Analysis
Five Guys Franchise Cost: $1M In, Zero Revenue Disclosed
Quick answer
Five Guys costs $928K-$1.38M but does not disclose revenue or profit data. The FDD has a transparency gap that every prospective buyer should understand.
SBA charge-off rate by franchise category
Five Guys asks you to invest at least $928K but refuses to tell you what you will earn. That single fact should define how you evaluate this franchise.
The investment: $927,850 to $1,375,750
The 2025 FDD Item 7 discloses a total initial investment of $927,850 to $1,375,750. The franchise fee is $25,000. Here is where that money goes:
| Cost Category | Low | High |
|---|---|---|
| Equipment & fixtures | $300,000 | $400,000 |
| Working capital | $20,000 | $25,000 |
| Franchise fee, leasehold improvements, signage, inventory & other | — | — |
| Total estimated investment | $927,850 | $1,375,750 |
That puts Five Guys in the upper tier of QSR investments. Across QSR franchises in our database, the high end of the Item 7 range averages $911K; Five Guys' low end alone is $928K. You are paying a premium for the brand, and the question is whether you can verify the return.
No Item 19: the critical gap
Five Guys does not disclose financial performance data in its FDD. No average gross sales. No median sales. No net income figures. Nothing.
For a franchise asking $1.4M at the high end, this is a significant omission. The FDD is designed to give prospective franchisees enough information to make an informed investment decision. Choosing not to disclose what units actually earn makes that evaluation substantially harder.
Unit-volume estimates for Five Guys circulate outside the FDD, but you cannot verify any of them from the franchise disclosure, and Five Guys will not confirm or deny them during the sales process.
6.0% royalty on gross sales
Five Guys charges a 6.0% royalty on gross sales plus a 2.0% advertising contribution. That 8.0% combined fee load compares with a QSR average of 7.3% when you include advertising. Every point of it is charged on gross sales, which Five Guys does not disclose.
The royalty itself is reasonable for a brand of this stature. For comparison: Crumbl 8.0%, Subway 8.0%, Wingstop 6.0% and McDonald's 5.0%. The 2.0% advertising contribution is actually modest, though Five Guys has historically relied more on word-of-mouth and earned media than paid advertising.
SBA data: small sample, 0 defaults
Five Guys has 35 SBA 7(a) loans on file with a N/A charge-off rate. The average loan size of $1,236,877 is consistent with the investment level.
0 defaults sounds great, but 35 loans is a small sample. For comparison, Subway has 5,097 loans at 6.8% and Dairy Queen has 1,547 loans at 9.1%, which are statistically meaningful samples.35 loans at N/A is encouraging but not conclusive. What it does tell us is that the operators who got SBA financing were capitalized well enough to service their debt, which aligns with Five Guys' strict financial requirements.
Growth has stalled
Five Guys has 1,558 locations in its FDD's Item 20. Franchised units changed a net +5.1% across the three years Item 20 reports (35 openings against 14 closures in the most recent year), against a QSR average of +17.0% across our database.
For a brand that is not yet at the saturation point of a McDonald's or Subway, that growth is tepid. It suggests either limited franchisee demand (possibly due to the high investment and absent Item 19) or selective development by corporate. Five Guys has historically been conservative about expansion compared to peers.
The franchise agreement
Key terms from the 2025 FDD:
- Term: 10 years with 10-year renewal.
- Territory: contiguous property. You get the physical location, not a radius or population-based exclusive area. This is minimal protection.
- Manager-run: not allowed. Five Guys requires the franchisee to be the operating principal. You cannot hire a GM and step back.
- Non-compete: 2 years. If you leave Five Guys, you cannot operate a similar restaurant within your area for that period.
- Transfer fee: $5,000. Reasonable if you decide to sell.
The owner-operator requirement is important. Five Guys is not a passive investment. You are buying a job with a $928K-plus price tag, and the franchise agreement requires you to be in the restaurant. That limits multi-unit expansion and restricts the type of buyer who can make this work.
Litigation note
The FDD discloses 2 litigation matters in Item 3, including a 2024 case involving the COO (defamation and business interference claims) and a historical 2005 Maryland Consent Order for pre-registration franchise sales. The COO litigation raises questions about leadership stability, though it may not directly affect franchisee operations.
The bottom line
Five Guys is a strong brand with a weak FDD. The food is good, the customer base is loyal, and the SBA data (what little exists) is clean. But asking a franchisee to invest $928K to $1.4M without disclosing what units earn is a transparency problem. The owner-operator requirement and slow growth rate compound the concern.
If you are considering Five Guys, your due diligence needs to go beyond the FDD. Talk to existing franchisees (the FDD lists them in Item 20). Ask for trailing-twelve-month P&Ls. Validate the revenue estimates independently. Brand loyalty alone does not tell you what a unit earns.
Check our Five Guys profile for the complete data picture, or compare against other premium QSR brands on the screener.
Who Five Guys fits
Five Guys is not for first-time franchise buyers or passive investors. The owner-operator requirement eliminates anyone looking to hire a general manager and collect checks. The multi-unit development agreement (typically 5+ locations) means your true capital exposure is a multiple of the single-unit $928K – $1.4M. And the absence of Item 19 data means you need enough industry experience to independently evaluate unit economics without franchisor guidance.
The ideal Five Guys franchisee is an experienced QSR operator withsubstantial liquid capital, existing relationships with commercial lenders, and the ability to run a trailing-twelve-month P&L analysis from franchisee-provided data. If you have operated other burger or fast-casual concepts and can benchmark Five Guys against your own experience, the brand's premium positioning and customer loyalty create a defensible business. If you are coming from outside the restaurant industry, the combination of high investment, no earnings disclosure, and mandatory hands-on operation makes this a high-risk entry point. Brands that disclose Item 19 data, such as Wendy's or McDonald's let you check gross sales before signing.
How Five Guys compares to premium burger competitors
Five Guys occupies an unusual space in QSR: premium pricing with no drive-through and no disclosed earnings. Compared to Wendy's ($2.0M average gross sales, full Item 19 disclosure, $1.6M – $3.1M investment), Five Guys provides far less transparency. Against Shake Shack, which has largely moved away from franchising in favor of company-owned units, Five Guys remains one of the few premium burger brands actively franchising.
The competitive advantage is brand strength. Five Guys consistently ranks among the top burger chains in customer satisfaction surveys, and the made-to-order, no-freezer model creates genuine product differentiation. The 15 free topping policy drives word-of-mouth marketing that reduces dependence on paid advertising. However, the lack of a drive-through limits revenue capture in suburban markets where drive-through carries a large share of QSR sales. That structural limitation means Five Guys franchisees are betting heavily on dine-in and carryout traffic in an industry moving toward drive-through and delivery.
Related franchise research
Continue your research with our Arby's franchise cost breakdown, Burger King franchise analysis, and best food franchises guide.
Research Five Guys further
- 📄 Get the Five Guys Full FDD Report — $19
- 📞 Get Five Guys' FDD-listed franchisee contacts — $49 per brand. Call real owners before you sign.
- 📊 How to read profit in an FDD — free. Most FDDs disclose gross sales, not profit.
Frequently Asked Questions
- How much does a Five Guys franchise cost?
- A Five Guys franchise costs $927,850 to $1,375,750 in total investment, per its FDD. The franchise fee is $25,000. The high investment is driven by equipment ($300K to $400K) and leasehold improvements for the brand's premium restaurant build-out.
- How much does a Five Guys franchise make?
- Five Guys does not disclose financial performance data (Item 19) in its FDD. Unit-volume estimates circulate outside the filing, but none can be verified through the FDD, and gross sales are not profit in any case. Buyers should request financials directly from existing operators.
- Does Five Guys require owner-operators?
- Five Guys requires franchisees to be actively involved in operations and typically looks for multi-unit operators with restaurant experience.
- How does Five Guys' royalty compare to category average?
- Five Guys charges a 6.0% royalty plus a 2.0% advertising fund, totaling 8.0% of gross sales. The QSR average royalty is about 5.5%. Combined with the lack of revenue disclosure, the fee load makes it difficult to model profitability from FDD data alone.
- Can you open just one Five Guys location?
- No. Five Guys requires multi-unit development agreements, typically committing franchisees to open 5 or more locations within a defined territory and timeline.