Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts logo

Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Real EstateCAFranchising since 2005
CAverageAverage40/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$210K – $855K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01304FDD 2025Data QualityStandard71%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Intero Real Estate Services is a residential brokerage franchise offering brand, technology, and agent support. Franchisees run local brokerages, recruiting agents and managing listings, sales, and transactions.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts franchise requires a total initial investment of $210K – $855K, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2025 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - a newer filing may exist

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$210K – $855K
84th pct Real Estate
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
12th pct Real Estate
Units
40
27th pct Real Estate
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Real Estate · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$210K – $855K
Median $133K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $30K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$75K – $150K
Median $22K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 6.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
5.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
40 units
Median 70 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
7.5%
Median 7.5%
near median
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
3 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Real Estate median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $210K – $855K including a $25K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 40/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -3 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 3 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAG3 units terminated last reporting year (7.5% of the system). Ask existing franchisees why.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Intero Franchise Services, Inc.
Parent company
HomeServices of California, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
Berkshire Hathaway Energy Company
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
Intero Real Estate Services, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Co-Presidents
Scott Chase / Terry Meyer
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
CA
HQ
10080 N. Wolfe Road, Suite SW3, Cupertino, California 95014
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 8

1 other brand on this site name Berkshire Hathaway Energy Company as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2025 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Scott Chase / Terry Meyer
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2004
FDD year
2025
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 301% above the typical real estate franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$210K – $855KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Verified — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$75K – $150K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown9 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$5K$25K
Real Property, whether Purchased or Leasednot refundable$25K$250K
Furniture, Fixtures & Equipmentnot refundable$50K$200K
Signagenot refundable$5K$30K
Technologynot refundable$10K$50K
Inventorynot refundable$10K$20K
Insurancenot refundable$25K$100K
Advertising and Marketingnot refundable$5K$30K
Additional Funds - 3 Monthsnot refundable$75K$150K
Total initial investment$210K$855K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$210K – $855K
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$75K – $150K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
-n/d
Total fee load
5.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$180
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$1K
Inventory (initial)$10K – $20K
Total fee load5.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $210K–$855K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $75K–$150K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$645K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 120 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 5.0% — below the Real Estate median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -21.2% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Real Estate medians

How Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts Compares

Metric
Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts
Category median
vs median
Investment
$533K
$133Kmiddle half $78K–$190K · n=89
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$384Kmiddle half $254K–$616K · n=12
N/A
Unit Count
40
70middle half 27–191 · n=89
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Real Estate brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units40Verified — printed on page 38 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-21.2% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate7.5% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
40
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
3
Terminated
3
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
7.5%
Company-owned
14
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
65%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-21.2%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-21.2%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
3
Not renewed
0
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
7.5%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
15.0%
Units that stopped operating
2022
33
Franchised units
2023
29-4
Franchised units
2024
26-3
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 4 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 4 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

27 current owners across 3 states; 3 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

  • CA 23
  • TX 3
  • TN 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score40/100 (higher is better)
Litigation3 cases · none name the franchisor
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage40Verdict score 40/100

Contracting franchise system facing material antitrust litigation, zero financial transparency, and unprotected territory creates elevated risk of franchisee underperformance and legal exposure.

Low confidence±15 pts
2555

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

Three disclosed matters: (1) nationwide seller class action lawsuits against affiliates HSF and BHH (antitrust/commission conspiracy), settled for $250M with final approval Jan 2025; (2) Lutz buyer class action against HSF and BHH in S.D. Fla., motion to dismiss granted July 2025, third amended complaint pending; (3) Homie Technology antitrust suit against HomeServices/HSF, dismissed with prejudice July 2025. IFS itself is not named in any of these cases.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

No Item 19 financial performance representation made. Item 21 audited financial statements (Exhibit C) are only marked '(Attached)' in this disclosure text; the statements themselves with figures and auditor name are not present in the extracted text, so franchisor financials are unavailable.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 40 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORUnit count declining 10.3% YoY (40 units) indicates system contraction and potential franchisee underperformance or attrition
  2. 02MEDMultiple active antitrust and commission-fixing lawsuits with jury verdict against parent companies creating ongoing legal/reputational risk and potential operational disruptions
  3. 03MINORNo Item 19 (average revenue/net income) disclosure prevents assessment of actual franchisee profitability and ROI on $210k–$855k investment
  4. 04MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk from other Intero franchisees and company-owned locations in same market
  5. 05MINORHigh upper-end investment ($855k) paired with declining unit economics suggests franchisees may be struggling to justify capital outlay
  6. 06MED10-year term is long-duration commitment in volatile real estate market with no clear exit liquidity or buyback provisions disclosed

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 120 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 5.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training0 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window90 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice60 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationCounty of Santa Clara, California
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawDE
Litigation count3
View Item 3 litigation summary

Three disclosed matters: (1) nationwide seller class action lawsuits against affiliates HSF and BHH (antitrust/commission conspiracy), settled for $250M with final approval Jan 2025; (2) Lutz buyer class action against HSF and BHH in S.D. Fla., motion to dismiss granted July 2025, third amended complaint pending; (3) Homie Technology antitrust suit against HomeServices/HSF, dismissed with prejudice July 2025. IFS itself is not named in any of these cases.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
0 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
No established training program; optional training offered periodically
Ongoing training
Optional
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisor approves site; franchisee selects
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

30 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 30 contacts · $49
Free preview
625621••••CA
Unlock all 30 contacts
916760••••CA
615278••••TN
510651••••CA
713568••••TX

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts franchise?

The total investment to open a Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts franchise ranges from $210K – $855K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts franchise owners earn?

Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts?

Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts is franchised by Intero Franchise Services, Inc.. Its parent company is HomeServices of California, Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Berkshire Hathaway Energy Company. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts has 40 total units in the United States, including 26 franchised units and 14 company-owned units.

Is Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 40 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Intero Real Estate Services / Intero Resorts, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Real Estate franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Real Estate category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.