Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict

Buyer Guide

Subway Franchise Cost 2026: Cheapest QSR, Biggest Risk?

Quick answer

Subway costs $239K-$537K to open but charges 12.5% in fees, discloses no revenue, and has lost 1,074 locations in three years. Full 2025 FDD breakdown.

By , founder9 min readReviewed against SBA & FDD data

Subway is the largest franchise system in the United States by unit count. It is also one of the most troubled. The 2025 FDD paints a picture of a system in contraction: 19,502 locations, a -5.2% net unit change over the disclosure period, and 1,054 closures against 435 openings in a single year. Before you write a check, you should understand what those numbers mean for anyone buying in today.

The cost looks cheap. That is the trap.

A Subway franchise costs $238,625 to $536,745 to open, including a $15,000 franchise fee. By QSR standards, that is remarkably affordable. Across QSR franchises in our database, the high end of the Item 7 range averages $911K; Subway's high end is $537K.

Here is the thing though: cheap to buy does not mean cheap to operate. Subway charges an 8.0% royalty on gross sales plus a 4.5% advertising contribution. That is 12.5% of every dollar you bring in going straight to corporate before you pay a single employee or buy a single ingredient. For a QSR system where the category average royalty sits around 5.5%, Subway's fee load is punishing.

What Subway will not tell you about revenue

Subway does not disclose Item 19 financial performance data. That is the section of the FDD where franchisors can share what their units actually earn. Many QSR franchises in our database provide at least some revenue data. Subway provides none.

When a franchise system with 19,502 locations chooses not to disclose revenue or profit data, that is not an oversight. It is a deliberate decision. The absence of Item 19 means you cannot validate any ROI assumptions with verified data. You are flying blind.

Without an Item 19 you cannot put a dollar figure on the 12.5% fee load, because you do not know the sales it is charged on. Every point of it comes off gross sales before food, labor and rent, and gross sales are not profit. Any unit-volume or owner-income figure you hear for Subway comes from outside the FDD; check it against franchisee P&Ls before you rely on it.

The investment breakdown (Item 7)

Cost CategoryLowHigh
Leasehold improvements & equipment$106,785$208,845
Working capital$12,000$42,000
Franchise fee, signage, inventory, training & other——
Total estimated investment$238,625$536,745

The relatively low equipment cost reflects Subway's simple operational model: no fryers, no grills, no drive-through infrastructure. That simplicity keeps initial costs down but also limits menu complexity and average ticket size compared to competitors like Wingstop's franchise model or Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen.

5,097 SBA loans tell a strong story

Subway has more SBA 7(a) loans on file than almost any other franchise brand: 5,097 total. The overall charge-off rate is 6.8%, with 324 defaults.

For context, the QSR category average charge-off rate is 15.5%, so Subway actually outperforms its peer group significantly on this metric. The national franchise average is 16.0%. Despite the shrinking footprint and high fee load, franchisees who take out SBA loans are servicing their debt at better-than-average rates. Compare that to Dairy Queen at 9.1% across 1,547 loans or Domino's at 9.9% across 1,123 loans.

The shrinking footprint

The FDD's Item 20 tables are where the real story lives. Subway reports 19,502 units and a -5.2% net unit change over the disclosure period.

Why? Subway opened 435 outlets and closed 1,054 in the most recent disclosure year. When you see closures outpacing openings by that margin, it signals that existing operators are either struggling with profitability or choosing not to renew.

Roark Capital acquired Subway in 2023. Private equity ownership typically means a focus on fee extraction and margin optimization in the near term. The system is being restructured. Whether that restructuring helps individual franchisees or mostly benefits the parent remains to be seen.

No territory protection

Buried in the franchise agreement: Subway does not provide exclusive territory protection. Your franchise agreement gives you a location, not a market. Subway can open another location across the street, sell products through grocery stores in your area, or license another operator right next to you.

This is particularly brutal for a system with 19,502 locations. In most metro areas, Subway locations already cannibalize each other. Adding another $239K-plus investment into a market without any guarantee that the franchisor will not saturate it further is a significant risk. Check our Subway profile for the full red flag breakdown.

The 20-year term is unusually long

Subway locks franchisees into a 20-year initial term with 20-year renewals. That sounds like stability, but in practice it limits your exit options. If the system continues declining, you are contractually bound to a brand losing market share. The franchise agreement includes a non-compete of 1 year and mandatory arbitration, which tilts dispute resolution in the franchisor's favor.

The ongoing fees add up fast

  • Royalty: 8.0% of gross sales. The QSR average is about 5.5%.
  • Advertising fund: 4.5% of gross sales. Charged on the same top line as the royalty.
  • Technology fee: a monthly charge. Relatively modest compared to other systems.
  • Transfer fee: $7,500. If you try to sell your location, Subway takes a cut.

80 litigation matters

The 2025 FDD discloses 80 litigation matters. That is a high number and includes wrongful termination claims, breach of contract disputes, and allegations of fraudulent inducement. A large franchise system will always have some litigation, but the nature of these cases, particularly the termination and breach claims, suggests ongoing friction between Subway corporate and its operators.

The bottom line

Subway is cheap to buy and expensive to operate. The 12.5% combined fee load, absent Item 19 disclosures, shrinking unit base, and lack of territory protection create a risk profile that does not match the brand recognition. If you have Subway's $239K – $537K to invest in a QSR franchise, there are systems that disclose unit sales, charge lower fee loads, and have growing footprints. Compare options on our QSR screener before signing anything.

The one scenario where Subway might work: acquiring an existing high-performing location at a discount from a motivated seller. But even then, verify the trailing 12-month P&L independently, because Subway will not give you system-wide data to benchmark against.

Related franchise research

Continue your research with our Arby's franchise cost breakdown, Burger King franchise analysis, and best food franchises guide.

Research Subway further

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a Subway franchise cost?
A Subway franchise costs $238,625 to $536,745 to open, per its FDD. This includes a $15,000 franchise fee, leasehold improvements, equipment, and working capital. The investment is among the lowest in the QSR category.
How much does a Subway franchise make?
Subway does not disclose financial performance data (Item 19) in its FDD, so neither unit sales nor owner income can be verified from the filing. What the FDD does show is a 12.5% combined royalty and advertising fee load charged on gross sales, before food, labor and rent. Ask existing franchisees for their P&Ls.
Can you open a Subway with an SBA loan?
Yes. Subway has 5,097 SBA 7(a) loans on file, the largest sample of any franchise. The 6.8% charge-off rate means roughly 1 in 15 defaulted, against a QSR category average of 15.5%. The average Subway SBA loan is $189,791. Check our SBA page for current lending data.
What happens when your Subway franchise agreement expires?
Subway offers a 20-year initial term with 20-year renewals. At renewal, you must meet then-current standards, pay a renewal fee, and sign the current franchise agreement (which may have different terms than your original).