Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Ume Tea logo

Ume Tea Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsCAFranchising since 2024
BAbove averageAbove average48/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$161K – $427K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02841FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Ume Tea is a bubble tea franchise serving milk teas, fruit teas, and boba drinks. Franchisees run the shops, managing drink prep, ingredient inventory, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Ume Tea franchise requires a total initial investment of $161K – $427K, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 4.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2024. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$161K – $427K
13th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
4.0%
3rd pct Service Resta…
Units
13
43rd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$161K – $427K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$30K – $50K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
4.0%
Median 5.5%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
6.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
13 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $161K – $427K including a $30K franchise fee, 4.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 48/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +2 franchised outlets in the latest year (2 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
UMETEACA Inc
Ultimate parent
Umeteagroup Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Chief Operations Officer
Zuoda Wang
Incorporated in
California
HQ
3047 Teagarden Street, San Leandro, California 94577
Auditor
CliftonLarsonAllen LLP
Audited financials

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Affiliated brands

  • Umeteagroup

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Zuoda Wang
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2024
FDD year
2025
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 39% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$161K – $427KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$30K – $50K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Ume Tea: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$30K$30K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$30K$50K
Equipment, build-out, other$101K$347K
Total initial investment$161K$427K

Source: Ume Tea 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$161K – $427K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$30K – $50K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
4.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Ume Tea: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty4.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$300
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$5K
Total fee load6.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Ume Tea makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Ume Tea unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $161K–$427K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $30K–$50K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$334K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 151 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% — below the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Ume Tea Compares

Metric
Ume Tea
Category median
vs median
Investment
$294K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
13
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units13Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 54 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
13
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
11
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
15%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
2
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
0±0
Franchised units
2024
2+2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 2 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

2

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

0 current owners across 0 states; 1 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

    Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

    SBA loan performance

    Government records

    SBA Loan Data

    Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

    No SBA loan data available for this brand.

    What could kill this investment?

    SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
    Verdict score48/100 (higher is better)
    Litigation1 cases
    Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

    Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

    Risk analysis

    FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

    Risk & Legal

    BAbove average48Verdict score 48/100

    New franchisor (began 2024) facing an active fraud/franchise-law lawsuit (Xiosheng Cai v. Umetea, seeking $600,000) against a tiny 13-unit system with only 2 franchised units. Financials are parent-level (net worth $111K, net income $11K) so brand-level operations are undisclosed, and there is no Item 19. The active fraud/franchise-violation suit against such a small base is the main concern.

    Moderate confidence±13 pts
    3561

    Litigation (Item 3)

    Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

    Xiosheng Cai v. Umetea Inc. et al., Santa Clara County Superior Court, Case No. 24CV442084, filed June 27, 2024. Plaintiff claims to be franchisee alleging breach of franchise agreement, fraud, franchise law violations, tortious interference, and unfair competition. Seeks $600,000 in compensatory damages and punitive damages. Defendants deny wrongdoing. Motion to dismiss pending.

    Bankruptcy (Item 4)

    None disclosed

    Audited financials (Item 21)

    Yes · CliftonLarsonAllen LLP

    Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

    Total: $0.0M

    Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

    ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

    Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

    • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
    • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
    • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
    • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
    • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

    Score breakdown · what drove the 48 / 100 verdict

    1. 01HIGHActive litigation alleging fraud and franchise law violations, $600,000 sought
    2. 02MINORVery small system: 13 units, only 2 franchised
    3. 03MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
    4. 04MINORParent-level financials only
    5. 05MINOREarly-stage franchisor (2024)

    Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

    Showing the headline figures — all 151 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

    Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

    What are you signing up for?

    Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

    Initial term5 yrs
    Renewal term5 yrs
    TerritoryNone (caution)
    Initial training73 hrs

    Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

    FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

    Contract & Territory Detail

    Initial term5 years
    Renewal term5 years
    Allowed renewalsℹ1
    Protected territoryNo
    Exclusive territoryℹNo
    Online sales rightsℹRestricted
    Franchisor can competeYes
    Hire a manager?Allowed
    Owner-operatorRequired
    Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
    Non-compete (miles)ℹ20 mi
    Right of first refusalℹYes
    Transfer requires consentYes
    Termination notice10 days
    Curable defaultsℹ4
    Mandatory arbitrationNo
    Jury trial waiverYes
    Governing lawCalifornia
    Litigation count1
    View Item 3 litigation summary

    Xiosheng Cai v. Umetea Inc. et al., Santa Clara County Superior Court, Case No. 24CV442084, filed June 27, 2024. Plaintiff claims to be franchisee alleging breach of franchise agreement, fraud, franchise law violations, tortious interference, and unfair competition. Seeks $600,000 in compensatory damages and punitive damages. Defendants deny wrongdoing. Motion to dismiss pending.

    Items 10, 11

    Training & Operations

    Classroom training
    21 hrs
    On-the-job training
    52 hrs
    Training location
    corporate office or Affiliate-Owned Ume Tea Store in Mountain View, California; Cupertino, California; or Milpitas, California
    Ongoing training
    Required
    Time to open
    12 mo
    From signing to launch
    Site selection
    Franchisee selects, subject to franchisor approval
    Franchisor financing
    Offered
    Item 10
    POS system
    Toast
    Operating tech stack

    Items 5 & 11

    Franchisor Support

    ✓Site selection assistance
    ✓Grand opening support
    ✓Lease negotiation help

    Technology: Toast

    Item 20 · call current owners

    Franchisee Contacts

    1 owners to call

    Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

    Unlock 1 contacts · $49

    Frequently asked questions

    Frequently Asked Questions

    How much does it cost to open a Ume Tea franchise?

    The total investment to open a Ume Tea franchise ranges from $161K – $427K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

    What do Ume Tea franchise owners earn?

    Ume Tea makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

    Who owns Ume Tea?

    Ume Tea is franchised by UMETEACA Inc. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Umeteagroup Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

    What is Item 19 in the Ume Tea FDD?

    The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Ume Tea FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

    What is Ume Tea's franchise failure rate?

    SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Ume Tea (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

    How many Ume Tea franchise locations are there?

    As of their most recent FDD filing, Ume Tea has 13 total units in the United States, including 2 franchised units and 11 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

    Is Ume Tea a good franchise to buy?

    FranchiseVerdict rates Ume Tea as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 48 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

    Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

    For franchisors

    Are you the franchisor?

    If you represent Ume Tea, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

    Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

    Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

    Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.