Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Lee's Sandwiches logo

Lee's Sandwiches Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsCaliforniaFranchising since 2004
BAbove averageAbove average60/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$210K – $801K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (6)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01475FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent86%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Lee's Sandwiches is a quick-service franchise known for Vietnamese banh mi sandwiches, baguettes, coffee, and smoothies. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing in-house baking, food prep, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Lee's Sandwiches franchise requires a total initial investment of $210K – $801K, including a $50K – $75K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.9% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$210K – $801K
26th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.9%
90th pct Service Resta…
Units
50
65th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$210K – $801K
Median $486K
near median
Franchise Fee
$50K – $75K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$20K – $60K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.9%
Median 5.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
8.9% of rev
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (6)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 6 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
50 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
2.0%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
2 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $210K – $801K including a $50K franchise fee, 6.9% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 60/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 1 closed); 1 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Lee's Sandwiches International, Inc.
Parent company
LCJJ Holdings, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 11 of the 2026 FDD
CEO title
CEO
Chieu Van Le
Incorporated in
California
HQ
660 E. Gish Road, San Jose, California 95112
Auditor
Chu and Waters, LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$2.6M
vs $2.7M prior year

Affiliated brands

  • Lee Bros
  • LQNN
  • has previously offered franchises in this or any other line of business

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Chieu Van Le
Headquarters
California
Founded
2002
FDD year
2026
States available
7

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about typical for a quick-service restaurants franchise (near the category median).

Total investment (Item 7)$210K – $801KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 21 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 21 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.9%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$20K – $60K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Lee's Sandwiches: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$50K$50K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$20K$60K
Equipment, build-out, other$140K$691K
Total initial investment$210K$801K

Source: Lee's Sandwiches 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$210K – $801K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$20K – $60K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $75K
Bottom third — review vs category
Royalty
6.9%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.9%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Lee's Sandwiches: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.9% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$3K
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$5K – $20K
Total fee load8.9% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Lee's Sandwiches makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Lee's Sandwiches unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $210K–$801K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $20K–$60K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$545K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 149 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.9% — above the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -2.2% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Lee's Sandwiches Compares

Metric
Lee's Sandwiches
Category median
vs median
Investment
$505K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
50
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units50Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 59 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-2.2% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate2.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
50
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
2.0%
Company-owned
5
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
90%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-2.2%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-2.2%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
2
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
1
0.02 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
2.1%
Units that stopped operating
2023
47
Franchised units
2024
45-2
Franchised units
2025
45±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 10 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 10 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Michigan

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

58 current owners across 10 states.

  • CA 42
  • NV 3
  • AZ 2
  • CO 2
  • GA 2
  • TX 2
  • VA 2
  • MA 1
  • OK 1
  • OR 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 6 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
6
Loan volume
$4.4M
Median loan
$565K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (6)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 6 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (6)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (6)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
5
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (6)
Verdict score60/100 (higher is better)
Litigation2 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average60Verdict score 60/100

Stagnant franchise system with unresolved franchisor financial concerns, no disclosed unit economics, and documented collection disputes with franchisees — presents material risk to new investors.

High confidence±6 pts
5466

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Lee's Sandwiches Int'l, Inc. and LQNN, Inc. v. David K. Tran, Goldland Capital, Inc., et al. (Orange County CA Superior Court, filed 2018) and related arbitration (ADR Services, Santa Clara County) over a former Nevada franchisee's failure to pay past-due royalties/goods; franchisor and affiliate awarded $703,662.18 in damages plus $425,945.30 attorneys' fees/costs in 2021; franchisee's appeal dismissed 2023; franchisee filed Chapter 7 bankruptcy (case closed Dec 2022); escrowed funds released to franchisor in 2023.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Chu and Waters, LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $2.6MYr 2: $2.7MNon-royalty: $0.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 attaches Exhibit F, the audited financial statements of Lee's Sandwiches International, Inc. for the years ended December 31, 2025, 2024 and 2023 (Chu and Waters, LLP). FY2025: royalty fees $2,383,864 and franchise fees $204,000 (total revenue $2,587,864); net income $536,145; total assets $1,683,377; total liabilities $264,067; equity $1,419,310.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 60 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDSystem shrinking: only 52 units with 2.2% YoY growth indicates stagnation or decline
  2. 02MEDNo Item 19 (financial performance) disclosed — inability or unwillingness to provide revenue/profit data
  3. 03HIGHLitigation history shows franchisee payment defaults and franchisor had to pursue collection through arbitration and bankruptcy
  4. 04MED6.9% royalty on undisclosed revenues makes ROI calculation impossible for prospective franchisees

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 149 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.9% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training328 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ3
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ2
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationSanta Clara County, California
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawCA
Litigation count2
View Item 3 litigation summary

Lee's Sandwiches Int'l, Inc. and LQNN, Inc. v. David K. Tran, Goldland Capital, Inc., et al. (Orange County CA Superior Court, filed 2018) and related arbitration (ADR Services, Santa Clara County) over a former Nevada franchisee's failure to pay past-due royalties/goods; franchisor and affiliate awarded $703,662.18 in damages plus $425,945.30 attorneys' fees/costs in 2021; franchisee's appeal dismissed 2023; franchisee filed Chapter 7 bankruptcy (case closed Dec 2022); escrowed funds released to franchisor in 2023.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
146 hrs
On-the-job training
182 hrs
Training location
Garden Grove, California (Affiliate location)
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
6 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisor_approves
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Brink POS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Brink POS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

58 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 58 contacts · $49
Free preview
(909) 285-••••CA
Unlock all 58 contacts
(562) 809-••••CA
(714) 892-••••CA
(562) 220-••••CA
(310) 920-••••CA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Lee's Sandwiches franchise?

The total investment to open a Lee's Sandwiches franchise ranges from $210K – $801K, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Lee's Sandwiches franchise owners earn?

Lee's Sandwiches makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Lee's Sandwiches?

Lee's Sandwiches is franchised by Lee's Sandwiches International, Inc.. Its parent company is LCJJ Holdings, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Lee's Sandwiches FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Lee's Sandwiches FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Lee's Sandwiches's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Lee's Sandwiches (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Lee's Sandwiches franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Lee's Sandwiches has 50 total units in the United States, including 45 franchised units and 5 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Lee's Sandwiches a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Lee's Sandwiches as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 60 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Lee's Sandwiches, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.