Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Mama’s Meatball logo

Mama’s Meatball Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsCAFranchising since 2022
CAverageAverage41/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$312K – $467K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01561FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Manager-run OKYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Mama's Meatball is a fast-casual franchise serving signature meatball dishes, sandwiches, and Italian fare. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing food prep, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Mama’s Meatball franchise requires a total initial investment of $312K – $467K, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$312K – $467K
51st pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
1 outlet
Royalty
5.0%
12th pct Service Resta…
Units
1
3rd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$312K – $467K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Median $35K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$30K – $75K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
5.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
1 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $312K – $467K including a $35K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 41/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAGItem 4 discloses a bankruptcy of an officer or of a company an officer ran, not of the franchisor. Review Item 4 for details.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Mama's Meatball Franchise, LLC
CEO title
CEO
Nicola Allegretta
CEO experience
18 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
CA
HQ
570 Higuera Street, Ste. 130, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Auditor
Smith, Buzzi & Associates, LLC.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$526K
Most recent fiscal year

Overview

About

CEO
Nicola Allegretta
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2021
FDD year
2025
States available
0

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 20% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$312K – $467KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$35,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$30K – $75K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown14 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee (Take-Out & Delivery Only Model)not refundable$35K$35K
Traveling and Living Expenses while Training (Take-Out & Delivery Only Model)$3K$8K
Real Property Rent and Security Deposits (Take-Out & Delivery Only Model)$6K$14K
Leasehold Improvements (Take-Out & Delivery Only Model)$100K$150K
Furniture, Fixtures, and Decor (Take-Out & Delivery Only Model)$25K$30K
Initial Inventory (Take-Out & Delivery Only Model)$16K$18K
Signage (Take-Out & Delivery Only Model)$7K$8K
Grand Opening Advertising (Take-Out & Delivery Only Model)$10K$20K
Licenses, Permits, and Certifications (Take-Out & Delivery Only Model)$750$2K
Insurance (3 Months) (Take-Out & Delivery Only Model)$1K$3K
Kitchen Equipment (Take-Out & Delivery Only Model)$60K$80K
TV, Cameras, and Other Supplies (Take-Out & Delivery Only Model)$8K$15K
Professional Fees (Take-Out & Delivery Only Model)$10K$10K
Additional Funds (3 months) (Take-Out & Delivery Only Model)$30K$75K
Total initial investment$312K$467K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$312K – $467K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$30K – $75K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
5.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Mama’s Meatball: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Technology fee$500
Training fee$500
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$16K – $18K
Total fee load5.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Mama’s Meatball makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Mama’s Meatball unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $312K–$467K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $30K–$75K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$442K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 5.0% — below the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Multi-unit rate

Only 9% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Mama’s Meatball Compares

Metric
Mama’s Meatball
Category median
vs median
Investment
$389K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
1
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units1Verified — printed on page 41 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
1
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
8.7%

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
0±0
Franchised units
2024
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

1 current owner across 1 state.

  • CA 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score41/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage41Verdict score 41/100

Mama's Meatball is a pre-revenue or near-failure franchise with only one operating unit, no financial transparency, and going concern issues—representing extreme execution risk.

Low confidence±15 pts
2656

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

Subject: an officer. An officer’s own bankruptcy or a company an officer ran, not the franchisor’s

Nicola and Jackeline Allegretta filed voluntary Chapter 13 petition on February 23, 2015, Case No. 9:15-bk-10345-DS, dismissed April 20, 2020.

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Smith, Buzzi & Associates, LLC.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.5M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Total revenues of $526,177 comprise franchise sales of $0 and fee for service income of $526,177 (from affiliate-related services). Audited statement covers fiscal year ended December 31, 2024 only; prior-year comparatives not audited.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 41 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOROnly 1 unit in system indicates nascent/failing franchise with zero proven scalability or support infrastructure
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 financial disclosures (avg revenue/net income) prevents validation of ROI claims and suggests franchisor may lack performance data
  3. 03MINORHigh investment range ($311.5K-$523.9K) relative to single-unit system creates disproportionate risk with no peer performance benchmarks
  4. 04MINORInability to validate if the 1 existing unit is profitable, franchisee-owned, or company-operated creates transparency gap
  5. 05MINOR10-year term locks franchisee into relationship with unproven business model and potential franchisor collapse
  6. 06MED5% royalty on undisclosed revenues means franchisee cannot model cash flow or break-even scenarios

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 5.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training14 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory radius5 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeNo
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationCalifornia (where franchisor headquarters are located)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawCA
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
14 hrs
On-the-job training
120 hrs
Training location
Affiliate outlet in San Luis Obispo, CA or designated franchisor training center
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
40 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
9 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Toast Homebase POS System
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast Homebase POS System

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1 contacts · $49
Free preview
(805) 544-••••CA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Mama’s Meatball franchise?

The total investment to open a Mama’s Meatball franchise ranges from $312K – $467K, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Mama’s Meatball franchise owners earn?

Mama’s Meatball makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Mama’s Meatball?

Mama’s Meatball is franchised by Mama's Meatball Franchise, LLC. The FDD names no parent company. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Mama’s Meatball FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Mama’s Meatball FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Mama’s Meatball's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Mama’s Meatball (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Mama’s Meatball franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Mama’s Meatball has 1 total units in the United States.

Is Mama’s Meatball a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Mama’s Meatball as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 41 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Mama’s Meatball, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.