Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Cottage Inn Pizza logo

Cottage Inn Pizza Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsMIFranchising since 2002
AStrongest tierStrongest tier80/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$216K – $500K
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (7)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00638FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Cottage Inn Pizza is a pizza restaurant franchise offering specialty pizzas with dine-in, carryout, and delivery. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing food prep, staffing, and local marketing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Cottage Inn Pizza franchise requires a total initial investment of $216K – $500K, including a $25K – $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. The 2025 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$216K – $500K
28th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Partial period
Royalty
5.0%
12th pct Service Resta…
Units
63
69th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$216K – $500K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $30K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$36K – $45K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (7)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 7 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
63 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $216K – $500K including a $25K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports weekly unit sales rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 80/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +5 franchised outlets in the latest year (5 opened, 0 closed); 8 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 22.2% CAGR over 3 years with 63 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Cottage Inn Franchisor, LLC
Predecessor
Cottage Inn Carryout and Delivery, Inc. (CICD)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President and Chief Financial Officer
Christina Narra
Incorporated in
MI
HQ
4390 Concourse Drive, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48108
Auditor
Lotito & Lazzara, P.C.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$2.9M
Most recent fiscal year

Affiliated brands

  • CI
  • Marketing
  • Commissary
  • Development
  • Delco

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Christina Narra
Headquarters
MI
FDD year
2025
States available
3

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 26% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$216K – $500KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Verified — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$36K – $45K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown10 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$25K$25K
Training Expenses$5K$15K
Opening Inventory and Suppliesnot refundable$15K$25K
Equipment$75K$175K
Leasehold Improvements$30K$150K
Signage$10K$30K
Opening Advertising and Promotionnot refundable$10K$10K
Prepaid Expenses$5K$15K
Three Months' Rent$5K$10K
Additional Funds - 3 Months$36K$45K
Total initial investment$216K$500K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$216K – $500K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$36K – $45K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
4.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Cottage Inn Pizza: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund4.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$15K – $25K
Total fee load9.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typepartial-period revenue
Sample size50

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Cottage Inn Pizza is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Cottage Inn Pizza unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $216K–$500K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $36K–$45K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$399K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Covers a partial period, not a full year

Item 19 type
partial-period revenue
Sample size
50
vs category median 19 · large
Reporting year
2024
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2025
Disclosed in the 2025 filing, covering 2024
Transparency
4 / 10
vs category median 4 / 10 · typical
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank28th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank12th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank69th
vs Quick-Service Restaurants peers
Risk score rank5th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 781 Quick-Service Restaurants brands

Showing the headline figures — all 146 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% — above the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports weekly unit sales rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System expanding at 22.2% CAGR over 3 years across 63 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Cottage Inn Pizza Compares

Metric
Cottage Inn Pizza
Category median
vs median
Investment
$358K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
63
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units63Verified — printed on page 44 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+22.2% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
63
Opened
5
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
8
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
87%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+22.2%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+22.2%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
2
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
8
0.13 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
17
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
0.5%
Owners selling to other franchisees
2022
45
Franchised units
2023
50+5
Franchised units
2024
55+5
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 3 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 3 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

67 current owners across 3 states.

  • MI 63
  • OH 3
  • IN 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 7 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
7
Loan volume
$2.0M
Median loan
$295K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (7)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 7 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (7)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (7)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
5
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$249K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
4

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (7)
Verdict score80/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier80Verdict score 80/100

Cottage Inn Pizza presents moderate-to-cautious risk due to lack of profitability disclosure, thin revenue base, slow growth trajectory, and inconsistent cost structure that limits visibility into realistic franchisee returns.

Moderate confidence±9 pts
7189

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Lotito & Lazzara, P.C.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $2.9MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

FY2024 audited Statement of Income and Member's Equity. Total Revenues 2,903,982 = Royalties 2,692,987 + Franchise and Development Fees 90,000 + Administrative Fees 120,995. Only one audited fiscal year (2024) is presented; franchisor (Cottage Inn Franchisor, LLC) was organized July 2023, so no prior-year comparative. other_revenue reflects 'Other Income' 14,331 (separate Interest Income of 19,552 also reported). Audited by a firm in Macomb, Michigan (report dated August 7, 2025); firm name not present in extracted text.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 80 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNet income not disclosed in FDD Item 19 — impossible to validate profit claims or ROI timeline
  2. 02MEDModest unit growth (10% YoY) with only 63 locations indicates slow expansion and limited brand momentum
  3. 03MINORAverage weekly revenue of $16,843 translates to ~$876K annually — relatively thin margins for pizza franchise model
  4. 04MEDNo 'going concern' qualifier absent suggests potential financial stress or undisclosed franchisor challenges

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 146 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training246 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory sizeℹArea of Primary Responsibility bounded by streets, roads, highways or natural boundaries; extent set by demographics and locations of other Cottage Inn stores
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ1
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationN/A - disputes resolved by litigation in Washtenaw County, Michigan
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawMI
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
6 hrs
On-the-job training
240 hrs
Training location
Corporate Store (Ann Arbor area) and Corporate HQ
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
6 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, franchisor must approve
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Speedline
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Speedline

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

67 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 67 contacts · $49
Free preview
(734) 485-••••MI
Unlock all 67 contacts
(248) 710-••••MI
(248) 524-••••MI
(614) 564-••••OH
(313) 344-••••MI

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Cottage Inn Pizza franchise?

The total investment to open a Cottage Inn Pizza franchise ranges from $216K – $500K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Cottage Inn Pizza franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the Cottage Inn Pizza FDD discloses figures for part of the system but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Cottage Inn Pizza?

Cottage Inn Pizza is franchised by Cottage Inn Franchisor, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Cottage Inn Pizza FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Cottage Inn Pizza FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Cottage Inn Pizza's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Cottage Inn Pizza (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Cottage Inn Pizza franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Cottage Inn Pizza has 63 total units in the United States, including 55 franchised units and 8 company-owned units. 5 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Cottage Inn Pizza a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Cottage Inn Pizza as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 80 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Cottage Inn Pizza, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.