Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
IT’S BOBA TIME logo

It’s Boba Time Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsCAFranchising since 2011
AStrongest tierStrongest tier78/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$466K – $597K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
0.0%
on 45 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01319FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent86%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

It's Boba Time is a quick-service bubble-tea franchise serving milk teas, fruit teas, slushes, and toppings. Franchisees run compact shops managing drink prep, POS, and staffing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A IT’S BOBA TIME franchise requires a total initial investment of $466K – $597K, including a $45K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 0.0% charge-off rate across 45 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$466K – $597K
72nd pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
12th pct Service Resta…
Units
89
75th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
0.0%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$466K – $597K
Median $486K
near median
Franchise Fee
$45K – $45K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $20K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
0.0%
45 loans · Median 14.3%
below median ↓, better than category
System Size
89 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
1.1%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
2 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $466K – $597K including a $45K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 78/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 0.0% across 45 loans (well below the franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +10 franchised outlets in the latest year (11 opened, 1 closed); 26 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 41.0% CAGR over 3 years with 89 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Boba Time, Inc.
CEO title
President
Eunice Unmi Pak
CEO experience
21 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
CA
HQ
3255 Wilshire Blvd., Ste. 1420, Los Angeles, California 90010
Auditor
JNK Accountancy Group, LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$9.4M
vs $10.1M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Eunice Unmi Pak
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2011
FDD year
2025
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 9% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$466K – $597KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$45,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$10K – $20K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown14 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$45K$45K
Initial Training Expensesnot refundable$0$3K
Lease Deposit & Rent (3 months)$18K$30K
Build Out & Improvementnot refundable$284K$349K
Exterior Signagenot refundable$4K$8K
Decorating, Furniture & Furnishingsnot refundable$4K$15K
Kitchen Equipmentnot refundable$55K$63K
Technology Systemsnot refundable$20K$22K
Initial Supply of Inventorynot refundable$25K$27K
Grand Opening Advertisingnot refundable$0$5K
Utility Deposits, Licenses & Permitsnot refundable$1K$4K
Professional Feesnot refundable$0$4K
Insurance (3 months)not refundable$1K$2K
Additional Funds (3 months)not refundable$10K$20K
Total initial investment$466K$597K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$466K – $597K
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$45K – $45K
Bottom third — review vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

IT’S BOBA TIME: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$0
Training fee$350
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$10K
Inventory (initial)$25K – $27K
Total fee load7.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

IT’S BOBA TIME makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one IT’S BOBA TIME unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $466K–$597K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$20K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$546K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 146 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 41.0% CAGR over 3 years across 89 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How It’s Boba Time Compares

Metric
It’s Boba Time
Category median
vs median
Investment
$531K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
89
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units89Verified — printed on page 36 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+41.0% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate1.1% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
89
Opened
11
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
1.1%
Company-owned
3
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
97%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+41.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+41.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
3
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
26
0.29 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
13
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
3.4%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Ceased ops
1.1%
Units that stopped operating
2022
61
Franchised units
2023
76+15
Franchised units
2024
86+10
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 2 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

2

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

A
SBA Lending Health
Excellent SBA lending record · 0.0% charge-off
Total loans
45
Loan volume
$21.9M
Median loan
$429K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
0.0%
on 45 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
100.0%
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
11
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
7.3%
avg rate to borrowers
vs industry
N/A
NAICS 7225
Jobs supported
685
3.1 per loan
Lender concentration
24%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 43% went to startups / new businesses, 57% to established operators

Vintage analysis

It’s Boba Time charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
It’s Boba Time charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 3 vintages from 2018 to 2022. Rates range from 0.0% to 0.0%.0%5%10%'18'19'22

Top lenders financing It’s Boba Time franchisees

Open Bank11 loans—
Hanmi Bank9 loans—
Bank of Hope7 loans—

Showing 3 of 11 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for It’s Boba Time from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
0.0%
Avg SBA guarantee
76%
Avg interest rate
7.30%
Lender concentration
24.4%
Job velocity
3.1 per $100K
Startup risk premium
0.0pp
Jobs supported
685

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 24% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
111N/AN/A
29N/AN/A
37N/AN/A
45N/AN/A
55N/AN/A

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
CACalifornia4500.0%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2016
2
2017
1
2018
3
2019
6
2020
6
2021
3
2022
7
2023
10
2024
1
2025
6

Borrower profile

Ownership change15 (36%)
Startup13 (31%)
Existing (2+ yr)8 (19%)
New (< 2 yr)5 (12%)
2-3 years1 (2%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

Lending insight

With a 0.0% charge-off rate across 45 loans, banks have historically viewed this brand favorably for lending.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 0.0% — 100% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off0.0% · 45 loans
Verdict score78/100 (higher is better)
Litigation2 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier78Verdict score 78/100
High confidence±4 pts
7482

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

(1) Glen Suh v. Boba Time (BC685235) - breach of noncompetition covenant from 2014 store purchase; judgment against Boba Time for $1,320,288 + interest, satisfied Aug 2022. (2) Morteza Vadipour v. Boba Time (21STCV11254) - fraud, breach of covenant, CFIL violations re transfer fees before FDD delivery; settled March 2023 with territorial protections and waiver of franchise fees for next 3 stores.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · JNK Accountancy Group, LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $9.4MYr 2: $10.1MNon-royalty: $0.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 8: franchisor total revenue for fiscal year ended December 31, 2024 was $9,439,327.31; $60,411.69 (0.64%) was derived from source-restricted purchases (custom print supply products). Audited Item 21 financial statements are in image-only Exhibit G and not text-extractable.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 78 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGHTwo disclosed lawsuits including fraud/CFIL violations and breach of contract suggest operational/legal instability
  2. 02MEDNo Item 19 (average unit volumes) disclosed—inability to assess actual profitability or ROI on $465k-$597k investment
  3. 03MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk from other franchisees and company-owned units
  4. 04MEDModest unit growth of 13.2% YoY with only 89 locations suggests limited market traction and scaling challenges
  5. 05MED5% royalty on undisclosed revenue makes it impossible to model cash flow or breakeven timeline

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 146 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training60 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius1 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationLos Angeles County, California
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawCA
Litigation count2
View Item 3 litigation summary

(1) Glen Suh v. Boba Time (BC685235) - breach of noncompetition covenant from 2014 store purchase; judgment against Boba Time for $1,320,288 + interest, satisfied Aug 2022. (2) Morteza Vadipour v. Boba Time (21STCV11254) - fraud, breach of covenant, CFIL violations re transfer fees before FDD delivery; settled March 2023 with territorial protections and waiver of franchise fees for next 3 stores.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
17 hrs
On-the-job training
43 hrs
Training location
Los Angeles, California (corporate headquarters)
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
43 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
9 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Toast POS System
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast POS System

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

102 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 102 contacts · $49
Free preview
702-844-••••
Unlock all 102 contacts
323-662-••••
661-556-••••
661-200-••••
213-248-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a IT’S BOBA TIME franchise?

The total investment to open a IT’S BOBA TIME franchise ranges from $466K – $597K, with an initial franchise fee of $45K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do IT’S BOBA TIME franchise owners earn?

IT’S BOBA TIME makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns IT’S BOBA TIME?

IT’S BOBA TIME is franchised by Boba Time, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the IT’S BOBA TIME FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the IT’S BOBA TIME FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is IT’S BOBA TIME's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, IT’S BOBA TIME has a charge-off rate of 0.0% across 45 loans, meaning 0.0% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many IT’S BOBA TIME franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, IT’S BOBA TIME has 89 total units in the United States, including 86 franchised units and 3 company-owned units. 11 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is IT’S BOBA TIME a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates IT’S BOBA TIME as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 78 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent IT’S BOBA TIME, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.