Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
The Local Fry logo

The Local Fry Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsMDFranchising since 2023
CAverageAverage40/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$557K – $756K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02669FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

The Local Fry is a fast-casual franchise serving loaded fries, crispy wings, and globally inspired bowls. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing food prep, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A The Local Fry franchise requires a total initial investment of $557K – $756K, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$557K – $756K
80th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
1 outlet
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
1
3rd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$557K – $756K
Median $486K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Median $35K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$0 – $0
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
8.5% of rev
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
1 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $557K – $756K including a $35K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 40/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative, pipeline stalled: 2 agreements signed but not yet open against 1 open outlets (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
TLF Holdings Inc.
CEO title
President and Chief Executive Officer
Kevin Irish
Incorporated in
Maryland
HQ
711 W. 40th St., Ste 152, Baltimore, MD 21211
Auditor
George Nwabukwu & Associates
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$60K
Most recent fiscal year

Affiliated brands

  • Elevin Group

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Kevin Irish
Headquarters
MD
Founded
2023
FDD year
2025
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 35% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$557K – $756KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$35,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 26 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$0 – $0

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown13 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$35K$35K
Real Property Lease$5K$8K
Leasehold Improvementsnot refundable$350K$450K
Equipmentnot refundable$130K$175K
Architectural Design$18K$30K
POS System$5K$10K
Opening Inventory and Supplies$10K$18K
Grand Opening Advertising$3K$5K
Insurance$2K$5K
Training$3K$5K
Business Licenses and Legal Costs$1K$3K
Security Deposits$6K$12K
Additional Funds——
Total initial investment$567K$756K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$557K – $756K
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$0 – $0
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

The Local Fry: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Technology fee$5K
Transfer fee$18K
Renewal fee$18K
Inventory (initial)$10K – $18K
Total fee load8.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

The Local Fry makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one The Local Fry unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $557K–$756K (midpoint used)
Item 7 didn't break this out. Enter your pre-opening cash burn

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$656K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 130 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.5% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How The Local Fry Compares

Metric
The Local Fry
Category median
vs median
Investment
$656K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
1
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units1Verified — printed on page 38 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
1
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
2
2.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
7
Franchisor's next-year forecast

No multi-year history disclosed and no opening/closing activity in the last reporting year.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score40/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage40Verdict score 40/100

Very new restaurant franchisor (since 2023) with 1 company-owned unit, 0 franchised, and modest positive net worth of $100,155. No litigation, bankruptcy, or distress, but no Item 19 disclosure. Limited operating history is the primary concern.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
2753

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · George Nwabukwu & Associates

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 40 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDSingle unit, 0 franchised, limited history
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  3. 03MINORPositive net worth ($100,155)
  4. 04MINORNo litigation or bankruptcy

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 130 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training260 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius3 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ15 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMaryland
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
10 hrs
On-the-job training
250 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee proposes, franchisor accepts/declines
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Toast
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

15 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 15 contacts · $49
Free preview
(808) 586-••••
Unlock all 15 contacts
(701) 328-••••
(317) 232-••••
(518) 473-••••
(804) 371-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a The Local Fry franchise?

The total investment to open a The Local Fry franchise ranges from $557K – $756K, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do The Local Fry franchise owners earn?

The Local Fry makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns The Local Fry?

The Local Fry is franchised by TLF Holdings Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the The Local Fry FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the The Local Fry FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is The Local Fry's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for The Local Fry (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many The Local Fry franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, The Local Fry has 1 total units in the United States.

Is The Local Fry a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates The Local Fry as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 40 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent The Local Fry, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.