Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
The Halal Guys logo

The Halal Guys Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsNYFranchising since 2014
BAbove averageAbove average56/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$418K – $1.3M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Limited · 24 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02648FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent86%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

The Halal Guys is a fast-casual franchise, grown from a famous NYC food cart, serving halal chicken and gyro platters, sandwiches, and its signature white sauce. Franchisees run restaurants managing food prep, counter service, and staffing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A The Halal Guys franchise requires a total initial investment of $418K – $1.3M, including a $45K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$418K – $1.3M
66th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
85
74th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$418K – $1.3M
Median $486K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$45K – $45K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$25K – $100K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 24 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 24 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
85 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
14.1%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
3 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $418K – $1.3M including a $45K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 56/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -8 franchised outlets in the latest year (4 opened, 12 closed); 4 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -9.1% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
The Halal Guys Franchise Inc.
Ultimate parent
The Halal Guys, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Ahmed Abouelenein
CEO experience
17 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
New Jersey
HQ
10-02 34th Avenue, Astoria, New York 11106
Auditor
Citrin Cooperman & Company, LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$12.4M
vs $13.8M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Affiliated brands

  • owns the Proprietary Marks
  • that owns and operates food carts throughout the New York City area
  • The Halal Guys

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Ahmed Abouelenein
Headquarters
NY
Founded
2014
FDD year
2025
States available
16

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 78% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$418K – $1.3MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 26 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$45,000Verified — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$25K – $100K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

The Halal Guys: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$45K$45K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$25K$100K
Equipment, build-out, other$348K$1.2M
Total initial investment$418K$1.3M

Source: The Halal Guys 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$418K – $1.3M
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$25K – $100K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$45K – $45K
Bottom third — review vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

The Halal Guys: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$250
Transfer fee$23K
Renewal fee$23K
Inventory (initial)$10K – $50K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

The Halal Guys makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one The Halal Guys unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $418K–$1.3M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $25K–$100K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$926K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 129 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -9.1% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How The Halal Guys Compares

Metric
The Halal Guys
Category median
vs median
Investment
$864K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
85
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units85Verified — printed on page 68 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-9.1% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate14.1% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
85
Opened
4
Last reporting year
Closed
12
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
14.1%
Company-owned
5
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
94%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-9.1%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-9.1%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
7
Reacquired
1
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
4
0.05 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
17
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
8.2%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Ceased ops
14.1%
Units that stopped operating
2022
88
Franchised units
2023
88±0
Franchised units
2024
80-8
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 16 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

16

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
24
Loan volume
$17.4M
Median loan
$518K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Limited · 24 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 24 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 24 loans
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
14
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
7.6%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
10.8%
n=12,827 loans
Jobs supported
827
5.6 per loan
Lender concentration
24%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 73% went to startups / new businesses, 27% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in limited-service restaurants, franchised businesses charge off at 10.8% vs 10.0% for independents — franchising is associated with 8% higher SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing The Halal Guys franchisees

CRF Small Business Loan Company, LLC5 loans0.0%
First National Bank of Omaha3 loans0.0%
PNC Bank, National Association2 loans—

Showing 3 of 14 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
2
Loan volume
$2.5M
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
52

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for The Halal Guys from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
0.0%
Avg SBA guarantee
74%
Avg interest rate
7.63%
Lender concentration
23.8%
Job velocity
5.6 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
8.7%
NAICS 722513
Jobs supported
827

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 24% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1CRF Small Business Loan Company, LLC5$2.8M0.0%
2First National Bank of Omaha3$1.2M0.0%
3PNC Bank, National Association2$1.1MN/A
4The Huntington National Bank1$300KN/A
5Wilmington Savings Fund Society FSB1$423KN/A
6Truist Bank1$150K0.0%
7TD Bank, National Association1$50K0.0%
8First National Bank of Pennsylvania1$536KN/A
9Citizens Bank1$673KN/A
10Royal Business Bank1$1.2MN/A

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
CACalifornia600.0%
TXTexas600.0%
PAPennsylvania300.0%
VAVirginia200.0%
ILIllinois10--
NCNorth Carolina10--
NVNevada10--
SCSouth Carolina10--

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2017
6
2018
3
2019
4
2020
1
2021
1
2023
1
2024
2
2025
3

Borrower profile

Startup9 (60%)
Ownership change2 (13%)
Existing (2+ yr)2 (13%)
New (< 1 yr)1 (7%)
New (< 2 yr)1 (7%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 24 loans
Verdict score56/100 (higher is better)
Litigation3 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average56Verdict score 56/100

Three litigation matters for an 85-unit system: one settled fraud suit (no franchisor payment), an ongoing FLSA/NYLL wage-and-hour putative class action largely pushed to arbitration, and a third. Positive net worth $238K, $12.3M revenue, $1.13M net income, audited. Concerns: no Item 19 disclosure and a wage class action, plus -9.1% net growth.

High confidence±4 pts
5260

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Two cases disclosed: (1) Dream Big Holdings LLC v. The Halal Guys Franchise Inc. et al. (N.J. Superior Court, Case No. BER-L-001062-22) - franchisee dispute over refused franchise agreement and alleged misrepresentations, settled and dismissed with prejudice on April 22, 2024; (2) Ahmed Hegazy et al. v. The Halal Guys, Inc. et al. (U.S. District Court, S.D.N.Y., 1:22-cv-01880) - ongoing collective action alleging FLSA, NYLL, and WTPA violations regarding overtime, spread of hours pay, uniform reimbursement, tip deductions, and wage notices; conditional certification motion pending with multiple plaintiffs.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Citrin Cooperman & Company, LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $12.4MYr 2: $13.8MTotal: $10.9M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 56 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOR3 matters incl. ongoing FLSA/NYLL wage class action (mostly arbitrated)
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  3. 03MINOR-9.1% net growth
  4. 04MINORPositive equity $238K, $12.3M revenue, net income $1.13M

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 129 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training184 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius0.3 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ20 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ8
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNew York
Litigation count3
View Item 3 litigation summary

Two cases disclosed: (1) Dream Big Holdings LLC v. The Halal Guys Franchise Inc. et al. (N.J. Superior Court, Case No. BER-L-001062-22) - franchisee dispute over refused franchise agreement and alleged misrepresentations, settled and dismissed with prejudice on April 22, 2024; (2) Ahmed Hegazy et al. v. The Halal Guys, Inc. et al. (U.S. District Court, S.D.N.Y., 1:22-cv-01880) - ongoing collective action alleging FLSA, NYLL, and WTPA violations regarding overtime, spread of hours pay, uniform reimbursement, tip deductions, and wage notices; conditional certification motion pending with multiple plaintiffs.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
50 hrs
On-the-job training
134 hrs
Training location
On-site and off-site
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
joint
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Revel
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Revel

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

54 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 54 contacts · $49
Free preview
(484) 679-••••
Unlock all 54 contacts
(817) 793-••••
(404) 748-••••
800-342-••••
(617) 326-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a The Halal Guys franchise?

The total investment to open a The Halal Guys franchise ranges from $418K – $1.3M, with an initial franchise fee of $45K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do The Halal Guys franchise owners earn?

The Halal Guys makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns The Halal Guys?

The Halal Guys is franchised by The Halal Guys Franchise Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is The Halal Guys, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the The Halal Guys FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the The Halal Guys FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is The Halal Guys's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for The Halal Guys (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many The Halal Guys franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, The Halal Guys has 85 total units in the United States, including 80 franchised units and 5 company-owned units. 4 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is The Halal Guys a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates The Halal Guys as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 56 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent The Halal Guys, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.