Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
AFURI Ramen + Dumpling logo

AFURI Ramen + Dumpling Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsOregonFranchising since 2018
DBelow averageBelow average29/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$591K – $1.2M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00082Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

AFURI Ramen + Dumpling is a restaurant franchise serving yuzu-forward Japanese ramen and handmade dumplings. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing kitchen production, staffing, and service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A AFURI Ramen + Dumpling franchise requires a total initial investment of $591K – $1.2M, including a $45K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$591K – $1.2M
27th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
8th pct Service Resta…
Units
6
9th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$591K – $1.2M
Median $678K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$45K – $45K
Median $40K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $30K
Median $43K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
6.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
6 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
33.3%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $591K – $1.2M including a $45K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 29/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative, pipeline stalled: 14 agreements signed but not yet open against 6 open outlets (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
AFURI FRANCHISE INC.
Parent company
AFURI BUCKMAN LLC
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2024 FDD
Ultimate parent
AFURI, INC. (AFURI-JPN)
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2024 FDD
CEO title
President, Chief Executive Officer, and Chief Financial Officer
Taichi Ishizuki
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
Oregon
HQ
923 SE 7th Ave., Portland, Oregon 97214
Auditor
Sky Accountancy Corporation
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$440K
vs $422K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Taichi Ishizuki
Headquarters
Oregon
Founded
2017
FDD year
2024
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 29% above the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$591K – $1.2MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$45,000Verified — printed on page 10 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$10K – $30K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown16 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$45K$45K
Rent and Security Deposit - 3 months——
Pre-Construction Costs (Architect, Plans, Permits)$11K$30K
Construction, Remodeling and Leasehold Improvements$200K$400K
Point of Sale System (Initial Payment)$5K$20K
Equipment, Fixtures, Furnishings, Decor, and Supplies$90K$180K
Initial Inventory$6K$10K
Signage$7K$15K
Wages for Employees - 3 months$150K$240K
Out-of-Pocket Expenses During Training$6K$10K
Grand Opening Advertising$1K$2K
Liquor License (if available in your jurisdiction)$4K$30K
Professional Fees$3K$10K
Insurance - One Year$4K$7K
Miscellaneous Opening Costs$50K$120K
Additional Funds - 3 months$10K$30K
Total initial investment$591K$1.1M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$591K – $1.2M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$45K – $45K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

AFURI Ramen + Dumpling: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0%
Training fee$750
Transfer fee$30K
Renewal fee$2K
Inventory (initial)$6K – $10K
Total fee load6.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

AFURI Ramen + Dumpling makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one AFURI Ramen + Dumpling unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $591K–$1.2M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$30K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$892K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% (near the Full-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System shrank 66.7% over 3 years — 2 closures. Ask existing franchisees about local market conditions.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How AFURI Ramen + Dumpling Compares

Metric
AFURI Ramen + Dumpling
Category median
vs median
Investment
$872K
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
6
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units6Verified — printed on page 46 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-66.7% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate33.3% (caution)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
6
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
33.3%
Company-owned
5
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
17%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-66.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-66.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Signed, not yet open
14
2.33 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
3
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
33.3%
Units that stopped operating
2021
3
Franchised units
2022
3±0
Franchised units
2023
1-2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 2 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

2

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score29/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average29Verdict score 29/100

Rapid franchise system collapse (67% unit loss YoY), undisclosed financials, and high investment requirements create extreme risk of franchisee failure.

Low confidence±15 pts
1444

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Sky Accountancy Corporation

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.4MYr 2: $0.4M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 29 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDCatastrophic unit decline of 66.7% YoY (from ~18 to 6 units) signals severe system distress or mass closures
  2. 02MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure in FDD Item 19 prevents ROI validation and profit assessment
  3. 03MINORHigh initial investment ($591k–$1.15M) with 5% royalty creates significant financial risk without performance benchmarks
  4. 04MINOROnly 6 remaining units provides minimal peer network and suggests weak franchisee support or operational model failure
  5. 05MINORAsian cuisine segment faces labor cost pressures, food cost volatility, and intense local competition in most markets

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training15 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius5 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMultnomah County, Oregon
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawOregon
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
15 hrs
On-the-job training
240 hrs
Training location
Franchisor headquarters and affiliate-owned restaurant (currently Portland, Oregon)
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
240 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
12 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

7 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 7 contacts · $49
Free preview
(503) 384-••••
Unlock all 7 contacts
(971) 288-••••
(213) 221-••••
(971) 386-••••
(503) 336-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a AFURI Ramen + Dumpling franchise?

The total investment to open a AFURI Ramen + Dumpling franchise ranges from $591K – $1.2M, with an initial franchise fee of $45K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do AFURI Ramen + Dumpling franchise owners earn?

AFURI Ramen + Dumpling makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns AFURI Ramen + Dumpling?

AFURI Ramen + Dumpling is franchised by AFURI FRANCHISE INC.. Its parent company is AFURI BUCKMAN LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is AFURI, INC. (AFURI-JPN). Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the AFURI Ramen + Dumpling FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the AFURI Ramen + Dumpling FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is AFURI Ramen + Dumpling's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for AFURI Ramen + Dumpling (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many AFURI Ramen + Dumpling franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, AFURI Ramen + Dumpling has 6 total units in the United States, including 1 franchised units and 5 company-owned units.

Is AFURI Ramen + Dumpling a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates AFURI Ramen + Dumpling as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 29 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent AFURI Ramen + Dumpling, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.