Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Epcon Communities logo

Epcon Communities Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Real EstateOhioFranchising since 1996
AStrongest tierStrongest tier70/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$3.8M – $6.4M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00864FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent86%
Manager-run OKYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Epcon Communities is a real-estate franchise for building and developing low-maintenance, active-adult communities for buyers 55 and older. Franchisees run a homebuilding operation handling land, construction, and sales in a market.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Epcon Communities franchise requires a total initial investment of $3.8M – $6.4M, including a $75K franchise fee and an ongoing 2.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$3.8M – $6.4M
88th pct Real Estate
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
2.0%
2nd pct Real Estate
Units
105
50th pct Real Estate
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Real Estate · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$3.8M – $6.4M
Median $133K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$75K – $75K
Median $30K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$17K – $33K
Median $22K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
2.0%
Median 6.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
2.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
105 units
Median 70 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
11.4%
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
5 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Real Estate median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $3.8M – $6.4M including a $75K franchise fee, 2.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 70/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -3 franchised outlets in the latest year (9 opened, 12 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Epcon Communities Franchising, LLC
Parent company
EC Franchising, LLC / Epcon JV LLC / Epcon Holding LLC
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2026 FDD
Predecessor
Epcon Communities Franchising, Inc. (formerly Epmark, Inc.)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Joel D. Rhoades
Incorporated in
Ohio
HQ
500 Stonehenge Parkway, Dublin, Ohio 43017
Auditor
GBQ Partners LLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$7.8M
vs $7.2M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Joel D. Rhoades
Headquarters
Ohio
Founded
1996
FDD year
2026
States available
21

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 3752% above the typical real estate franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$3.8M – $6.4MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 23 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$75,000Verified — printed on page 15 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$17K – $33K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Epcon Communities: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$75K$75K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$17K$33K
Equipment, build-out, other$3.8M$6.3M
Total initial investment$3.8M$6.4M

Source: Epcon Communities 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$3.8M – $6.4M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$17K – $33K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$75K – $75K
Bottom third — review vs category
Royalty
2.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
Marketing Program Fee of $625/month per project (may incr…
Total fee load
2.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Epcon Communities: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty2.0%
Technology fee$2K
Training fee$2K
Total fee load2.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Epcon Communities makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Epcon Communities unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $3.8M–$6.4M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $17K–$33K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$5.1M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 122 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 2.0% — below the Real Estate median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (0.0% 3-year CAGR) with 105 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Real Estate medians

How Epcon Communities Compares

Metric
Epcon Communities
Category median
vs median
Investment
$5.1M
$133Kmiddle half $78K–$190K · n=89
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$384Kmiddle half $254K–$616K · n=12
N/A
Unit Count
105
70middle half 27–191 · n=89
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Real Estate brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units105Verified — printed on page 70 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+0.0%
Turnover rate11.4% (caution)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
105
Opened
9
Last reporting year
Closed
12
Terminated
5
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
11.4%
Company-owned
25
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
76%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
5
2023
73
Franchised units
2024
83+10
Franchised units
2025
80-3
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 25 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 25 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

66 current owners across 25 states.

  • OH 10
  • TX 9
  • NC 7
  • FL 5
  • IA 4
  • PA 3
  • AZ 2
  • CO 2
  • IL 2
  • IN 2
  • KS 2
  • MA 2
  • +13 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score70/100 (higher is better)
Litigation5 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier70Verdict score 70/100
Moderate confidence±13 pts
5783

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Five concluded cases: (1) Price v. Epcon Communities et al. - plumbing defect claims, settled $95,000 ($35,000 paid by Epcon entities); (2) Marrington Villas at Cobblestone Association v. Epcon - construction defect/fraud claims, settled $1,000,000; (3) Lipari v. Epcon Nantz Road - fraud/misrepresentation re: drainage and lake access, settled $52,500 plus drain installation; (4) M.E. Stores Property v. Epcon Nantz Road - dust/nuisance property damage claim, settled $25,000 total ($22,000 paid by Epcon); (5) Fair Housing Advocates Association/HUD/DOJ v. Epcon Communities re: ADA/Fair Housing accessibility violations at multiple Ohio projects, resolved via Consent Decree with $2,200,000 retrofit fund, $51,303 civil penalty, $40,000 settlement to FHAA, and $300,000 fund for aggrieved persons.

Largest disclosed settlement: $2,200,000

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · GBQ Partners LLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $7.8MYr 2: $7.2MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Consolidated Statements of Income for Epcon Communities Franchising, LLC and Subsidiary, years ended Dec 31, 2022 and 2021. FY2022 total franchising revenue $7,585,321 (franchise fees/royalties $6,710,985; advertising fees $388,428; conference fees $485,908). Total other income $42,346 (interest income, misc income, net of other tax). Net income $2,013,851. Auditor firm name not present in text (signed Columbus, Ohio, April 17, 2023).

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 70 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGHMultiple active litigation cases including Fair Housing Act violation with Consent Decree — regulatory compliance risk and reputational damage
  2. 02MEDNo average net income disclosed — impossible to validate actual profitability despite $598,881 average revenue claim
  3. 03MINORRoyalty structure ($3,000 minimum monthly) creates fixed cost burden regardless of actual sales performance
  4. 04HIGHConstruction defect litigation across multiple projects (Price, Marrington Villas, Lipari) indicates systemic quality/delivery issues

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 122 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

Litigation case detail5 matters · Item 3

Litigation cases

The franchisor

Concluded (1)

  • Fair Housing Advocates Association v. Epcon Communities, Inc., et al. (HUD Case No. 05-12-0088-8) and Assistant Secretary of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity (“FHEO”) v. Epcon Communities, Inc. (HUD Case No. 05-13-0010-8); consolidated within United States of America v. Epcon Communities, LLC and

    concluded

    Government or regulatory action · filed 2011 · U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Fair Housing Office (Midwest Region, Region V); consolidated in the United States District Court, Southern District of Ohio, Eastern Division · HUD 05-12-0088-8 (Inquiry No. 329941); HUD 05-13-0010-8 (Inquiry No. 349829); 2:19-cv-4601

    “Inquiry No. 329941 and Assistant Secretary of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity (“FHEO”) v. Epcon Communities, Inc., HUD Case No. 05-13-0010-8, Inquiry No. 349829; United States of America v. Epcon Communities, LLC and Epcon Communities Franchising, Inc., Case No. 2:19-cv-4601 (United States District Court, Southern District of Ohio, Eastern Division, filed October 17, 2019).”Page 14 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The parties entered into a Consent Decree settling the matter on March 25, 2020. The Consent Decree has a term of three (3) years from the date of its entry and subjects ECFL and Epcon LLC to the following: (i) an injunction from discrimination on the basis of disability as prohibited by the Fair Housing Act, 42 U.S.C.” (page 15)

Parent, affiliates and predecessor

Concluded (4)

  • Robert Price and Linda Price v. Epcon Communities, LLC, Epcon Marrington, LLC, Epcon Communities North Carolinas, LLC, and Jenkins Plumbing Company, LLC

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · Epcon Communities, LLC; Epcon Marrington, LLC; Epcon Communities North Carolinas, LLC · filed 2022-08-18 · Court of Common Pleas for the Ninth Judicial District, Berkeley County, South Carolina · 2022-CP-0801974

    “Robert Price and Linda Price v. Epcon Communities, LLC, Epcon Marrington, LLC, Epcon Communities North Carolinas, LLC, and Jenkins Plumbing Company, LLC, Case No. 2022-CP-0801974 in the Court of Common Pleas for the Ninth Judicial District, Berkeley County, South Carolina. Litigation commenced August 18, 2022.”Page 13 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“This matter settled in November, 2024 and defendants agreed to pay plaintiffs $95,000, of which $35,000 was paid by the Epcon entities, and the remainder by subcontractors of the Epcon entities. This matter is concluded.”

  • Marrington Villas at Cobblestone Association, Inc. v. Epcon Communities, Inc., n/k/a Epcon Communities, LLC, Epcon Communities Carolinas, LLC, and Epcon Marrington, LLC

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · Epcon Communities, LLC (f/k/a Epcon Communities, Inc.); Epcon Communities Carolinas, LLC; Epcon Marrington, LLC · filed 2021-06-14 · Circuit Court for the Ninth Judicial Circuit, State of South Carolina, County of Berkeley · 2021CP0801194

    “Marrington Villas at Cobblestone Association, Inc. v. Epcon Communities, Inc., n/k/a Epcon Communities, LLC, Epcon Communities Carolinas, LLC, and Epcon Marrington, LLC, Case No. 2021CP0801194 in the Circuit Court for the Ninth Judicial Circuit, State of South Carolina, County of Berkeley. Litigation commenced June 14, 2021.”Page 13 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“This matter settled in August, 2024 as to the Epcon defendants with a payment of $1,000,000 to plaintiffs. This matter is concluded.”

  • M.E. Stores Property, LLC v. Epcon Nantz Road, LLC, Epcon Communities Carolinas, LLC, Epcon Communities, LLC et al.

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · Epcon Nantz Road, LLC; Epcon Communities Carolinas, LLC; Epcon Communities, LLC · filed 2020-10-28 · General Court of Justice Superior Court Division of Mecklenburg County, North Carolina; removed to the United States District Court for the Western District of North Carolina · 20-CVS-14594 (removed: 3:20-CV-631)

    “M.E. Stores Property, LLC v. Epcon Nantz Road, LLC, Epcon Communities Carolinas, LLC, Epcon Communities, LLC et al., Case No. 20-CVS-14594 in the General Court of Justice Superior Court Division of Mecklenburg County, North Carolina. Litigation commenced on October 28, 2020.”Page 14 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The case was settled for total payments of $25,000 by defendants of which the Epcon defendants paid $22,000. The Notice of Voluntary Dismissal was filed on June 15, 2022. This matter is concluded.”

  • Lipari v. Epcon Nantz Road, LLC, et al.

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · Epcon Nantz Road, LLC; Epcon Communities, LLC; officers Philip G. Fankhauser and Edward A. Bacome named as defendants · filed 2019-01-07 · Superior Court Division of Mecklenburg County, North Carolina · 19-CVS-93

    “Lipari v. Epcon Nantz Road, LLC, et al., Case Number 19-CVS-93, in the Superior Court Division of Mecklenburg County, North Carolina. This case was filed on January 7, 2019. The defendants include Epcon Communities, LLC, Philip G. Fankhauser and Edward A. Bacome, as well as other parties.”Page 14 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The settlement agreement provided that Epcon Nantz Road, LLC agreed to pay to Mr. and Mrs. Lipari the amount of $52,500, Epcon Nantz Road, LLC agreed to install up to two (2) yard drains in the Liparis’ side yard and/or back yard to connect to the main storm drainage system for the community, and the parties agreed to mutual releases of all claims. This matter is concluded.”

Item 3 lists the litigation the franchisor must disclose; a matter against a parent, an affiliate or a named officer is not a matter against the franchisor, and pending claims are allegations, not findings.

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 2.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term4 yrs
Renewal termNot extracted
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training11 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term4 years
Allowed renewalsℹ0
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory radius12 mi
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeNo
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ23
Curable defaultsℹ11
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationColumbus, Ohio
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawOhio
Litigation count5
View Item 3 litigation summary

Five concluded cases: (1) Price v. Epcon Communities et al. - plumbing defect claims, settled $95,000 ($35,000 paid by Epcon entities); (2) Marrington Villas at Cobblestone Association v. Epcon - construction defect/fraud claims, settled $1,000,000; (3) Lipari v. Epcon Nantz Road - fraud/misrepresentation re: drainage and lake access, settled $52,500 plus drain installation; (4) M.E. Stores Property v. Epcon Nantz Road - dust/nuisance property damage claim, settled $25,000 total ($22,000 paid by Epcon); (5) Fair Housing Advocates Association/HUD/DOJ v. Epcon Communities re: ADA/Fair Housing accessibility violations at multiple Ohio projects, resolved via Consent Decree with $2,200,000 retrofit fund, $51,303 civil penalty, $40,000 settlement to FHAA, and $300,000 fund for aggrieved persons.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
11 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Greater Columbus, Ohio area
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
60 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Higharc
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Higharc

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

66 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 66 contacts · $49
Free preview
614-203-••••OH
Unlock all 66 contacts
941-270-••••FL
614-330-••••OH
316-729-••••KS
614-299-••••OH

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Epcon Communities franchise?

The total investment to open a Epcon Communities franchise ranges from $3.8M – $6.4M, with an initial franchise fee of $75K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Epcon Communities franchise owners earn?

Epcon Communities makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Epcon Communities?

Epcon Communities is franchised by Epcon Communities Franchising, LLC. Its parent company is EC Franchising, LLC / Epcon JV LLC / Epcon Holding LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Epcon Communities FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Epcon Communities FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Epcon Communities's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Epcon Communities (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Epcon Communities franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Epcon Communities has 105 total units in the United States, including 80 franchised units and 25 company-owned units. 9 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Epcon Communities a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Epcon Communities as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 70 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Epcon Communities, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Real Estate franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Real Estate category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.