Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
EXIT Realty logo

EXIT Realty Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Real EstateMAFranchising since 1997
CAverageAverage49/100⚠ cappedEditorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$75K – $216K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (6)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00886FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

EXIT Realty is a residential real-estate brokerage franchise known for its residual, sponsoring-agent compensation model. Franchisees run offices recruiting and supporting agents, earning from per-transaction fees and agent production.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A EXIT Realty franchise requires a total initial investment of $75K – $216K, including a $22K – $32K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$75K – $216K
59th pct Real Estate
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Set by a formula
Units
518
82nd pct Real Estate
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Real Estate · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$75K – $216K
Median $133K
near median
Franchise Fee
$22K – $32K
Median $30K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$20K – $70K
Median $22K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 6.0%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 7.5%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (6)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 6 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
518 units
Median 70 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
10.0%
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
6 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Real Estate median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $75K – $216K including a $22K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 49/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -50 franchised outlets in the latest year (29 opened, 25 closed); 22 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • FLAGAuditor disclosed a going-concern note, which flagged doubt about the franchisor's ability to continue operations. Verify against the latest FDD.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
EXIT Realty Corp. International
Parent company
EXITUS Holdings Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
of Subfranchisor
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
C.E.O. – U.S. Division
Craig Witt
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
Ontario, Canada
HQ
400 TradeCenter, Suite 5900, Woburn, Massachusetts 01801
Auditor
Aprio, LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$15.4M
vs $16.0M prior year
⚠ Going-concern note
Disclosed in FDD 2025
Auditor flagged doubt about continued operations. Verify against the latest FDD before deciding.

Overview

About

CEO
Craig Witt
Headquarters
MA
Founded
1995
FDD year
2025
States available
45

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 10% above the typical real estate franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$75K – $216KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$22,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
RoyaltySet by a formula
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$20K – $70K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

EXIT Realty: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$22K$22K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$20K$70K
Equipment, build-out, other$33K$124K
Total initial investment$75K$216K

Source: EXIT Realty 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$75K – $216K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$20K – $70K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$22K – $32K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
Transaction Fee of $50–$400 per transaction side (based o…
Ad fund
Portion of each Transaction Fee allocated to U.S. Adverti…

Ongoing fees · Item 6

EXIT Realty: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Technology fee$250
Transfer fee$8K
Renewal fee$3K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

EXIT Realty makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one EXIT Realty unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $75K–$216K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $20K–$70K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$191K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 125 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -12.5% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Real Estate medians

How EXIT Realty Compares

Metric
EXIT Realty
Category median
vs median
Investment
$146K
$133Kmiddle half $78K–$190K · n=89
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$384Kmiddle half $254K–$616K · n=12
N/A
Unit Count
518
70middle half 27–191 · n=89
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Real Estate brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units518Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 30 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-12.5% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate10.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
518
Opened
29
Last reporting year
Closed
25
Turnover rate
10.0%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-12.5%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-12.5%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Signed, not yet open
22
0.04 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
114
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
5.8%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Termination rate
9.5%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
0.8%
Units that stopped operating
2022
592
Franchised units
2023
568-24
Franchised units
2024
518-50
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 43 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 43 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Illinois
  • Michigan
  • South Dakota
  • Wisconsin

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

451 current owners across 43 states.

  • AL 37
  • FL 36
  • NY 36
  • TN 34
  • NJ 26
  • IA 21
  • VA 21
  • MD 20
  • TX 18
  • CA 16
  • MI 16
  • KY 15
  • +31 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 1 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

A system losing more than 10% of its units year-over-year is a red flag. Check whether closures are concentrated in specific regions.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 6 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
6
Loan volume
$788K
Median loan
$45K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (6)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 6 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (6)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (6)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
5
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
2
Loan volume
$801K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
25

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

The auditor flagged going-concern doubt (Item 21) — the single biggest risk here.

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (6)
Verdict score49/100 (higher is better)
Litigation6 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtYes (worth scrutinizing)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage49Verdict score 49/100

⚠ Grade capped at C: the auditor disclosed a going-concern note (FDD Item 21). The verdict score reflects the underlying financials before that cap.

EXIT Realty presents elevated risk due to contracting unit base, undisclosed financials, active litigation including antitrust exposure, and variable transaction-based fee structure that obscures true earnings potential.

High confidence±6 pts
4355

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

1 subfranchisor case (Everyday Grace LLC v. Josvla Inc.); 5 franchisor cases including Evans v. EXIT (commission dispute, settled as to EXIT), 71353 Newfoundland v. EXIT (breach of contract $2.5M claim), McFall v. Canadian REA et al. (MLS buyer brokerage class action), Gibson v. NAR et al. (U.S. MLS commissions class action), Wallerstein v. EXIT (robocall TCPA class action)

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Aprio, LLP⚠ Going-concern note flagged

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $15.4MYr 2: $16.0MNon-royalty: $0.8M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

EXIT Realty Corp. International (franchisor) consolidated statements of operations. Revenue $15,421,227 (2024), $15,991,792 (2023), $17,858,393 (2022). Going-concern doubt noted; net income $70,717 driven by $2.1M gain on sale of property offsetting $1.15M loss from operations. Subfranchisor (JOSVLA INC. / EXIT NY METRO) also separately audited in Exhibit F.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 49 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORUnit count declining 8.8% YoY (518 units) indicates shrinking franchise system and potential market saturation or franchisee dissatisfaction
  2. 02MEDNo Item 19 financial performance disclosure (Avg Revenue and Net Income not disclosed) prevents validation of actual earning potential and ROI
  3. 03HIGHMultiple active litigations including breach of contract, tortious interference, and commission disputes suggest franchisor-franchisee relationship tensions and possible operational/contractual issues
  4. 04MEDInvolvement in industry-wide antitrust class actions regarding real estate commission practices creates regulatory and reputational risk that could impact franchisee operations and brand value
  5. 05MINORTransaction-based fee model ($50-$400 per side) creates unpredictable revenue stream dependent on agent productivity and market conditions; no baseline guaranteed income
  6. 06MINOR5-year term is relatively short, creating uncertainty in long-term viability and capital recovery timeline for $75K-$216K investment

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 125 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training29 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population20,000
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeNo
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationNassau County, NY (litigation)
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawNY
Litigation count6
View Item 3 litigation summary

1 subfranchisor case (Everyday Grace LLC v. Josvla Inc.); 5 franchisor cases including Evans v. EXIT (commission dispute, settled as to EXIT), 71353 Newfoundland v. EXIT (breach of contract $2.5M claim), McFall v. Canadian REA et al. (MLS buyer brokerage class action), Gibson v. NAR et al. (U.S. MLS commissions class action), Wallerstein v. EXIT (robocall TCPA class action)

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
26 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada or Atlanta, Georgia (also online)
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects subject to Subfranchisor review and consent
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
MEMO
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: MEMO

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

452 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 452 contacts · $49
Free preview
833 323 ••••MS
Unlock all 452 contacts
804 527 ••••VA
337 463 ••••LA
704 262 ••••NC
304 350 ••••WV

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a EXIT Realty franchise?

The total investment to open a EXIT Realty franchise ranges from $75K – $216K, with an initial franchise fee of $22K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do EXIT Realty franchise owners earn?

EXIT Realty makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns EXIT Realty?

EXIT Realty is franchised by EXIT Realty Corp. International. Its parent company is EXITUS Holdings Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the EXIT Realty FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the EXIT Realty FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is EXIT Realty's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for EXIT Realty (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many EXIT Realty franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, EXIT Realty has 518 total units in the United States, including 518 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 29 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is EXIT Realty a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates EXIT Realty as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 49 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent EXIT Realty, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Real Estate franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Real Estate category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.