Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai logo

Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsCAFranchising since 2025
BAbove averageAbove average49/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$521K – $1.2M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01415FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent81%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai is a ramen franchise serving Kitakata-style ramen with hand-crafted broths and noodles. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing kitchen production, staffing, and service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai franchise requires a total initial investment of $521K – $1.2M, including a $40K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2025. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$521K – $1.2M
24th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
8th pct Service Resta…
Units
9
12th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$521K – $1.2M
Median $678K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$40K – $40K
Median $40K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$100K – $200K
Median $43K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
6.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
9 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $521K – $1.2M including a $40K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 49/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai Franchising Inc.
Parent company
Mensyoku U.S.A. Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2026 FDD
Ultimate parent
Mensyoku CO., LTD.
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2026 FDD
CEO title
President, Treasurer and Secretary
Yuichiro Soeda
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
15032 Red Hill Ave. Suite A, Tustin, California 92780
Auditor
Kezos & Dunlavy
Audited financials

Overview

About

CEO
Yuichiro Soeda
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2024
FDD year
2026
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 26% above the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$521K – $1.2MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$40,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$100K – $200K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown20 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$40K$40K
Kitchen and Bar Equipment / Small Waresnot refundable$100K$150K
Furniture and Fixturesnot refundable$15K$25K
Audio Video Equipmentnot refundable$1K$3K
Restaurant Decorationsnot refundable$1K$3K
Computer / POS System and KDS for Kitchen Displaynot refundable$5K$10K
Lease and Leasehold Improvementsnot refundable$200K$600K
Signagenot refundable$5K$10K
Licensesnot refundable$1K$3K
Liquor License Costsnot refundable$2K$15K
Insurancenot refundable$1K$10K
Professional Feesnot refundable$2K$20K
Architecture Fees and Permitsnot refundable$10K$20K
Office Equipment and Suppliesnot refundable$2K$5K
Opening Inventorynot refundable$15K$30K
Initial Inventory of Alcoholic Beveragesnot refundable$1K$2K
Trainingnot refundable$8K$16K
Security and Utility Deposits$10K$20K
Grand Opening Programnot refundable$2K$2K
Additional Funds - 3 Monthsnot refundable$100K$200K
Total initial investment$521K$1.2M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$521K – $1.2M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$100K – $200K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$40K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Training fee$3K
Transfer fee$20K
Renewal fee$20K
Inventory (initial)$15K – $30K
Total fee load6.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $521K–$1.2M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $100K–$200K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.0M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 136 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% (near the Full-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Multi-unit rate

Only 1% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai Compares

Metric
Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai
Category median
vs median
Investment
$853K
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
9
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units9Verified — printed on page 38 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
9
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
9
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
1.0%

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
0
Franchised units
2024
0±0
Franchised units
2025
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 2 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

2

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score49/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average49Verdict score 49/100

A micro-scale ramen franchise with minimal transparency on unit economics, profitability, and growth trajectory poses significant risk for a half-million dollar investment.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
3662

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Kezos & Dunlavy

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

The provided page images (p182-p186) are Exhibit H (Franchise Disclosure Questionnaire), Exhibit I (State Effective Dates), and Exhibit J (Receipts) for Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai Franchising Inc., 2025-2026 FDD. The audited financial statements (Exhibit B) are NOT included in this image set. No balance sheet, income statement, or independent auditor's report is present, so no financial figures could be extracted.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 49 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo Item 19 financial performance data disclosed — cannot validate $521K-$1.184M investment justification
  2. 02MINOROnly 9 units system-wide with unknown growth trajectory — insufficient scale to assess franchise model viability
  3. 03MEDHigh capital requirement ($521K-$1.184M) relative to tiny unit count suggests limited proven ROI
  4. 04MED5% royalty + undisclosed overhead against unknown average net income creates repayment uncertainty

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 136 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training172 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius10 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationTustin, California (principal city closest to principal place of business)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawDE
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
32 hrs
On-the-job training
140 hrs
Training location
One of our restaurants in California that we designate; also your Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai location for new store opening training
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
9 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Toast POS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast POS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1 contacts · $49
Free preview
714-619-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai franchise?

The total investment to open a Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai franchise ranges from $521K – $1.2M, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai franchise owners earn?

Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai?

Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai is franchised by Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai Franchising Inc.. Its parent company is Mensyoku U.S.A. Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Mensyoku CO., LTD.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai has 9 total units in the United States.

Is Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 49 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Kitakata Ramen Ban Nai, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.