Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt logo

U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsCAFranchising since 2008
CAverageAverage43/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$419K – $630K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02830Data QualityExcellent86%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

U-Swirl is a self-serve frozen yogurt franchise where guests fill cups and choose toppings priced by weight. Franchisees run the shops, managing equipment, product inventory, and quick-service operations.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt franchise requires a total initial investment of $419K – $630K, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$419K – $630K
20th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
25th pct Service Resta…
Units
57
27th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$419K – $630K
Median $678K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$35K – $71K
Median $43K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10
System Size
57 units
Median 20 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
11.5%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $419K – $630K including a $25K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 43/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -4 franchised outlets in the latest year (3 opened, 7 closed); 2 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
U Swirl Franchising LLC
Parent company
Bob Partners X, LLC; U Swirl LLC
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2024 FDD
Ultimate parent
Bob Partners X, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2024 FDD
Predecessor
U-Swirl International, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President and Chief Executive Officer
Nealesh Dahya
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
14071 Peyton Drive, Suite 2697, Chino Hills, California 91709
Auditor
NAPER CPA GROUP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.1M
Most recent fiscal year

Affiliated brands

  • Fosters Freeze International
  • U Swirl Gift Card

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Nealesh Dahya
Headquarters
CA
FDD year
2024
States available
21

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 23% below the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$419K – $630KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 23 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$35K – $71K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown12 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$25K$25K
Furniture, Equipment, and Fixtures$194K$278K
Computer System$5K$12K
Pre-Opening Rent, Deposits, Architectural Fees and Leasehold Improvements$131K$186K
Signage$10K$25K
Opening Inventory$5K$10K
Training$4K$8K
Grand Opening Program$5K$5K
Licenses and Permits$500$2K
Insurance$2K$4K
Professional Fees$3K$5K
Additional Funds - 3 Months$35K$71K
Total initial investment$419K$630K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$419K – $630K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$35K – $71K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$100
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$5K – $10K
Total fee load7.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $419K–$630K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $35K–$71K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$577K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 133 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% (near the Full-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt Compares

Metric
U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt
Category median
vs median
Investment
$524K
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
57
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units57Verified — printed on page 51 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it one way.
Turnover rate11.5% (caution)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
57
Opened
3
Last reporting year
Closed
7
Turnover rate
11.5%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Signed, not yet open
2
0.04 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
3
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
50.0%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
2021
71
Franchised units
2022
61-10
Franchised units
2023
57-4
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 9 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 9 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

15 current owners across 9 states.

  • MN 3
  • TX 3
  • IA 2
  • KS 2
  • AZ 1
  • IL 1
  • MS 1
  • NV 1
  • UT 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$200K
Median loan
$200K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (1)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (1)
Verdict score43/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage43Verdict score 43/100

One arbitration alleging franchise disclosure violations and fraudulent misrepresentation, settled Dec 2018 for $55,000. No Item 19 disclosure. Sharp negative net growth of -14.1% (units declined 61 to 57) with elevated 11.5% turnover indicate system contraction.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
3056

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Brokish Holdings, LLC and William Brokish v. U-Swirl International, Inc. and Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory, Inc. (AAA arbitration, filed April 2018) alleging franchise disclosure violations, fraudulent misrepresentation, and breach of contract; settled in December 2018 with USI paying $55,000 to Claimants. This litigation predates the current franchisor (USF) and was against the predecessor entity.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · NAPER CPA GROUP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 states Exhibit B contains the auditor's report of February 26, 2024 for financial statements as of December 31, 2023 (franchisor U Swirl Franchising LLC, in business less than 3 years). The Exhibit B financial statement pages are image-based in the extracted text; no balance sheet, income statement figures, or CPA firm name are recoverable from the text.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 43 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGHLitigation alleging disclosure violations/fraud, settled $55,000
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 disclosure

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 133 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training25 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius5 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ5 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationPrincipal city closest to franchisor's principal place of business (currently Chino Hills, California)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawDelaware
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

Brokish Holdings, LLC and William Brokish v. U-Swirl International, Inc. and Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory, Inc. (AAA arbitration, filed April 2018) alleging franchise disclosure violations, fraudulent misrepresentation, and breach of contract; settled in December 2018 with USI paying $55,000 to Claimants. This litigation predates the current franchisor (USF) and was against the predecessor entity.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
9 hrs
On-the-job training
16 hrs
Training location
Franchisor location and on-site at franchisee's restaurant
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisor
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

15 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 15 contacts · $49
Free preview
816 261- ••••KS
Unlock all 15 contacts
319-530- ••••IA
218-766- ••••MN
254-709- ••••TX
847-800- ••••IL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt franchise?

The total investment to open a U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt franchise ranges from $419K – $630K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt franchise owners earn?

U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt?

U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt is franchised by U Swirl Franchising LLC. Its parent company is Bob Partners X, LLC; U Swirl LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Bob Partners X, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt has 57 total units in the United States, including 57 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 3 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 43 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent U-Swirl Frozen Yogurt, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.