Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Budget Rent A Car logo

Budget Rent A Car Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

AutomotiveNJFranchising since 2003
BAbove averageAbove average60/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$606K – $1.6M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (5)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00410Data QualityExcellent86%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Budget Rent A Car is a value-focused car-rental franchise serving leisure and business travelers. Franchisees operate rental locations managing the fleet, counter, reservations, and fuel and upsell revenue in a protected territory.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Budget Rent A Car franchise requires a total initial investment of $606K – $1.6M, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.5% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2024 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - figures are from a filing two or more years old

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$606K – $1.6M
49th pct Automotive
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
7.5%
37th pct Automotive
Units
1,374
52nd pct Automotive
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Automotive · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$606K – $1.6M
Median $368K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$55K – $72K
Median $40K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.5%
Median 6.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
49.5% of rev
Median 8.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (5)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 5 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
1,374 units
Median 92 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
1.5%
Median 2.4%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
15 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Automotive median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $606K – $1.6M including a $25K franchise fee, 7.5% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 60/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -13 franchised outlets in the latest year (7 opened, 20 closed) (Item 20).
  • LEGAL15 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Of these, 7 name the franchisor itself, 8 its parent, affiliates or predecessor. Pending claims are allegations, not findings.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Budget Rent A Car System, Inc.
Parent company
Avis Budget Car Rental, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2024 FDD
Ultimate parent
Avis Budget Group, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2024 FDD
Predecessor
Budget Rent A Car Corporation
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President and Chief Executive Officer, Americas
Joseph A. Ferraro
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
379 Interpace Parkway, Parsippany, New Jersey 07054
Auditor
Deloitte & Touche LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$12.0B
vs $12.0B prior year

Affiliated brands

  • of the Predecessor
  • that offers and supports franchises for
  • Wizard

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

2 other brands on this site name Avis Budget Group, Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2024 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Joseph A. Ferraro
Headquarters
NJ
Founded
2002
FDD year
2024
States available
31

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 195% above the typical automotive franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$606K – $1.6MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 27 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty7.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$55K – $72K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown12 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial License Purchase Feenot refundable$30K$30K
Construction, remodeling, decorating, and leasehold improvements$15K$50K
Furniture, fixtures, other fixed assets, and equipment$15K$28K
Signage$10K$25K
3 months' rent and security deposits$9K$18K
Vehicle Insurance Premiums$15K$38K
Grand opening advertising and promotional costs$2K$5K
Office supplies$500$2K
Miscellaneous opening costs$1K$3K
Automobiles$450K$1.3M
Travel and living expenses during training$3K$8K
Additional funds - three months$55K$72K
Total initial investment$606K$1.6M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$606K – $1.6M
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$55K – $72K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
7.5%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
49.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Budget Rent A Car: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.5% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Technology fee$42
Transfer fee$3K
Renewal fee$3K
Total fee load49.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Budget Rent A Car makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Budget Rent A Car unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $606K–$1.6M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $55K–$72K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.2M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 119 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 49.5% — above the Automotive median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -7.8% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Automotive medians

How Budget Rent A Car Compares

Metric
Budget Rent A Car
Category median
vs median
Investment
$1.1M
$368Kmiddle half $178K–$858K · n=95
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.0Mmiddle half $695K–$1.8M · n=38
N/A
Unit Count
1,374
92middle half 23–293 · n=94
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Automotive brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units1,374Verified — printed on page 70 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-7.8% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate1.5% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
1,374
Opened
7
Last reporting year
Closed
20
Turnover rate
1.5%
Company-owned
1,197
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
13%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-7.8%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-7.8%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Reacquired
5
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
89.8%
Units that stayed open
Ceased ops
8.5%
Units that stopped operating
2021
192
Franchised units
2022
190-2
Franchised units
2023
177-13
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 30 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 30 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Hawaii
  • Michigan

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

154 current owners across 30 states.

  • NJ 16
  • GA 15
  • UT 13
  • WI 11
  • KS 10
  • NV 9
  • AL 8
  • PA 8
  • TX 7
  • CA 6
  • MO 6
  • AK 5
  • +18 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 5 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
5
Loan volume
$1.7M
Median loan
$400K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (5)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 5 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (5)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (5)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
5
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$182K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
4

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (5)
Verdict score60/100 (higher is better)
Litigation15 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average60Verdict score 60/100

Budget Rent A Car presents high risk due to a contracting franchise system, multiple active litigation exposures including consumer fraud class actions, FTC regulatory violations, and complete absence of financial disclosure—making ROI validation impossible before substantial capital commitment.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Moderate confidence±9 pts
5169

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Two pending civil cases: (1) Bacon et al. v. Avis Budget Group/Payless Car Rental (D.N.J., 2016) - class action re fraudulent counter sales; (2) Valli v. Avis Budget Group (D.N.J., 2014) - class action re speeding violation fees/consumer fraud. One FTC Consent Order (Docket No. C-4212) effective until January 2, 2028 regarding fuel charge disclosures. Multiple concluded cases involving settlements.

Largest disclosed settlement: $33,956,613

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Deloitte & Touche LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $12008.0MYr 2: $11994.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 financial statements are the audited consolidated financials of parent/guarantor Avis Budget Group, Inc. (not the franchisor BRACS standalone), as of Dec 31, 2023 and 2022. The numeric balance sheet and statement of operations tables did not extract as text in this file; only the auditor's report narrative is present. Deloitte & Touche LLP has served as auditor since 1997.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 60 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count (-6.8% YoY) signals system contraction and reduced franchisee support infrastructure
  2. 02HIGHMultiple pending class actions for consumer fraud and deceptive practices indicate systemic operational or marketing issues
  3. 03MINORTwo FTC consent orders on fuel charges and damage disclosure suggest repeated regulatory violations and compliance failures
  4. 04MINORNo Item 19 financial performance disclosure prevents validation of claimed profitability and revenue potential
  5. 05MINORHigh initial investment ($605K-$1.57M) combined with 7.5% royalty creates significant fixed cost burden with unproven returns
  6. 06HIGHLabor law litigation and contractor misclassification claims suggest HR/compliance risk for franchisees
  7. 07MINORShrinking system with declining units reduces brand value, reservation volume, and corporate support resources

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 119 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

Litigation case detail15 matters · Item 3

Litigation cases

The franchisor

Concluded (7)

  • Faiz Ahmed, d/b/a Premium Autos, LLC and Ahsan Syed, d/b/a ARS, Inc. v. Avis Rent A Car System, Inc., a Delaware Corporation, Budget Rent A Car System, Inc., a Delaware Corporation, Avis Budget Group, Inc., a Delaware Corporation and DOES 1-100, Inclusive

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2013-12-31 · Superior Court for the State of California for the District of Rancho Cucamonga, County of San Bernardino · CIVRS 1308871

    “On December 31, 2013, plaintiffs, agency operators of Avis and Budget, filed a complaint against Avis, Budget, and ABG, seeking relief under California’s wage and hour laws to remedy the alleged misclassification of agency operators as independent contractors rather than classifying each of the Plaintiffs as employees.”Page 13 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The parties entered into settlement agreements in December 2018 where a total settlement of $1,758,000 (Ahmed: $500,000, Syed: $500,000, Huseinbhai: $250,000, and Sansone: $250,000) was paid to the trust account of LA Superlawyers, Inc. on behalf of each of the plaintiffs.”

  • Herbert Johnson v. Budget Rent A Car System, Inc.

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2013-08-06 · Cook County Circuit Court, State of Illinois · 13-CH-18361

    “Herbert Johnson v. Budget Rent A Car System, Inc. (Cook County Circuit Court, State of Illinois, Case No. 13-CH-18361). On August 6, 2013, Plaintiff filed a purported class action lawsuit alleging violations of the Illinois Consumer Fraud Act and Illinois Vehicle Code for charges and collection of State Sales tax imposed on airport customer facility charges.”Page 14 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3
  • Venerus v. Avis Budget Car Rental, LLC et al.

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2013-06-12 · United States District Court for the Middle District of Florida · 13-CV-921

    “Venerus v. Avis Budget Car Rental, LLC et al. (United States District Court for the Middle District of Florida, Case No. 13-CV-921). On June 12, 2013, plaintiff Heather Venerus, a renter of a Budget vehicle, filed a purported class action lawsuit against ABCR and Budget.”Page 14 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“ABCR and Budget agreed to make a total of up to $33,956,613.00 available for settlement of all claims in this matter.”

  • Daniel Klein and Stephanie Klein, on behalf of themselves and others similarly situated v. Budget Rent A Car System, Inc. and Avis Budget Car Rental, LLC

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2012-11-27 · United States District Court for the District of New Jersey · 2:12-CV-07300-JLL-MAH

    “On November 27, 2012, Plaintiffs Daniel Klein and Stephanie Klein, participants in Budget’s travel rewards program (“Travel Rewards Program”), filed a putative class action against ABCR and Budget, alleging a failure to adequately disclose to participants in the Travel Rewards Program that defendants impose a surcharge for frequent flyer miles earned through online rental transactions.”Page 15 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3
  • Luigi Ambrose, et al. v. Avis Rent A Car System, Inc., Budget Rent A Car System, Inc., Avis Budget Group, Inc.

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2011-10-14 · United States District Court for the Central District of California · 2:11-CV-09992-CAS-AGR

    “Luis Ambrose, and 17 other current and former agency operators of Avis or Budget, filed a complaint against Avis, Budget, and ABG. The case was filed in state court and subsequently removed to federal court. The complaint alleges, among other things, that Avis/Budget agency operators have been misclassified as independent contractors under California Law.”Page 16 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3
  • Gregory Chase v. Budget

    dismissed

    Third-party plaintiff · filed 2010 · Second Judicial District Court for the State of New Mexico · CV-MO-08530

    “Under that program, Budget is a preferred rental car partner. Plaintiff alleges that a $0.75 per day charge for renters under Southwest’s program is a breach of contract as it is not disclosed and its charge and collection constitutes an unfair and deceptive trade practice. A stipulation of dismissal was filed on March 2, 2015.”Page 14 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3
  • In the Matter of Budget Rent A Car System, Inc.

    concluded

    Government or regulatory action · Federal Trade Commission · Docket No. C-4212

    “In the Matter of Budget Rent A Car System, Inc. (Federal Trade Commission Docket No. C-4212). The Federal Trade Commission (“FTC”) undertook an investigation of Budget’s practices alleging that Budget engaged in unfair and deceptive practices related to fuel charges imposed upon renters who drive less than 75 miles.”Page 13 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

Parent, affiliates and predecessor

Pending (2)

  • Abigail Bacon, Arcadia Lee, Jeannine Devries, Lisa Geary, Richard Alexander, Yvonne Wheeler and George Davidson and on behalf of themselves and the putative class v. Avis Budget Group, Inc. and Payless Car Rental, Inc.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · Avis Budget Group, Inc. (ABG, ultimate parent) and affiliate Payless Car Rental, Inc. · filed 2016-09-26 · United States District Court for the District of New Jersey · 2:16-cv-05939-KM-JBC

    “Plaintiffs filed this lawsuit on September 26, 2016 alleging that Payless has a pattern and practice of fraudulent counter sales including: 1) “add-on” sales—practice of adding coverages that were declined by customers; and 2) Fuel charges-customers were charged for fuel reserving services even though they returned the vehicle full.”Page 12 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3
  • Dawn Valli vs. Avis Budget Group, Inc.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · Avis Budget Group, Inc. (ABG, ultimate parent) · filed 2014-09-30 · United States District Court, District of New Jersey · 2:2014-cv-06072-CCC-JBC

    “Dawn Valli vs. Avis Budget Group, Inc. (United States District Court, District of New Jersey, Case No. 2:2014-cv-06072-CCC-JBC ) On September 30, 2014, Plaintiff Dawn Valli filed an alleged class action suit for violation of the New Jersey Consumer Fraud Act, breach of good faith, and unjust enrichment arising from payment of speeding violation incurred in Washington DC and administrative fees.”Page 12 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

Concluded (6)

  • Kirit Bakshi v. ABCR Avis Budget Group, et als.

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · Avis Budget Car Rental, LLC (ABCR, direct parent) / Avis Budget Group, Inc. (ABG) · filed 2020-02-18 · United States District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan · 2:20-cv-10419-DML-MJH

    “On February 18, 2020, Plaintiff filed a complaint alleging violations of the Michigan Consumer Protection Act, California Unfair Business Practices (Bus. & Prof. Code Section 17200) and the New Jersey Consumer Fraud Act. Plaintiff alleges ABG/Costco fraudulently, uniformly, routinely and systematically imposed unauthorized and/or specifically declined charges”Page 13 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The parties settled this case on December 2, 2022 for $20,000 and the case was closed on December 14, 2022.”

  • Canadian Competition Authority

    settled

    Government or regulatory action · Avis Budget Group, Inc. (ABG) and two of its Canadian subsidiaries · filed 2015 · Competition Tribunal (Canada)

    “Canadian Competition Authority. In March 2015, the Canadian Competition Bureau filed an application with the Competition Tribunal alleging that ABG and two of its Canadian subsidiaries engaged in deceptive marketing practices with regard to certain charges that consumers are invoiced related to renting a vehicle and associated products in Canada.”Page 15 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The case was settled with ABG paying $3.25 million on June 2, 2016.”

  • J&J Marshall, Inc., a California corporation v. Robert Koneti, individually, BVR Solutions, Inc., a California Corporation and Avis Budget Group, Inc., a Delaware corporation and DOES 1-40, inclusive

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · Avis Budget Group, Inc. (ABG) · filed 2013 · Superior Court of the State of California for Ventura County · 56-2013004455653 CU-NP-VTA

    “On or about May 1, 2012, Plaintiff purchased the operating rights to the Budget Oxnard location from Defendants. On December 6 2013, plaintiff filed suit against Robert Koneti and BVR Solutions, and ABG, alleging that defendants made numerous intentionally false and damaging statements regarding the continued operation of the Budget Oxnard location.”Page 16 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The case settled for $400,000.00 and was dismissed on December 22, 2015.”

  • Faith Enterprises Group, Inc. on behalf of itself and all others similarly situated v. Avis Budget Group, Inc., Avis Budget Car Rental, LLC and Avis Rent A Car System, f/k/a Avis Rent A Car Systems, Inc.

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · Avis Budget Group, Inc. (ABG), with Avis Budget Car Rental, LLC and affiliate Avis Rent A Car System · filed 2011-09-19 · United States District Court for the Northern District of Georgia · 1:11-CV-3166

    “On September 19, 2011, plaintiff, an Avis agency operator, filed a complaint on behalf of itself and all others similarly situated. Plaintiff alleged, among other things, that: a) Avis listed agency operators locations as being “sold out” to divert business to nearby airports, b) Avis breached a duty to supply agency operators locations with sufficient vehicles for rental”Page 15 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3
  • Jose Mendez v. Avis Budget Group and Highway Toll Administration

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · Avis Budget Group, Inc. (ABG, ultimate parent) · filed 2011-11-07 · United States District Court for the District of New Jersey · 2:11-CV-06537

    “On November 7, 2011, Jose Mendez filed a putative nationwide class action lawsuit for breach of contract, unjust enrichment, and breach of the implied covenant of good faith for alleged failure to disclose E-Toll activations, fees, and charging non-discounted tolls.”Page 15 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“Avis Budget Group paid $6,700,000 in legal fees and $2,700,000 in settlement costs.”

  • In the Matter of Budget Rent-A-Car Systems Inc.

    concluded

    Government or regulatory action · Budget Rent-A-Car Systems Inc. (BRAC, “Systems”), described as an affiliate of the Predecessor (Budget Rent A Car Corporation) · Federal Trade Commission · Docket No. C3674

    “On June 21, 1996, the FTC made final the Consent Order with BRAC, an affiliate of the Predecessor (“Systems”), which settled charges that Systems engaged in deceptive practices when failing to disclose potential charges to customers of “loss of turnback” values exceeding the cost of repairs, when those customers returned their cars with significant damage.”Page 14 of the 2024 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The Consent Order required Systems to pay the FTC $75,000 for consumer redress.”

Item 3 lists the litigation the franchisor must disclose; a matter against a parent, an affiliate or a named officer is not a matter against the franchisor, and pending claims are allegations, not findings.

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 49.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training73 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population25,000
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Non-compete (miles)ℹ5 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window60 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice180 days
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawNJ
Litigation count15
View Item 3 litigation summary

Two pending civil cases: (1) Bacon et al. v. Avis Budget Group/Payless Car Rental (D.N.J., 2016) - class action re fraudulent counter sales; (2) Valli v. Avis Budget Group (D.N.J., 2014) - class action re speeding violation fees/consumer fraud. One FTC Consent Order (Docket No. C-4212) effective until January 2, 2028 regarding fuel charge disclosures. Multiple concluded cases involving settlements.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
73 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Web-based (Workday Learning); on-the-job at franchisee location if required
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee with Budget approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Wizard
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Wizard

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

154 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 154 contacts · $49
Free preview
732-356-••••NJ
Unlock all 154 contacts
218-727-••••MN
702-568-••••NV
404-530-••••GA
907-283-••••AK

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Budget Rent A Car franchise?

The total investment to open a Budget Rent A Car franchise ranges from $606K – $1.6M, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Budget Rent A Car franchise owners earn?

Budget Rent A Car makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Budget Rent A Car?

Budget Rent A Car is franchised by Budget Rent A Car System, Inc.. Its parent company is Avis Budget Car Rental, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Avis Budget Group, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Budget Rent A Car FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Budget Rent A Car FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Budget Rent A Car's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Budget Rent A Car (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Budget Rent A Car franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Budget Rent A Car has 1,374 total units in the United States, including 177 franchised units and 1,197 company-owned units. 7 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Budget Rent A Car a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Budget Rent A Car as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 60 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Budget Rent A Car, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Automotive franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Automotive category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.