Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
The Original Pancake House logo
FV-02683FDD 2025Data Quality·Excellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

The Original Pancake House Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsORFranchising since 1991CEOElizabeth K. HighetWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

BAbove average55/100

The Original Pancake House is a full-service breakfast franchise famous for its pancakes, omelets, and signature apple pancake. Franchisees run sit-down restaurants managing kitchen and service staff during breakfast and lunch.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A The Original Pancake House franchise requires a total initial investment of $483K – $1.7M, including a $60K franchise fee and an ongoing 2.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 13.6% charge-off rate across 59 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2025 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$483K – $1.7M
23rd pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
2.0%
0th pct Service Resta…
Units
147
33rd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
13.6%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$483K – $1.7M
Avg $1.2M
near avg
Franchise Fee
$60K – $60K
Avg $40K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$53K – $125K
Avg $69K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
2.0%
Avg 5.3%
Ongoing Fees
3.0% of rev
Avg 7.6%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
13.6%
Avg 16.2%
below avg ↓
System Size
147 units
Avg 177 units
Turnover Rate
2.0%
Avg 6.0%
Territory
Protected
Exclusive zone granted
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
2 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $483K – $1.7M including a $60K franchise fee, 2.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 55/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 13.6% across 59 loans (above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • FLAGBankruptcy history disclosed in the FDD. Review Item 4 for details before proceeding.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
The Original Pancake House Franchising, Inc.
CEO title
President and Director
Elizabeth K. Highet
CEO experience
30 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
OR
HQ
8601 S.W. 24th Avenue, Portland, Oregon 97219
Auditor
PAULY, ROGERS AND CO., P.C.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$6.1M
vs $6.2M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Elizabeth K. Highet
Headquarters
OR
Founded
1991
FDD year
2025
States available
28

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 8% below the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$483K – $1.7MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$60,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty + ad fund2.0% + 1.0%
Working capital$53K – $125K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

The Original Pancake House: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$60K$60K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$53K$125K
Equipment, build-out, other$370K$1.5M
Total initial investment$483K$1.7M

Source: The Original Pancake House 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$483K – $1.7M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$53K – $125K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$60K – $60K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
2.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
3.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

The Original Pancake House: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty2.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$3K
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$20K $46K
Total fee load3.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

The Original Pancake House makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one The Original Pancake House unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $483K–$1.7M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $53K–$125K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$1.2M
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 129 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 3.0% — below the Full-Service Restaurants average of 7.6%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (+1.4% 3-year CAGR) with 147 units.

Multi-unit rate

Only 5% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants averages

How The Original Pancake House Compares

Metric
The Original Pancake House
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$1.1M
$1.2M
Revenue
N/A
$1.8M
Unit Count
147
177.058

Is the system healthy?

Total units147Verified — printed on page 38 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-0.7%
Turnover rate2.0%

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
147
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
3
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
2.0%
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
1%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
5.0%
Net growth (3-yr)
-0.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+1.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
0
Terminated (3yr)
0
Non-renewed (3yr)
0
Transfers (3yr)
7
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
Transfer rate
4.8%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Ceased ops
2.0%
Units that stopped operating
2022
146
Franchised units
2023
147+1
Franchised units
2024
146-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 15 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 15 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Michigan

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

C
SBA Lending Health
Average SBA lending record · 13.6% charge-off
Total loans
59
Loan volume
$32.0M
Median loan
$442K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
13.6%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
86.4%
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
11
Defaults
6
Typical loan rate
6.6%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
13.2%
brand above franchise avg ↑
Jobs supported
875
7.0 per loan
Lender concentration
14%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 33% went to startups / new businesses, 67% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in full-service restaurants, franchised businesses charge off at 13.2% vs 9.7% for independents — franchising is associated with 36% higher SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing The Original Pancake House franchisees

Glacier Bank3 loans0.0%
Kitsap Bank3 loans0.0%
U.S. Bank, National Association3 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 11 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
6
Loan volume
$3.6M
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
84

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into The Original Pancake House's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 7 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
  • 9-year lending trend
  • SBA 504 real estate/equipment data
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 13.6% — 15% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off13.6%
Verdict score55/100 (higher is better)
Litigation2 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average55Verdict score 55/100

Strong, established system: 147 units since 1991, positive equity $863,185 and net income $3.95M on $6.08M revenue, audited. The 2 litigations are franchisor-as-plaintiff royalty collection suits against a single franchisee. No Item 19 is the only minor gap.

High confidence±3 pts
5359

Litigation (Item 3)

The Original Pancake House Franchising, Inc. brought 2 cases against franchisees during fiscal year 2024: (1) Case No. 24CV05538 in Oregon Circuit Court (Multnomah County) against Top H Enterprises, LLC, Forever Holdings, LLC, and Taylor McEver for collection of royalty payments and enforcement of reporting requirements; (2) Case No. 24GC07047 in Georgia Superior Court (Cobb County) against the same defendants to enforce a default judgment obtained in the first matter.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

Disclosed in last 7 years

Bankruptcy Code; (b) obtained a discharge of its debt under the bankruptcy code; or (c) was a principal officer of a company or a general partner in a partnership that either filed as a debtor (or had filed against it) a petition to start an action under the U.S. Bankruptcy Code or that obtained a d

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · PAULY, ROGERS AND CO., P.C.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $6.1MYr 2: $6.2MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 55 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORStrong financials: net income $3.95M, equity $863,185
  2. 02MINOR147 units, established since 1991
  3. 03MINOR2 suits are franchisor-plaintiff collections (routine)

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 129 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 3.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal term20 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training631 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Renewal term20 years
Territory typeRadius
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryNo
Territory radius5 mi
Territory population100,000
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)1 year
Non-compete (miles)15 mi
Right of first refusalYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination grounds1
Curable defaults7
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawOregon
Litigation count2
View Item 3 litigation summary

The Original Pancake House Franchising, Inc. brought 2 cases against franchisees during fiscal year 2024: (1) Case No. 24CV05538 in Oregon Circuit Court (Multnomah County) against Top H Enterprises, LLC, Forever Holdings, LLC, and Taylor McEver for collection of royalty payments and enforcement of reporting requirements; (2) Case No. 24GC07047 in Georgia Superior Court (Cobb County) against the same defendants to enforce a default judgment obtained in the first matter.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
0 hrs
On-the-job training
631 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
8 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

73 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 73 contacts · $49
Free preview
(317) 872-••••IN
Unlock all 73 contacts
(708) 469-••••IL
(561) 721-••••FL
(636) 536-••••MO
(714) 983-••••CA

FDD download

The Original Pancake House · FDD (2025) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a The Original Pancake House franchise?

The total investment to open a The Original Pancake House franchise ranges from $483K – $1.7M, with an initial franchise fee of $60K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do The Original Pancake House franchise owners earn?

The Original Pancake House makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the The Original Pancake House FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the The Original Pancake House FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is The Original Pancake House's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, The Original Pancake House has a charge-off rate of 13.6% across 59 loans, meaning 13.6% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many The Original Pancake House franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, The Original Pancake House has 147 total units in the United States, including 146 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is The Original Pancake House a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates The Original Pancake House as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 55 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent The Original Pancake House, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.