Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
The Agency® logo

The Agency® Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Real EstateCAFranchising since 2015
AStrongest tierStrongest tier71/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$120K – $896K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02592FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

The Agency is a luxury residential and commercial real-estate brokerage franchise with a boutique, collaborative model. Franchisees run offices recruiting and supporting agents, marketing premium properties, and earning from commissions.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A The Agency® franchise requires a total initial investment of $120K – $896K, including a $48K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$120K – $896K
72nd pct Real Estate
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
24th pct Real Estate
Units
91
48th pct Real Estate
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Real Estate · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$120K – $896K
Median $133K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$48K
Median $30K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$12K – $98K
Median $22K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 6.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.3% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10
System Size
91 units
Median 70 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
2.2%
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
4 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Real Estate median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $120K – $896K including a $48K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 71/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +14 franchised outlets in the latest year (16 opened, 2 closed) (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 157.1% CAGR over 3 years with 91 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
The Agency Real Estate Franchising, LLC
Parent company
The Agency Holdco, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
RealTech Holdings, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Mauricio Umansky
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
331 Foothill Road, Suite 100, Beverly Hills, California 90210
Auditor
Holthouse | Carlin | Van Trigt LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$5.1M
vs $3.3M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Mauricio Umansky
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2014
FDD year
2025
States available
25

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 282% above the typical real estate franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$120K – $896KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 21 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$47,500Verified — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$12K – $98K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

The Agency®: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$48K$48K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$12K$98K
Equipment, build-out, other$61K$751K
Total initial investment$120K$896K

Source: The Agency® 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$120K – $896K
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$12K – $98K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$48K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.25% of Gross Revenue up to and including $5,000,000 1% …
Total fee load
7.3%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

The Agency®: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Training fee$1K
Transfer fee$5K
Total fee load7.3% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

The Agency® makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one The Agency® unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $120K–$896K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $12K–$98K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$563K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 124 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.3% (near the Real Estate median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 157.1% CAGR over 3 years across 91 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Multi-unit rate

Only 10% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Real Estate medians

How The Agency® Compares

Metric
The Agency®
Category median
vs median
Investment
$508K
$133Kmiddle half $78K–$190K · n=89
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$384Kmiddle half $254K–$616K · n=12
N/A
Unit Count
91
70middle half 27–191 · n=89
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Real Estate brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units91Verified — printed on page 49 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+157.1% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate2.2% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
91
Opened
16
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Terminated
2
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
2.2%
Company-owned
37
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
59%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
10.0%
Net growth (3-yr)
+157.1%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+157.1%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
2
Not renewed
0
Termination rate
2.2%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
4.4%
Units that stopped operating
2022
21
Franchised units
2023
40+19
Franchised units
2024
54+14
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 26 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 26 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

57 current owners across 28 states.

  • CO 5
  • FL 5
  • TX 5
  • WA 4
  • MA 3
  • NV 3
  • NY 3
  • HI 2
  • ID 2
  • MT 2
  • OK 2
  • OR 2
  • +16 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$268K
Median loan
$268K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (1)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (1)
Verdict score71/100 (higher is better)
Litigation4 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier71Verdict score 71/100

Real estate franchisor with healthy financials (net worth $5.9M, net income $4.78M on $9.35M revenue) and strong growth (+157.1% to 91 units). 4 disclosed litigation cases, all settled or dismissed (including a $3.75M NAR antitrust class-action settlement), which is the main flag. No bankruptcy, going-concern, or turnover; financials audited.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
5884

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Two cases: (1) Gael Fierro, et al. vs. National Association of Realtors - antitrust class action alleging inflated buyer broker commissions, settled June 2024 for $3,750,000; (2) Sam Hakim v. UMRO Realty Corp. - breach of duty and fraud claims regarding Malibu property transaction, dismissed with prejudice.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Holthouse | Carlin | Van Trigt LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $5.1MYr 2: $3.3MTotal: $9.3MNon-royalty: $0.2M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Franchisor total revenue = royalties/referral fees ($9,128,824) + franchise fees ($220,858) for FY2024, per audited statements of income (Item 21 / Exhibit G).

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 71 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGH4 litigation cases, all settled/dismissed (incl. $3.75M NAR antitrust settlement)
  2. 02MINORStrong financials: net worth $5.9M, net income $4.78M on $9.35M revenue
  3. 03MINORRobust growth +157.1% to 91 units, 0% turnover
  4. 04MINORNo bankruptcy/going-concern; audited

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 124 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.3% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training16 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population100,000
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ4
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationBeverly Hills, California
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawDelaware
Litigation count4
View Item 3 litigation summary

Two cases: (1) Gael Fierro, et al. vs. National Association of Realtors - antitrust class action alleging inflated buyer broker commissions, settled June 2024 for $3,750,000; (2) Sam Hakim v. UMRO Realty Corp. - breach of duty and fraud claims regarding Malibu property transaction, dismissed with prejudice.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
16 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee (with franchisor approval of proposed location)
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
BrokerWolf
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: BrokerWolf

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

57 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 57 contacts · $49
Free preview
(503) 740-••••OR
Unlock all 57 contacts
(423) 541-••••TN
(248) 644-••••MI
(561) 465-••••FL
(757) 324-••••VA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a The Agency® franchise?

The total investment to open a The Agency® franchise ranges from $120K – $896K, with an initial franchise fee of $48K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do The Agency® franchise owners earn?

The Agency® makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns The Agency®?

The Agency® is franchised by The Agency Real Estate Franchising, LLC. Its parent company is The Agency Holdco, Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is RealTech Holdings, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the The Agency® FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the The Agency® FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is The Agency®'s franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for The Agency® (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many The Agency® franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, The Agency® has 91 total units in the United States, including 54 franchised units and 37 company-owned units. 16 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is The Agency® a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates The Agency® as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 71 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent The Agency®, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Real Estate franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Real Estate category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.