Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Sushi Avenue logo

Sushi Avenue Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsMNFranchising since 2023
AStrongest tierStrongest tier75/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$19K – $158K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02520FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Sushi Avenue is a franchise operating made-fresh sushi counters inside grocery and specialty stores. Franchisees run an in-store sushi station preparing rolls and bowls to order, earning a commission through the host store.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Sushi Avenue franchise requires a total initial investment of $19K – $158K, including a $1K – $40K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$19K – $158K
1st pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Set by a formula
Units
329
35th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$19K – $158K
Median $678K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$1K – $40K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$5K – $30K
Median $43K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 5.0%
Ongoing Fees
1.5% of rev
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
329 units
Median 20 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
7.4%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
4 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $19K – $158K including a $40K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 75/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -1 franchised outlets in the latest year (213 opened, 0 closed); 3 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 45.1% CAGR over 3 years with 329 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
SAH Holdings, LLC
Parent company
Sushi Avenue, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2026 FDD
Ultimate parent
Sojitz Corporation
FDD Item 1, page 10 of the 2026 FDD
Predecessor
Sushi Avenue, Incorporated
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Manager, President/CEO
Shingo Fujii
Incorporated in
MN
HQ
895 Blue Gentian Rd., #6, Eagan, MN 55121
Auditor
Cavanaugh & Company, PLLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$60K
vs $57K prior year

Affiliated brands

  • Sushi Avenue
  • One Two Three Sushi Holding

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Shingo Fujii
Headquarters
MN
Founded
2023
FDD year
2026
States available
21

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 87% below the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$19K – $158KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 28 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$40,000Verified — printed on page 15 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
RoyaltySet by a formula
Ad fund1.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$5K – $30K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown11 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$1K$40K
Insurance$500$5K
Initial Training Fees, travel, living expenses during initial training$2K$10K
Professional Advisors$1K$4K
Point of Sale Marketing Materials$1K$4K
Equipment, smallwares, and computer$4K$11K
Sushi Making Equipment$0$20K
Initial food inventory, uniform and supply purchases$4K$30K
Local business license fees and permits$100$5K
Background Check, Credit Check and Drug Test$250$250
Additional funds (3 months initial phase)$5K$30K
Total initial investment$19K$158K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$19K – $158K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$5K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$1K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
Franchise Commission model: Store retains a negotiated Se…
Ad fund
1.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
1.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Sushi Avenue: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Marketing / ad fund1.5% of gross sales
Technology fee$200
Training fee$500
Transfer fee$2K
Renewal fee$50
Inventory (initial)$4K – $30K
Total fee load1.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Sushi Avenue makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Sushi Avenue unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $19K–$158K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $5K–$30K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$106K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 126 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 1.5% — below the Full-Service Restaurants median of 7.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 45.1% CAGR over 3 years across 329 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Sushi Avenue Compares

Metric
Sushi Avenue
Category median
vs median
Investment
$88K
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
329
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units329Verified — printed on page 58 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+45.1% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate7.4% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
329
Opened
213
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
7
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
7.4%
Company-owned
21
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
95%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+45.1%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+45.1%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
7
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
5
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
3
0.01 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
9
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
213
Franchised units
2024
309+96
Franchised units
2025
308-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 16 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 16 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Wisconsin

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

99 current owners across 16 states.

  • NV 31
  • CA 17
  • NM 15
  • FL 6
  • MO 6
  • CT 5
  • NJ 5
  • AL 2
  • AZ 2
  • IN 2
  • KS 2
  • MT 2
  • +4 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score75/100 (higher is better)
Litigation4 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier75Verdict score 75/100

Parent-level financials show positive net worth $510,658 but essentially no operating revenue ($3,313), and no Item 19 disclosure. Four Item-3 litigation matters against a mid-size 323-unit system (214 franchised) is not alarming on a per-unit basis. Stacked minor concerns: no Item 19 plus 4 suits plus opaque parent financials.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
6288

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

All 4 matters involve the predecessor entity Sushi Avenue, Incorporated (pre-dating SAH Holdings, LLC's franchise program launched Sept 2023). Three civil actions (2015-2016) were resolved via confidential settlement/dismissal. A 2024 Washington Securities Division consent order found 14 unregistered/undisclosed franchise-type agreements (2016-2024) in violation of the WFIPA; predecessor paid $2,000 in investigative costs and agreed to cease and desist.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Cavanaugh & Company, PLLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.1MYr 2: $0.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 75 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  2. 02HIGH4 litigation matters (moderate for 323-unit system)
  3. 03MINORParent-level financials, negligible standalone revenue $3,313
  4. 04MINORNo bankruptcy or going-concern

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 126 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 1.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term3 yrs
Renewal term3 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training48 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term3 years
Renewal term3 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ20 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice15 days
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMinnesota
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMN
Litigation count4
View Item 3 litigation summary

All 4 matters involve the predecessor entity Sushi Avenue, Incorporated (pre-dating SAH Holdings, LLC's franchise program launched Sept 2023). Three civil actions (2015-2016) were resolved via confidential settlement/dismissal. A 2024 Washington Securities Division consent order found 14 unregistered/undisclosed franchise-type agreements (2016-2024) in violation of the WFIPA; predecessor paid $2,000 in investigative costs and agreed to cease and desist.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
24 hrs
On-the-job training
24 hrs
Training location
Corporate Headquarters (Eagan, MN), Regional Locations, and/or designated Sushi Bar
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisor (typically obtains and assigns location within a Store)
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

99 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 99 contacts · $49
Free preview
(208) 678-••••ID
Unlock all 99 contacts
(702) 346-••••NV
(702) 268-••••NV
(702) 633-••••NV
(609) 693-••••NJ

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Sushi Avenue franchise?

The total investment to open a Sushi Avenue franchise ranges from $19K – $158K, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Sushi Avenue franchise owners earn?

Sushi Avenue makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Sushi Avenue?

Sushi Avenue is franchised by SAH Holdings, LLC. Its parent company is Sushi Avenue, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Sojitz Corporation. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Sushi Avenue FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Sushi Avenue FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Sushi Avenue's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Sushi Avenue (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Sushi Avenue franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Sushi Avenue has 329 total units in the United States, including 308 franchised units and 21 company-owned units. 213 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Sushi Avenue a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Sushi Avenue as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 75 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Sushi Avenue, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.