Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict

Analysis

Dairy Queen Franchise Cost: Beloved Brand, Real Defaults

Quick answer

Dairy Queen's investment range, Item 19 gross sales and elevated SBA charge-off rate from its FDD. The seasonal risk and territory gap nobody warns you of.

By , founder8 min readReviewed against SBA & FDD data

Dairy Queen is one of those franchises where the brand sentiment runs about 50 years ahead of the financial data. Everyone has childhood memories of Blizzards and dip cones. Not everyone has looked at the FDD. If they did, they would find a total investment of $1,510,100 to $2,550,100, average gross sales of $1,485,731, and an SBA charge-off rate of 9.1% across a large sample of 1,547 loans. The nostalgia is strong. The numbers are complicated.

A $2.6M ceiling for an ice cream shop?

The investment range reflects the difference between Dairy Queen's formats. The system operates everything from small treat-only stores to full Grill & Chill restaurants with dine-in seating, drive-through lanes, and complete kitchen buildouts. The high end of the range is for the latter. The table shows the Item 7 lines we carry; the full table also covers building, site work, signage and opening costs.

Cost CategoryLowHigh
Franchise fee$45,000$45,000
Equipment, soft serve machines & kitchen$550,000$700,000
Working capital$51,000$198,000
Total estimated investment$1,510,100$2,550,100

The $45,000 franchise fee is modest. The buildout is not. The full range of $1.5M – $2.6M puts it in the same territory as Wendy's ($1.6M – $3.1M) and Burger King ($2.2M – $3.3M). You are paying burger-chain prices for a concept that also sells frozen treats. Whether that diversification justifies the cost depends on your market.

9.1% SBA charge-off rate: the number you cannot ignore

This is the single most important data point in the Dairy Queen FDD analysis. Across 1,547 SBA 7(a) loans, the charge-off rate is 9.1%. That is 1,547 loans, not a small sample. This is one of the largest SBA datasets for any franchise brand, and it shows that roughly 1 in 11 Dairy Queen franchisees who took out government-backed loans defaulted.

The QSR category average is 15.5%. Dairy Queen's rate is slightly below the national franchise average of 16.0%. Among the brands we cover in this series:

  • Wendy's: N/A (99 loans)
  • Jersey Mike's: 4.4% (667 loans)
  • KFC: 11.0% (173 loans)
  • Subway: 6.8% (5,097 loans)
  • Burger King: 7.3% (275 loans)
  • Dunkin': 7.5% (1,341 loans)
  • Domino's: 9.9% (1,123 loans)
  • Dairy Queen: 9.1% (1,547 loans)
  • Arby's: 18.2% (198 loans)

Dairy Queen sits in the middle of this list, below the QSR category average. On a sample of over 1,547 loans, that is not statistical noise. It reflects real challenges in the unit economics, particularly around seasonality and the dual food-and-treat operational model.

$1.5M average gross sales: decent on paper

Average gross sales of $1,485,731 are respectable. Against Arby's ($1.3M), Sonic ($1.6M), Papa John's ($1.1M), it is ahead of 2 of 3. Gross sales are not profit, and net income is not disclosed. The FDD gives you the top line and nothing else.

Dairy Queen's economics are tricky because the concept has two revenue centers: food and frozen treats. Food runs restaurant-standard food costs. Frozen treats have better margins on paper but require specialized equipment and have significant seasonal variability. In northern markets, much of a Dairy Queen's treat revenue is concentrated in the summer months. That seasonality creates cash flow challenges the rest of the year.

The seasonality problem nobody mentions

Ice cream is seasonal. This is obvious, but its impact on franchise economics is underappreciated. A Dairy Queen in Minnesota or Wisconsin (where the brand has deep roots) might do several times as much treat business from May through August as from November through February. The royalty and advertising fees are calculated on annual gross sales, but the cash flow is highly uneven.

Fixed costs (rent, insurance, base labor) do not follow the same seasonal curve. You pay them year-round. The 9.1% SBA charge-off rate may partly reflect franchisees who could not bridge the gap between summer highs and winter lows.

Fees: 9.0% combined is above average

Dairy Queen's fee structure: a 4.0% royalty and 5.0% advertising fund for a combined 9.0% of gross sales, above the quick-service average of 7.2%. On $1.5M (outlet subset) in average gross sales, those two fees total about $134K per year.

Compare that to Little Caesars at 13.0%, Subway at 12.5%, McDonald's at 9.0% (royalty plus ad fund, before rent).

Berkshire Hathaway ownership

Dairy Queen is owned by Berkshire Hathaway, Warren Buffett's conglomerate. This provides brand stability and financial backing that independent franchise systems lack. The parent company is not going to run out of capital or get acquired by private equity with different incentives.

But Berkshire ownership does not guarantee franchisee profitability. The parent company benefits from royalty and fee streams regardless of individual unit performance. The 9.1% SBA charge-off rate happened under Berkshire's watch.

Stagnant growth and territory concerns

Net unit growth is +0.8%, essentially flat. The FDD indicates the territory is unprotected, which means Dairy Queen can open additional locations or sell through alternative channels within your market area.

For a seasonal concept where summer traffic is critical, having an unprotected territory is particularly risky. A new Dairy Queen two miles away splits your peak-season revenue in half during the four months that make or break your year.

The bottom line

Dairy Queen is a beloved brand with real challenges underneath the Blizzard machine. The 9.1% SBA charge-off rate across 1,547 loans is too large a sample to dismiss. The seasonality risk, unprotected territory, and undisclosed net income compound the concern.

If you are looking at Dairy Queen, the format and the market's year-round traffic matter most. Review the complete data on our Dairy Queen profile and compare it against other options on the QSR screener before committing.

Related franchise research

Continue your research with our best food franchises guide, best franchise ROI analysis, and Arby's franchise cost breakdown.

Research Dairy Queen further

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a Dairy Queen franchise cost?
A Dairy Queen franchise costs $1,510,100 to $2,550,100 to open, per its FDD. The franchise fee is $45,000. The high end of the range is for full Grill & Chill restaurants with dine-in seating and a drive-through.
How much does a Dairy Queen franchise make?
Dairy Queen reports average gross sales of $1.5M (outlet subset). Gross sales are not profit, and net income is not disclosed.
Is Dairy Queen better in urban or suburban markets?
Dairy Queen has historically performed best in suburban and rural markets where it serves as a community gathering place. The seasonal nature of ice cream sales is more pronounced in northern markets, creating significant revenue variation between summer and winter months.
What is Dairy Queen's territory protection policy?
Dairy Queen provides limited territory protection. The specific terms depend on the format (Grill & Chill vs. treat-only locations). With 1,985 locations in its FDD, many markets are already well-penetrated, which limits new development opportunities in prime territories.