Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
NEXTCAR logo

Nextcar Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

AutomotiveMDFranchising since 2015
BAbove averageAbove average64/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$315K – $1.6M
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01774FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

NEXTCAR is a value car rental franchise serving local and neighborhood markets. Franchisees run rental branches, managing fleet, bookings, and rental contracts.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A NEXTCAR franchise requires a total initial investment of $315K – $1.6M, including a $25K – $125K franchise fee and an ongoing 4.0% royalty[2]. The 2025 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$315K – $1.6M
40th pct Automotive
Avg gross sales
N/A
Outlet subsetProjection
Royalty
4.0%
4th pct Automotive
Units
29
17th pct Automotive
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Automotive · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$315K – $1.6M
Median $368K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $125K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $47K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
4.0%
Median 6.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
5.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
29 units
Median 92 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
6.9%
Median 2.4%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Automotive median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $315K – $1.6M including a $25K franchise fee, 4.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports per-vehicle metrics rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 64/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -2 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 2 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAGItem 4 discloses a bankruptcy of an officer or of a company an officer ran, not of the franchisor. Review Item 4 for details.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
NPR Auto Group, LLC
Parent company
All Car Leasing, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
JJF Management Services, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
NP Franchise Group, LLC (formerly Priceless Rent-A-Car, LLC)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President
Michael DeLorenzo
Incorporated in
MD
HQ
11411 Rockville Pike, Rockville, Maryland 20852
Auditor
Councilor, Buchanan & Mitchell, P.C.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.9M
vs $2.1M prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 7

2 other brands on this site name JJF Management Services, Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2025 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Michael DeLorenzo
Headquarters
MD
Founded
2004
FDD year
2025
States available
6

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 159% above the typical automotive franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$315K – $1.6MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 25 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Verified — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$15K – $47K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

NEXTCAR: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$25K$25K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$15K$47K
Equipment, build-out, other$275K$1.5M
Total initial investment$315K$1.6M

Source: NEXTCAR 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$315K – $1.6M
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $47K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $125K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
4.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
5.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

NEXTCAR: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty4.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$89
Transfer fee$4K
Inventory (initial)$250K – $1.3M
Total fee load5.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typeper-vehicle metrics
Sample size9 outlets

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for NEXTCAR is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one NEXTCAR unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $315K–$1.6M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$47K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$985K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Reported for a subset of outlets rather than the whole system

Reported per transaction, not per outlet

Item 19 type
per-vehicle metrics
Sample size
9 outlets
vs category median 70 · small
Reporting year
2025
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2025
The FDD edition these figures were read from
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank40th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank4th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank17th
vs Automotive peers
Risk score rank25th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 167 Automotive brands

Showing the headline figures — all 153 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 5.0% — below the Automotive median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports per-vehicle metrics rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System expanding at 9.1% CAGR over 3 years across 29 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Automotive medians

How Nextcar Compares

Metric
Nextcar
Category median
vs median
Investment
$954K
$368Kmiddle half $178K–$858K · n=95
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.0Mmiddle half $695K–$1.8M · n=38
N/A
Unit Count
29
92middle half 23–293 · n=94
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Automotive brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units29Verified — printed on page 61 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+9.1% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate6.9% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
29
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
6.9%
Company-owned
17
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
41%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+9.1%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+9.1%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
6
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
11
Franchised units
2023
14+3
Franchised units
2024
12-2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 6 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

6

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score64/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average64Verdict score 64/100
Low confidence±15 pts
4979

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

One concluded matter: Schwartz v. JJF Management Services, Rent-A-Wreck of America, and Bundy American (predecessor). Franchise termination dispute filed 2007, ultimately resolved with damages of $83,440.80 awarded to Schwartz plus court orders regarding territory protection. Fully concluded by 2019.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

Subject: an officer. An officer’s own bankruptcy or a company an officer ran, not the franchisor’s

Bundy American, LLC (former parent, merged into franchisor via 2025 Corporate Reorganization) and Rent-A-Wreck of America, Inc. filed Chapter 11 petitions in District of Delaware on July 24, 2017. Both dismissed February 13, 2018. Officers Michael DeLorenzo and Ronald Jaffe were officers/directors of both entities at time of filing.

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Councilor, Buchanan & Mitchell, P.C.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.9MYr 2: $2.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Audited financials for NP Franchise Group, LLC; total revenues for fiscal year ended January 31, 2025 ($1,910,163) and January 31, 2024 ($2,144,836). Revenue streams: continuing license fees, reservation fee income, advertising fees, initial franchise fees, reservation services set-up fees.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 64 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDSystem contracting sharply: 29 units with -14.3% YoY decline indicates accelerating collapse
  2. 02MEDNo financial disclosure: Avg revenue and net income not disclosed prevents ROI validation
  3. 03HIGHSignificant litigation: Schwartz case established lifetime royalty-free rights for at least one franchisee, creating precedent risk and potential liability exposure
  4. 04MINORWide investment range: $315K-$1.59M spread indicates inconsistent unit economics or unclear cost structure
  5. 05MINORMinimum royalty structure: $800-$2,400 monthly floor may exceed gross profit on underperforming locations
  6. 06MEDUnknown contract terms: Missing franchise agreement term length prevents long-term commitment assessment

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 153 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 5.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial termNot extracted
Renewal termNot extracted
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training40 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius3 mi
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ20 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationFrederick County, Maryland
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawMD
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

One concluded matter: Schwartz v. JJF Management Services, Rent-A-Wreck of America, and Bundy American (predecessor). Franchise termination dispute filed 2007, ultimately resolved with damages of $83,440.80 awarded to Schwartz plus court orders regarding territory protection. Fully concluded by 2019.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
32 hrs
On-the-job training
7 hrs
Training location
Laurel, Maryland (Franchisee Service Center) or regional site
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisor approval required; franchisee selects site
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
ASAP (ASAP-Rent and ASAP-Rates)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: ASAP (ASAP-Rent and ASAP-Rates)

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a NEXTCAR franchise?

The total investment to open a NEXTCAR franchise ranges from $315K – $1.6M, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do NEXTCAR franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the NEXTCAR FDD discloses figures for part of the system but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns NEXTCAR?

NEXTCAR is franchised by NPR Auto Group, LLC. Its parent company is All Car Leasing, Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is JJF Management Services, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the NEXTCAR FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the NEXTCAR FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is NEXTCAR's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for NEXTCAR (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many NEXTCAR franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, NEXTCAR has 29 total units in the United States, including 12 franchised units and 17 company-owned units.

Is NEXTCAR a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates NEXTCAR as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 64 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent NEXTCAR, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Automotive franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Automotive category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.