Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen logo

Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsFLFranchising since 1976
AStrongest tierStrongest tier73/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$1.2M – $3.9M
Disclosed sales
$2.0M
gross sales, not profit
SBA charge-off
10.4%
on 332 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02004FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent100%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Popeyes is a quick-service chain built on Louisiana-style fried chicken, its viral chicken sandwich, and Cajun sides. Franchisees operate drive-thru and dine-in restaurants managing staffing, food prep, and costs under RBI standards.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen franchise requires a total initial investment of $1.2M – $3.9M, including a $13K – $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. Per the 2025 FDD, average unit revenue was $2.0M[2]. SBA 7(a) loans show a 10.4% charge-off rate across 332 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2025 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - a newer filing may exist

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored8 of 8 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$1.2M – $3.9M
95th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
$2.0M
32nd pct Service Resta…
Royalty
5.0%
12th pct Service Resta…
Units
3,177
95th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
10.4%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$1.2M – $3.9M
Median $486K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$13K – $50K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$20K – $30K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
$2.0M
Median $975K
above median ↑, better than category
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
10.4%
332 loans · Median 14.3%
below median ↓, better than category
System Size
3,177 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
2.9%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
10 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $1.2M – $3.9M including a $50K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSAverage unit revenue of $2.0M/year (median $1.9M), with an estimated 7% cash-on-cash return (based on EBITDA $3).
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 73/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 10.4% across 332 loans (above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +44 franchised outlets in the latest year (136 opened, 92 closed); 46 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • LEGAL10 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Of these, 5 name the franchisor itself, 5 its parent, affiliates or predecessor. Pending claims are allegations, not findings.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen, Inc.
Parent company
Restaurant Brands International Limited Partnership (RBILP)
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
Restaurant Brands International Inc. (RBI)
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
President, U.S. and Canada
Jeffrey Klein
Incorporated in
MN
HQ
5707 Blue Lagoon Drive, Miami, Florida 33126
Auditor
Not specified in Item 21 text (RBI consolidated financials attached as Exhibit L)
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$8.4B
vs $7.0B prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Affiliated brands

  • Franchising Start Date Restaurant Count

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

3 other brands on this site name Restaurant Brands International Inc. (RBI) as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2025 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Jeffrey Klein
Headquarters
FL
Founded
1972
FDD year
2025
States available
51

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 430% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$1.2M – $3.9MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 39 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Verified — printed on page 24 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 28 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 28 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$20K – $30K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown13 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$50K$50K
Real Estate——
Soft Costs$10K$420K
Site Work$40K$800K
Building$700K$1.6M
FF&E, Signage and Technology$340K$865K
Initial Training$17K$24K
Opening Supplies$13K$26K
Insurance$23K$47K
Utility Deposits$3K$50K
Business Licenses$1K$7K
Sitewise$5K$5K
Additional Funds - 3 months$20K$30K
Total initial investment$1.2M$3.9M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$1.2M – $3.9M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$20K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$13K – $50K
Bottom third — review vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
5.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical
Payback period
14.2 yrs
From FDD / Item 19

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund5.0%
Technology fee$0
Training fee$17K
Transfer fee$8K
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$13K – $26K
Total fee load9.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Average unit sales run 103% above the quick-service restaurants norm.

Avg gross sales$2.0MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 91 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Median gross sales$1.9MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 91 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Item 19 typeAnnual gross sales and EBI…
Sample size2,186 outlets

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

Single-unit · not modelled

Returns at a glance

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit, and the operating costs that turn one into the other are in no filing. We publish no modelled return for Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen until someone supplies them — yours, in the models below.

—

Not modelled yet

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.

Total invested capital · disclosed

$2.6M

Item 7 initial investment plus working capital, as filed — the one figure here that needs no assumption.

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

FDD-reported earnings

The FDD reports $328K as EBITDA $3. This is a disclosed figure, not our estimate — we publish no modelled profit for Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen.

What one unit earns on your invested capital

Model A · Single-Unit Return

Computes unlevered return on invested capital (ROIC) for a single franchise unit, read against the 30–60% reference band · Yale SOM, Post-MBA Path Exhibit 2 (2023). Below that band a passive index fund likely outperforms; above it the franchisor has pricing power you're subsidizing.

Note: Item 19 revenue is what the franchisor discloses, and it is the top line only — gross sales are not profit. No FDD discloses the operating costs that turn one into the other, so those fields start empty and nothing is modelled until you supply them from your own lease quote, labor market and build-out budget.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearFDD
FDD Item 19 reports $1,978,635 per unit
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $1.2M–$3.9M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $20K–$30K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$2.6M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

What 25 units return when you use SBA financing

Model B · Return on Equity: Debt-Financed Acquisition

Models a 25-unit portfolio acquisition financed with an SBA 7(a) loan. Shows equity IRR (your return on cash invested), DSCR (how safely the cash flow covers debt service), and the capital stack (SBA + seller + equity breakdown).

This is the “search fund” or “entrepreneurship through acquisition” scenario: you buy an existing multi-unit operator, use leverage to amplify returns, and either operate or hire management. The 25-unit size is the typical minimum for an SBA-backed franchise portfolio acquisition to pencil as a full-time income.

What “return on equity” means here: if you put in $500K of your own cash and the business generates enough EBITDA to pay down debt and grow, your equity IRR is the annual return on that $500K, including the value created when you eventually sell. Target IRR for a search fund is typically 25–35%.

Not modelled yet

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.

A 25-unit return is built on a per-unit EBITDA. Fill in the operating costs in Model A above and this model runs on that figure, or take the whole scenario to the full ROI workbench, where the portfolio and LBO models accept your own per-unit economics directly.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Avg gross sales
$2.0M
Per unit, per year
Median gross sales
$1.9M
Avg ebitda $3
$328K
Reported as EBITDA $3 in FDD Item 19
Cash-on-cash
7.0%
Based on EBITDA $3 / investment midpoint

Gross sales are revenue before expenses — not profit. Actual owner earnings depend on rent, labor, royalties, marketing fees, and debt service.

Item 19 type
Annual gross sales and EBITDA by restaurant format and sales tier, fiscal year 2024
Sample size
2,186 outlets
vs category median 19 · large
Range (low → high)
$255K→$6.2MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 91 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Cohort dispersion (min → max)
Reporting year
2024
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2025
Disclosed in the 2025 filing, covering 2024
Transparency
9 / 10
vs category median 4 / 10 · above
Gross sales rank32th
Item 19 reporting methods vary across brands
Investment cost rank95th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank12th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank95th
vs Quick-Service Restaurants peers
Risk score rank13th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 781 Quick-Service Restaurants brands

Showing the headline figures — all 162 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →
Revenue insight

Revenue is only 0.8x the investment. This means each unit may take 5+ years to recoup the initial outlay at typical margins.

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Unit economics

Average unit generates $2.0M/year in gross sales. Revenue-to-investment ratio: 0.8x.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% — above the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

Transparency score 9/10 — this franchisor discloses detailed breakdowns (quartiles, segments, or cohort data). Buyers can model unit economics with higher confidence.

Operator retention

System expanding at 6.0% CAGR over 3 years across 3,177 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen Compares

Metric
Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen
Category median
vs median
Investment
$2.6M
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
$2.0M
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
Above median, better than category
Unit Count
3,177
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units3,177Verified — printed on page 104 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+6.0% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate2.9% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
3,177
Opened
136
Last reporting year
Closed
92
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
8
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
2.9%
Company-owned
98
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
97%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+6.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+6.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
8
Transferred
125
Reacquired
58
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
46
0.01 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
133
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
3.9%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Termination rate
1.9%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
3.1%
Units that stopped operating
2022
2,905
Franchised units
2023
3,035+130
Franchised units
2024
3,079+44
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 49 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 49 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • California
  • Illinois
  • Michigan
  • New York
  • Wisconsin

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

3,210 current owners across 49 states; 36 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

  • TX 431
  • CA 285
  • NY 242
  • FL 222
  • GA 175
  • IL 154
  • LA 154
  • PA 119
  • NJ 107
  • MD 100
  • VA 99
  • OH 82
  • +37 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

B
SBA Lending Health
Strong SBA lending record · 10.4% charge-off
Total loans
332
Loan volume
$231.7M
Median loan
$840K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
10.4%
on 332 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
89.6%
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
92
Defaults
23
Typical loan rate
6.3%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
10.8%
brand beats franchise avg ↓
Jobs supported
2,743
3.3 per loan
Lender concentration
14%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 58% went to startups / new businesses, 42% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in limited-service restaurants, franchised businesses charge off at 10.8% vs 10.0% for independents — franchising is associated with 8% higher SBA default risk in this category.

Vintage analysis

Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 7 vintages from 2014 to 2021. Rates range from 0.0% to 0.0%.0%5%10%'14'15'16'17'18'20'21

Top lenders financing Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen franchisees

Byline Bank10 loans0.0%
Cadence Bank6 loans0.0%
The Huntington National Bank4 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 92 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
44
Loan volume
$30.0M
Charge-off rate
0.0%
Jobs created
902

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
0.0%
Avg SBA guarantee
74%
Avg interest rate
6.31%
Lender concentration
14.1%
Job velocity
3.3 per $100K
Startup risk premium
0.0pp
NAICS benchmark
8.7%
NAICS 722513
Jobs supported
2,743

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 14% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Byline Bank10$9.9M0.0%
2Cadence Bank6$4.1M0.0%
3The Huntington National Bank4$4.2M0.0%
4Wells Fargo Bank National Association4$3.9M0.0%
5Peapack Private Bank and Trust4$4.7M0.0%
6JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association3$333K0.0%
7TD Bank, National Association2$2.9M0.0%
8Commercial Bank of California2$4.0MN/A
9NewBank2$1.3M0.0%
10Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company2$485K0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
CACalifornia1100.0%
ILIllinois1000.0%
ALAlabama500.0%
NYNew York500.0%
FLFlorida400.0%
DCWashington DC300.0%
MIMichigan300.0%
NCNorth Carolina300.0%
TXTexas30--
ARArkansas200.0%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2014
10
2015
12
2016
7
2017
10
2018
8
2019
2
2020
5
2021
5
2022
1
2023
4
2024
1
2025
4
2026
2

Borrower profile

Startup17 (55%)
Existing (2+ yr)7 (23%)
Unanswered3 (10%)
Ownership change3 (10%)
New (< 1 yr)1 (3%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 10.4% — 35% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off10.4% · 332 loans
Verdict score73/100 (higher is better)
Litigation10 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier73Verdict score 73/100

Popeyes presents meaningful caution-level risk due to negligible unit growth, active multi-jurisdictional litigation, undisclosed financial reporting, and questionable return on investment timeline despite an established brand.

High confidence±4 pts
6977

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Two pending cases against PLK: (1) Khalid Zia Syed related to Toronto restaurant closures (Oct 2024, ONT); (2) Pinnacle Foods CA development agreement dispute (filed Dec 2020, franchisee in bankruptcy). PLK initiated: (3) v. Florida Pop LLC trademark enforcement (filed Oct 2023, settled Mar 2024). Concluded against PLK: (4) Elite Cajun Foods (settled Mar 2019). Multi-jurisdictional no-poach settlements with 13+ state AGs (Feb 2020, no money paid). Several affiliate cases (BK, TH) where PLK is not a party.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Not specified in Item 21 text (RBI consolidated financials attached as Exhibit L)

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $8406.0MYr 2: $7022.0MNon-royalty: $1187.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 financial statements are the audited consolidated statements of Restaurant Brands International Inc. (RBI) and subsidiaries, the guarantor of franchisor obligations (default guarantor; RBILP guarantees in CA/IL/MD/ND/RI/VA/WA). The franchisor Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen, Inc. provides only an unaudited shell balance sheet, so RBI's consolidated audited statements are used. All figures reported in millions of USD and scaled to whole dollars (x1,000,000). FY2024: total revenues $8,406M (supply chain $2,708M, company restaurant sales $1,592M, franchise & property $2,919M, advertising & other $1,187M); total net income $1,445M (incl. $424M noncontrolling interests; net income attributable to common shareholders $1,021M). Balance sheet reconciles: assets $24,632M = liabilities $19,789M + total shareholders' equity $4,843M (which includes $1,733M noncontrolling interests; RBI Inc. shareholders' equity alone $3,110M).

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 73 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORStagnant unit growth (1.4% YoY) suggests market saturation or franchisee underperformance, raising concerns about expansion viability
  2. 02MINORMultiple active litigation cases including class actions and antitrust allegations (no-poach violations) indicate systemic governance and compliance issues
  3. 03HIGHParent company RBI litigation involvement suggests corporate-level problems that could cascade to franchisees through policy changes or brand damage
  4. 04MINORHigh investment ceiling ($3.9M) relative to modest net income ($328K) yields 11-12 year payback period at best, concerning for ROI confidence
  5. 05HIGHBreach of development agreement litigation suggests franchisor enforcement inconsistency and potential territorial/growth restriction conflicts

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 162 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

Litigation case detail10 matters · Item 3

Litigation cases

The franchisor

Pending (2)

  • Khalid Zia Syed, 14111109 Canada Inc., 14111290 Canada Inc., 14111168 Canada Inc, and 141111231 Canada Inc. v. Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen Inc., Rob Manuel, Tariq Shah, Shah & Shah Lawyers, Khurram Hafeez, Shazia Qureshi, Re/Max Real Estate Centre Inc. and Javid Ali

    pending

    Brought by a franchisee · filed 2024-10-23 · Ontario Superior Court of Justice · CV-00729046-0000

    “Khalid Zia Syed, 14111109 Canada Inc., 14111290 Canada Inc., 14111168 Canada Inc, and 141111231 Canada Inc. v. Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen Inc., Rob Manuel, Tariq Shah, Shah & Shah Lawyers, Khurram Hafeez, Shazia Qureshi, Re/Max Real Estate Centre Inc. and Javid Ali, (File No. CV- 00729046-0000), Ontario Superior Court of Justice , filed on October 23, 2024.”Page 19 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3
  • Pinnacle Foods of California, LLC v. Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen, Inc.

    pending

    Brought by a franchisee · filed 2020-12-31 · Superior Court of the State of California for the County of Los Angeles; removed to U.S. District Court for the Central District of California; transferred to U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida · 2OSTCV49914 (C.D. Cal. 2;21-cv-02050; S.D. Fla. 1:21-cv-21555)

    “Pinnacle Foods of California, LLC v. Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen, Inc., (Case No. 2OSTCV49914), Superior Court of the State of California for the County of Los Angeles, filed on December 31, 2020”Page 19 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“Plaintiff also filed a motion in limine which Popeyes opposed, and Popeyes filed a motion to have facts asserted by Popeyes in support of its motion for summary judgment deemed admitted, which has been opposed by Plaintiff. The above-described motion for summary judgment and related motions remain pending.”

Concluded (3)

  • Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen, Inc. v. Florida Pop, LLC, Pop Restaurant Holdings, LLC and Guillermo Perales

    settled

    Brought against a franchisee · filed 2023-10-16 · United States District Court for the Southern District of Florida · 23-cv-23955

    “Unauthorized Trademark Usage Enforcement: Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen, Inc. v. Florida Pop, LLC, Pop Restaurant Holdings, LLC and Guillermo Perales, United States District Court for the Southern District of Florida, Case No. 23-cv-23955, filed on October 16, 2023.”Page 21 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“On March 27, 2024, the parties entered a settlement which resulted in the sale of almost all of Defendants’ Florida restaurants to an approved buyer and the payment of our attorneys’ fees and costs. On April 29, 2024, the Court entered an order granting the motion to dismiss the case.”

  • Multi-Jurisdictional No-Poach Settlements (state Attorneys General)

    settled

    Government or regulatory action · filed 2020 · State Attorneys General: Massachusetts, California, Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and the District of Columbia

    “In February 2020, we entered into a Settlement Agreement with the states of Massachusetts, California, Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and the District of Columbia.”Page 22 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“None of the parties paid any money under the Settlement Agreements. These states enforced the settlement agreements through Final Judgments and Orders, Assurances of Discontinuance, Assurances of Voluntary Compliance and similar methods.”

  • Elite Cajun Foods II, LLC v. Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen, Inc.

    settled

    Brought by a franchisee · filed 2019-02-08 · United States District Court for the Northern District of California (removed from Superior Court, County of Contra Costa, Case No. C19-00010) · 3:19-cv-00706

    “Elite Cajun Foods II, LLC v. Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen, Inc., (Case No. 3:19-cv-00706), United States District Court for the Northern District of California, filed February 8, 2019.”Page 21 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“On March 26, 2019, a settlement agreement was executed and the Plaintiff closed five of the six restaurants, and Plaintiff filed a notice of voluntary dismissal of the case with prejudice.” (page 22)

Parent, affiliates and predecessor

Pending (4)

  • Jonathan Deschatelets v Restaurant Brands International Inc., Restaurant Brands International Limited Partnership and The TDL Group Corp.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · Restaurant Brands International Inc. and Restaurant Brands International Limited Partnership (parents) and The TDL Group Corp. (affiliate) · filed 2024-04-19 · Superior Court of Quebec · 500-06-001306-246

    “Jonathan Deschatelets v Restaurant Brands International Inc., Restaurant Brands International Limited Partnership and The TDL Group Corp., (File No. 500-06-001306-246), Superior Court of Quebec, filed on April 19, 2024. On April 19, 2024, Jonathan Deschatelets filed a class action lawsuit against Defendants before the Superior Court of Quebec.”Page 20 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The certification hearing of the class action is scheduled for May 20, 2025. We are not a party to this litigation.” (page 21)

  • Plymouth County Retirement Association, Scott Hamparian, Emad Tadros and Zeiad Tadros V. Restaurant Brands International Inc., Matthew Perelman and Alexander Sloane

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · Restaurant Brands International Inc. (RBI), with individual directors Matthew Perelman and Alexander Sloane · filed 2024-10-07 · Court of Chancery of State of Delaware · C.A. No 2024 – 1030

    “Plymouth County Retirement Association, Scott Hamparian, Emad Tadros and Zeiad Tadros V. Restaurant Brands International Inc., Matthew Perelman and Alexander Sloane, (C.A. No 2024 – 1030), Court of Chancery of State of Delaware, filed on October 7, 2024.”Page 21 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“RBI filed a motion to dismiss in December 2024 and the Plaintiffs filed an amended complaint in February 2025. RBI filed an amended motion to dismiss on March 14, 2025. We are not a party to this litigation.”

  • Olympia Tile International Inc. vs. Restaurant Brands International Inc., The TDL Group Corp., Ricky Leem and Gesco Limited Partnership

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · Restaurant Brands International Inc. (RBI, general partner of PLK's indirect parent RBILP) and The TDL Group Corp. (affiliate) · filed 2020-09-25 · Ontario Court of Justice (Statement of Claim filed in the Ontario Superior Court of Justice) · CV-20-00648343-0000

    “Olympia Tile International Inc. vs. Restaurant Brands International Inc., The TDL Group Corp., Ricky Leem and Gesco Limited Partnership, (File No. CV-20-00648343-0000), Ontario Court of Justice filed on September 25, 2020. On September 25, 2020, Plaintiff Filed a Statement of Claim in the Ontario Superior Court of Justice against Defendants.”Page 20 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“Defendants received Plaintiff’s Response to its Demand for Particulars on April 14, 2021 and filed a Statement of Defense on June 28, 2021. We are not a party to this litigation.”

  • Arrington v. Burger King Worldwide, Inc.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · BK Corporation (Burger King Corporation) and affiliates incl. Burger King Worldwide, Inc. · filed 2019-03-15 · United States District Court for the Southern District of Florida · 18-24128-CV-MARTINEZ/AOR

    “Arrington v. Burger King Worldwide, Inc., (Case No. 18-24128-CV-MARTINEZ/AOR), United States District Court for the Southern District of Florida, filed on March 15, 2019.”Page 20 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“On August 31, 2022, the federal appellate court reversed the lower court’s decision to dismiss the case and remanded the case to the lower court for further proceedings.”

Concluded (1)

  • PLK APAC PTE. Ltd. and Restaurant Brands International, Inc. v. Popeyes Shanghai Restaurant Management Co. Ltd.; TFI TAB Gida Yatirimlari A.Ş.; and TFI Asia Holdings B.V.

    settled

    Brought against a franchisee · PLK APAC PTE. Ltd. (affiliate) and Restaurant Brands International, Inc. (parent) · filed 2021-03-12 · International Chamber of Commerce, International Court of Arbitration (Singapore) · ICC CASE NO. 26121/HTG

    “PLK APAC PTE. Ltd. and Restaurant Brands International, Inc. v. Popeyes Shanghai Restaurant Management Co. Ltd.; TFI TAB Gida Yatirimlari A.Ş.; and TFI Asia Holdings B.V., (International Chamber of Commerce, International Court of Arbitration, ICC CASE NO. 26121/HTG) filed on March 12, 2021.”Page 22 of the 2025 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The parties reached a confidential settlement which was acknowledged by the ICC pursuant to an Award by Consent dated June 20, 2022. We are not a party to this litigation.”

Item 3 lists the litigation the franchisor must disclose; a matter against a parent, an affiliate or a named officer is not a matter against the franchisor, and pending claims are allegations, not findings.

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training126 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius1 mi
Territory population50,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window20 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ1
Curable defaultsℹ5
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationMiami, Florida (litigation venue)
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawFL
Litigation count10
View Item 3 litigation summary

Two pending cases against PLK: (1) Khalid Zia Syed related to Toronto restaurant closures (Oct 2024, ONT); (2) Pinnacle Foods CA development agreement dispute (filed Dec 2020, franchisee in bankruptcy). PLK initiated: (3) v. Florida Pop LLC trademark enforcement (filed Oct 2023, settled Mar 2024). Concluded against PLK: (4) Elite Cajun Foods (settled Mar 2019). Multi-jurisdictional no-poach settlements with 13+ state AGs (Feb 2020, no money paid). Several affiliate cases (BK, TH) where PLK is not a party.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
10 hrs
On-the-job training
116 hrs
Training location
Certified Training Restaurant and other designated locations
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee selects subject to franchisor approval; franchisor selects in PL (land/building lease) situations
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

3,246 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 3,246 contacts · $49
Free preview
(401) 337-••••RI
Unlock all 3,246 contacts
(212) 781-••••NY
(318) 325-••••LA
(804) 210-••••VA
(281) 789-••••TX

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen franchise?

The total investment to open a Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen franchise ranges from $1.2M – $3.9M, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen franchise owners earn?

According to Item 19 of the Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen FDD, the average gross sales per unit is $2.0M. The median is $1.9M. Note: this is gross revenue, not profit. Actual owner earnings vary based on location, operating costs, and management.

Who owns Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen?

Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen is franchised by Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen, Inc.. Its parent company is Restaurant Brands International Limited Partnership (RBILP). The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Restaurant Brands International Inc. (RBI). Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen has a charge-off rate of 10.4% across 332 loans, meaning 10.4% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen has 3,177 total units in the United States, including 3,079 franchised units and 98 company-owned units. 136 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 73 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.