Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Corcoran logo

Corcoran Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Real EstateNJFranchising since 2019
BAbove averageAbove average55/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$62K – $365K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00626FDD 2026Data QualityStandard76%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Corcoran is a residential real-estate brokerage franchise with a premium, design-forward brand. Franchisees run offices recruiting and supporting agents, managing listings and transactions, and earning from commissions.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Corcoran franchise requires a total initial investment of $62K – $365K, including a $5K – $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2026 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - the current year's filing

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$62K – $365K
45th pct Real Estate
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
24th pct Real Estate
Units
133
57th pct Real Estate
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Real Estate · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$62K – $365K
Median $133K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$5K – $25K
Median $30K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $40K
Median $22K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 6.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
133 units
Median 70 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
18.5%
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
12 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Real Estate median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $62K – $365K including a $25K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 55/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -1 franchised outlets in the latest year (10 opened, 11 closed); 2 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • LEGAL12 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Corcoran Group LLC
Parent company
Anywhere Real Estate Inc. (subsidiary of Compass, Inc.)
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2026 FDD
Ultimate parent
Compass, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2026 FDD
CEO title
President and Chief Executive Officer
Pamela Liebman
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
175 Park Avenue, Madison, New Jersey 07940
Auditor
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$6.0B
vs $5.7B prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

7 other brands on this site name Compass, Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2026 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Pamela Liebman
Headquarters
NJ
Founded
2015
FDD year
2026
States available
23

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 61% above the typical real estate franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$62K – $365KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 40 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Verified — printed on page 29 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 30 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$15K – $40K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Corcoran: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$25K$25K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$15K$40K
Equipment, build-out, other$22K$300K
Total initial investment$62K$365K

Source: Corcoran 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$62K – $365K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $40K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$5K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Corcoran: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0%
Technology fee$3K
Training fee$1K
Transfer fee$5K
Total fee load7.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Corcoran makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Corcoran unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $62K–$365K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$40K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$241K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 141 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% (near the Real Estate median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 22.7% CAGR over 3 years across 133 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Real Estate medians

How Corcoran Compares

Metric
Corcoran
Category median
vs median
Investment
$214K
$133Kmiddle half $78K–$190K · n=89
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$384Kmiddle half $254K–$616K · n=12
N/A
Unit Count
133
70middle half 27–191 · n=89
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Real Estate brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units133Verified — printed on page 74 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+22.7% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate18.5% (caution)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Outlet count

One Corcoran office in Puerto Rico is excluded from the franchisor's Item 20 outlet tables, so these counts understate the system by one office.

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
133
Opened
10
Last reporting year
Closed
11
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
18.5%
Company-owned
25
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
81%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+22.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+22.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
2
0.02 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
4
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
8.3%
Units that stopped operating
2023
88
Franchised units
2024
109+21
Franchised units
2025
108-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 23 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 23 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

81 current owners across 23 states; 9 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

  • CA 15
  • NY 14
  • NJ 12
  • VA 8
  • FL 5
  • NC 4
  • HI 3
  • TX 3
  • GA 2
  • PA 2
  • CO 1
  • CT 1
  • +11 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score55/100 (higher is better)
Litigation12 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average55Verdict score 55/100

Corcoran presents HIGH RISK due to a contracting franchise system, pervasive antitrust litigation threatening core business model, complete absence of financial performance disclosure, and unprotected territories—all compounded by corporate instability from merger-related litigation.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Low confidence±15 pts
4070

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Primarily antitrust/commission-related class actions against parent Anywhere Real Estate Inc. regarding NAR buyer-broker commission rules (Moehrl, Burnett, Nosalek, Batton); TCPA class action (Chinitz); Homie Technology antitrust (dismissed); Merger-related shareholder suits (largely resolved/settled); RESPA class action (Dodge, settled $8.375M); HUD/FTC regulatory proceeding (resolved by consent decree); Washington AG investigation ongoing.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $5960.0MYr 2: $5692.0MNon-royalty: $132.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 financials are the audited consolidated statements of the franchisor's parents/guarantors, Anywhere Real Estate Inc. and Anywhere Real Estate Group LLC (consolidated positions are identical). Corcoran Group LLC does not provide stand-alone statements; the parents guarantee its obligations. FY ended Dec 31, 2025; figures in millions. Net revenues comprise gross commission income $4,849M, service revenue $607M, franchise fees $372M, other $132M. Company reported a net loss of $(89)M ($(90)M attributable to Anywhere). Audit report signed Florham Park, NJ, Feb 25, 2026; CPA firm name not captured in text.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 55 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count (-0.9% YoY) suggests system contraction and potential franchisee struggles
  2. 02MEDNo disclosed average revenue or net income data (missing Item 19) prevents ROI validation and is a major transparency red flag
  3. 03MEDMultiple active antitrust class actions (5 separate cases) directly threaten the commission-based business model and franchisee profitability
  4. 04MINORTCPA class action (Bumpus) indicates potential compliance issues with lead generation practices affecting franchisee operations
  5. 05HIGHRecent shareholder litigation tied to Compass merger suggests corporate instability and potential future restructuring affecting franchisee support

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 141 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal termNot extracted
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training29 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ0
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window120 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ7
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNJ
Litigation count12
View Item 3 litigation summary

Primarily antitrust/commission-related class actions against parent Anywhere Real Estate Inc. regarding NAR buyer-broker commission rules (Moehrl, Burnett, Nosalek, Batton); TCPA class action (Chinitz); Homie Technology antitrust (dismissed); Merger-related shareholder suits (largely resolved/settled); RESPA class action (Dodge, settled $8.375M); HUD/FTC regulatory proceeding (resolved by consent decree); Washington AG investigation ongoing.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
29 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Virtual (Orientation offered virtually; in-person option may be offered in Madison, NJ or NYC)
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
0 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
1 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Productivity Suite
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Productivity Suite

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

90 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 90 contacts · $49
Free preview
(510) 428-••••CA
Unlock all 90 contacts
(845) 987-••••NY
(415) 266-••••CA
(925) 634-••••CA
(650) 578-••••CA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Corcoran franchise?

The total investment to open a Corcoran franchise ranges from $62K – $365K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Corcoran franchise owners earn?

Corcoran makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Corcoran?

Corcoran is franchised by Corcoran Group LLC. Its parent company is Anywhere Real Estate Inc. (subsidiary of Compass, Inc.). The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Compass, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Corcoran FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Corcoran FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Corcoran's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Corcoran (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Corcoran franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Corcoran has 133 total units in the United States, including 108 franchised units and 25 company-owned units. 10 new units were opened in the latest reporting year. One Corcoran office in Puerto Rico is excluded from the franchisor's Item 20 outlet tables, so these counts understate the system by one office.

Is Corcoran a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Corcoran as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 55 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Corcoran, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Real Estate franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Real Estate category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.