2021, alleging negligence, negligent hiring/supervision/retention, joint venturer liability, intentional infliction of emotional distress, and battery arising from patron altercation on December 21, 2019. Settled April 12, 2023 for $90,000 with dismissal with prejudice filed May 17, 2023.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · R.M. White & Associates

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.0MYr 2: $1.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Royalty and franchise revenue for FY2022 (most recent audited year) was $1,017,644, up from $739,570 in FY2021.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 48 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORPositive net income $546,390, net worth $2,559,364
  2. 02HIGH2 litigation matters (settled arbitration + patron injury claim, not systemic)
  3. 03MEDNet unit decline -14.8%
  4. 04MINORNo Item 19 disclosure

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 151 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training320 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ4
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius1.5 mi
Territory population150,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ15
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationOrange County, California
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawCalifornia
Litigation count2
View Item 3 litigation summary

Two cases disclosed: (1) Double Overtime, LLC v. Wahoo's Fish Taco, LLC arbitration (Case No. 01-14-0000-3205 JIG) filed May 2, 2014, alleging violations of California Franchise Investment Law, negligent misrepresentation, unfair competition, breach of contract, and breach of implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing. Settled December 31, 2014 with franchise agreement termination. (2) Theodore Smith v. Wahoo's Fish Tacos et al. (Case No. A-21-845023-C, District Court, Clark County, Nevada) filed December 6, 2021, alleging negligence, negligent hiring/supervision/retention, joint venturer liability, intentional infliction of emotional distress, and battery arising from patron altercation on December 21, 2019. Settled April 12, 2023 for $90,000 with dismissal with prejudice filed May 17, 2023.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
78 hrs
On-the-job training
242 hrs
Training location
Company's headquarters or at a location Company designates
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
160 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
6 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee, subject to Company approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Positouch
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Positouch

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

26 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 26 contacts · $49
Free preview
(720) 974-••••CO
Unlock all 26 contacts
(303) 574-••••CO
(951) 694-••••LP
(303) 662-••••CO
(303) 597-••••CO

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Wahoo's Fish Taco franchise?

The total investment to open a Wahoo's Fish Taco franchise ranges from $547K – $793K, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Wahoo's Fish Taco franchise owners earn?

Wahoo's Fish Taco makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Wahoo's Fish Taco?

Wahoo's Fish Taco is franchised by WAHOO'S FISH TACO, LLC. Its parent company is Lamkone Restaurants, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Wahoo's Fish Taco FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Wahoo's Fish Taco FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Wahoo's Fish Taco's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Wahoo's Fish Taco (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Wahoo's Fish Taco franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Wahoo's Fish Taco has 42 total units in the United States, including 23 franchised units and 19 company-owned units.

Is Wahoo's Fish Taco a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Wahoo's Fish Taco as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 48 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Wahoo's Fish Taco, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.