Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Moms On The Run logo

Moms On The Run Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Health & FitnessMNFranchising since 2012
DBelow averageBelow average36/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$14K – $21K
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01669Data QualityStandard76%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Moms On The Run is a women's fitness franchise offering group workout and running programs for all fitness levels. Franchisees run local programs, coaching classes and managing enrollment, sessions, and community events.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Moms On The Run franchise requires a total initial investment of $14K – $21K, including a $10K franchise fee. The 2024 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$14K – $21K
1st pct Health & Fitn…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Outlet subset
Royalty
Set by a formula
Units
41
66th pct Health & Fitn…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Health & Fitness · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$14K – $21K
Median $392K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$10K – $10K
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$0 – $2K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 7.0%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 9.0%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
41 units
Median 17 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
29.3%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Health & Fitness median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $14K – $21K including a $10K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThe figure shown was the TOP QUINTILE — five franchised locations (printed p.25). The bottom quintile of five averaged $4,453, and the middle fifteen of the twenty-five locations open the full period are not disclosed at all. No overall average is printed.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 36/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -11 franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 12 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAG5 units terminated last reporting year (12.2% of the system). Ask existing franchisees why.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Moms on the Run, LLC
Predecessor
Premier Physique, LLC
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Manager (President)
Karissa Johnson
Incorporated in
MN
HQ
15226 West Freeway Drive, Columbus, MN 55025
Auditor
Kezos & Dunlavy
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$375K
vs $373K prior year

Affiliated brands

  • Premier Physique

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Karissa Johnson
Headquarters
MN
Founded
2011
FDD year
2024
States available
3

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 96% below the typical health & fitness franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$14K – $21KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$9,995Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
RoyaltySet by a formula
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$0 – $2K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown12 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$10K$10K
Off Season Rentals——
Telephone and Telephone Service$0$440
Business Cards$30$60
Advertising$1K$1K
Computer System$0$2K
Insurance$175$210
Internet Service$0$150
Training Expenses$0$450
Licensing and Permits$0$3K
Digital Brand Awareness Advertising Packagenot refundable$3K$3K
Additional Funds - 3 months$0$2K
Total initial investment$14K$21K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$14K – $21K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$0 – $2K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$10K – $10K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
$195 per month, plus $10 per month per customer over 60 a…
Ad fund
National Brand Marketing Fee is a fixed monthly fee payab…

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Moms On The Run: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Technology fee$75
Training fee$4K
Transfer fee$3K

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typegross sales
Sample size25

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Moms On The Run is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Moms On The Run unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $14K–$21K (midpoint used)
Item 7 didn't break this out. Enter your pre-opening cash burn

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$19K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

The figure shown was the TOP QUINTILE — five franchised locations (printed p.25). The bottom quintile of five averaged $4,453, and the middle fifteen of the twenty-five locations open the full period are not disclosed at all. No overall average is printed.

Reported for a subset of outlets rather than the whole system

Item 19 type
gross sales
Sample size
25
vs category median 11 · large
Range (low → high)
$2K→$36KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 32 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Cohort dispersion (min → max)
Reporting year
2023
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2024
Disclosed in the 2024 filing, covering 2023
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank1th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank
No comparison data
Unit count rank66th
vs Health & Fitness peers
Risk score rank87th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 173 Health & Fitness brands

Showing the headline figures — all 111 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Item 19 · by group

What the filing does disclose

Item 19 of this FDD reports performance in more than one group. We publish no single average for this brand; the groups the filing does disclose are listed below, quoted from its own Item 19 table.

Each row below is quoted from the FDD's own Item 19 table. Gross sales are not profit.

Outlet subset

Item 19 detail

What these figures cover

The figure shown was the TOP QUINTILE — five franchised locations (printed p.25). The bottom quintile of five averaged $4,453, and the middle fifteen of the twenty-five locations open the full period are not disclosed at all. No overall average is printed.

top quartile

SegmentSampleAvg
TOP 20% OF FRANCHISED LOCATIONS BY GROSS REVENUES5$27K

bottom quartile

SegmentSampleAvg
BOTTOM 20% OF FRANCHISED LOCATIONS BY GROSS REVENUES5$4K

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.

Operator retention

System contracting at -35.9% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Health & Fitness medians

How Moms On The Run Compares

Metric
Moms On The Run
Category median
vs median
Investment
$18K
$392Kmiddle half $226K–$620K · n=172
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$477Kmiddle half $316K–$739K · n=65
N/A
Unit Count
41
17middle half 5–70 · n=171
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Health & Fitness brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units41Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 32 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-35.9% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate29.3% (caution)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
41
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
12
Terminated
5
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
1
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
29.3%
Company-owned
16
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
61%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
Outlier
Reported value implausible. See FDD Item 20
Net growth (3-yr)
-35.9%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-35.9%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
5
Not renewed
1
Transferred
0
Reacquired
5
Franchisor bought back
Continuity rate
67.6%
Units that stayed open
Termination rate
24.0%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
25.0%
Units that stopped operating
2021
39
Franchised units
2022
36-3
Franchised units
2023
25-11
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 4 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 4 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Minnesota

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

14 current owners across 3 states; 5 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

  • MN 12
  • FL 1
  • GA 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score36/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average36Verdict score 36/100

Moms On The Run is a contracting franchise system with severe transparency gaps, declining unit count, and no disclosed profitability data — suggesting weak unit economics and potential systemic operational issues.

Low confidence±18 pts
1854

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Kezos & Dunlavy

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.4MYr 2: $0.4M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 36 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure — inability or unwillingness to provide Item 19 financial performance data is a major transparency red flag
  2. 02MINORRoyalty structure incentivizes growth but declining units suggest franchisees cannot profitably reach 60+ customer threshold
  3. 03MINORLow initial investment ($13.9K-$21.1K) may indicate low barrier to entry AND low barrier to exit/failure
  4. 04MINOR5-year term is shorter than industry standard (typically 10 years) — suggests franchisor or franchisees lack long-term confidence

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 111 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training15 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius3 mi
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice60 days
Termination groundsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMN
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
15 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Online
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
4 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisor

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

19 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 19 contacts · $49
Free preview
651-300-••••MN
Unlock all 19 contacts
206-755-••••MN
720-252-••••GA
763-732-••••MN
612-816-••••MN

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Moms On The Run franchise?

The total investment to open a Moms On The Run franchise ranges from $14K – $21K, with an initial franchise fee of $10K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Moms On The Run franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the Moms On The Run FDD discloses outlet figures from $2K to $36K but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Moms On The Run?

Moms On The Run is franchised by Moms on the Run, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Moms On The Run FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Moms On The Run FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Moms On The Run's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Moms On The Run (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Moms On The Run franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Moms On The Run has 41 total units in the United States, including 25 franchised units and 16 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Moms On The Run a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Moms On The Run as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 36 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Moms On The Run, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Health & Fitness franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Health & Fitness category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.