Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Kinya logo

Kinya Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsNJFranchising since 2022
DBelow averageBelow average35/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$389K – $1.6M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01414Data QualityStandard71%FDD 2023 · 3yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2023 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Kinya is a Japanese restaurant franchise serving ramen and sushi with an experiential, gold-accented menu. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing the kitchen, service, and staffing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Kinya franchise requires a total initial investment of $389K – $1.6M, including a $20K franchise fee and an ongoing 2.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$389K – $1.6M
18th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
2.0%
1st pct Service Resta…
Units
4
6th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$389K – $1.6M
Median $678K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$20K – $20K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$75K – $150K
Median $43K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
2.0%
Median 5.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
2.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
4 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $389K – $1.6M including a $20K franchise fee, 2.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 35/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (3 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Kinya Franchise LLC
Parent company
Kinya America LLC
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2023 FDD
CEO title
Managing Member
Guiyang (Tony) Wang
Incorporated in
NJ
HQ
495 Prospect Avenue, Suite 20, West Orange, New Jersey 07052
Auditor
Wei, Wei & Co., LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$5K
Most recent fiscal year

Overview

About

CEO
Guiyang (Tony) Wang
Headquarters
NJ
Founded
2022
FDD year
2023
States available
3

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 44% above the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$389K – $1.6MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2023 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$20,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2023 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$75K – $150K

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown20 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$20K$20K
Training Feenot refundable$3K$9K
Website Fee - 3 Monthsnot refundable$750$750
Rent - 3 Monthsnot refundable$49K$95K
Lease & Utility Security Deposit$11K$95K
Design & Architect Feesnot refundable$3K$30K
Leasehold Improvementsnot refundable$100K$800K
Signagenot refundable$4K$10K
Equipment, Furniture and Fixturesnot refundable$50K$200K
Point of Sale & Computer Equipmentnot refundable$15K$30K
Security Systemnot refundable$4K$5K
Business Licenses & Permits (Not Including Liquor License)not refundable$5K$8K
Professional Feesnot refundable$5K$10K
Insurance - 3 Monthsnot refundable$9K$30K
Initial Inventorynot refundable$10K$20K
Training Expensesnot refundable$15K$20K
Grand Opening Marketingnot refundable$5K$5K
On-Site Evaluation & Expensesnot refundable$1K$6K
Opening Assistance & Training/Expensesnot refundable$4K$20K
Additional Funds - 3 Monthsnot refundable$75K$150K
Total initial investment$389K$1.6M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$389K – $1.6M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$75K – $150K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$20K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
2.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
Flat $1,000/month Brand Development and Website Fee (may …
Total fee load
2.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Kinya: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$250
Training fee$3K
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$10K – $20K
Total fee load2.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Kinya makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Kinya unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $389K–$1.6M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $75K–$150K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.1M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2023 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 133 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 2.0% — below the Full-Service Restaurants median of 7.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Kinya Compares

Metric
Kinya
Category median
vs median
Investment
$976K
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
4
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units4Verified — printed on page 51 of the 2023 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it one way.

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
4
Opened
3
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
4
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2020
0
Franchised units
2021
0±0
Franchised units
2022
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 3 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

3

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score35/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average35Verdict score 35/100
Low confidence±19 pts
1654

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Wei, Wei & Co., LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.0MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

All revenue consists of advertising revenues ($4,500) for the period from June 10, 2022 (inception) to December 31, 2022; first audited period, no prior year.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 35 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDOnly 4 units systemwide suggests minimal brand presence, limited support infrastructure, and high failure risk
  2. 02MEDNo Item 19 (financial performance representations) disclosed — impossible to validate ROI claims or assess unit profitability
  3. 03MINORWide investment range ($388.7K-$1.56M) with no average revenue/net income data prevents realistic payback period calculation
  4. 04MEDExtremely small franchise system provides no network effect, limited referral sources, or peer support network
  5. 05MINORUnknown unit growth trajectory — 4 units may be declining rather than stable, suggesting market rejection
  6. 06MINOR20-year term locks franchisees into relationship with potentially unstable franchisor

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 133 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 2.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training70 hrs

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius5 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationEssex County, New Jersey
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNJ
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
0 hrs
On-the-job training
70 hrs
Training location
West Orange, New Jersey (affiliate restaurant)
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
56 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
12 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Franchisor-designated POS system
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Franchisor-designated POS system

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Kinya franchise?

The total investment to open a Kinya franchise ranges from $389K – $1.6M, with an initial franchise fee of $20K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Kinya franchise owners earn?

Kinya makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Kinya?

Kinya is franchised by Kinya Franchise LLC. Its parent company is Kinya America LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2023 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Kinya FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Kinya FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Kinya's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Kinya (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Kinya franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Kinya has 4 total units in the United States. 3 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Kinya a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Kinya as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 35 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Kinya, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.