Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Scoops Lacrosse logo

Scoops Lacrosse Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Health & FitnessMassachusettsFranchising since 2024
CAverageAverage41/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$47K – $59K
Disclosed sales
$624K
gross sales, not profit
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02255FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Scoops Lacrosse is a youth sports franchise offering lacrosse instruction, clinics, and skills programs for young players. Franchisees run local programs, managing coaches, scheduling, and enrollment.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Scoops Lacrosse franchise requires a total initial investment of $47K – $59K, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. Per the 2025 FDD, average unit revenue was $624K[2]. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2024. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored6 of 7 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$47K – $59K
5th pct Health & Fitn…
Avg gross sales
$624K
Company-owned only1 outlet
Royalty
7.0%
37th pct Health & Fitn…
Units
1
2nd pct Health & Fitn…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Health & Fitness · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$47K – $59K
Median $392K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$3K – $4K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
$624K
Median $477K
above median ↑, better than category
Company-owned only1 outlet
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 7.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.5% of rev
Median 9.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
1 units
Median 17 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Health & Fitness median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $47K – $59K including a $35K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSAverage unit revenue of $624K/year (company-owned outlets only - not franchisee performance). Note: this is gross profit, not take-home income.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 41/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative, pipeline stalled: 2 agreements signed but not yet open against 1 open outlets (Item 20).
  • FLAGRevenue data based on only 1 outlet. Treat as directional, not definitive. Ask franchisees directly for current unit economics.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Scoops Lacrosse Franchising LLC
Ultimate parent
Scoops Lacrosse, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
AND AFFILIATES
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Manager (Founder / Chief Scoops Officer)
Matt Belson
CEO experience
7 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
Massachusetts
HQ
2 Sunday Woods Road, Weston, Massachusetts, 02493
Auditor
Troy, MI-based independent auditor (firm name not stated in extracted text)
Audited financials

Overview

About

CEO
Matt Belson
Headquarters
Massachusetts
Founded
2017
FDD year
2025
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 87% below the typical health & fitness franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$47K – $59KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$35,000Verified — printed on page 7 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty7.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$3K – $4K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown11 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$35K$35K
Initial Training Expenses$1K$4K
Equipment$2K$4K
Vehicle Signage (Magnets)$100$250
Business Licenses, Permits, and Background Checks$150$350
Computer Systems$1K$2K
Initial Inventory - T-Shirts$1K$3K
Grand Opening Advertising$2K$3K
Professional Fees$1K$2K
Insurancenot refundable$514$750
Additional Funds - 3 months$3K$4K
Total initial investment$46K$58K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$47K – $59K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$3K – $4K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
7.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Scoops Lacrosse: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.5% of gross sales
Technology fee$233
Transfer fee$18K
Renewal fee$5K
Total fee load7.5% of rev

What do units actually make?

Average unit sales run 31% above the health & fitness norm.

Avg gross sales$624K

Company-owned outlets only - not franchisee performance

Based on a single outlet - not a system average

Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 30 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typegross sales
Sample size1 outlet

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

Single-unit · not modelled

Returns at a glance

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit, and the operating costs that turn one into the other are in no filing. We publish no modelled return for Scoops Lacrosse until someone supplies them — yours, in the models below.

—

Not modelled yet

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.

Total invested capital · disclosed

$56K

Item 7 initial investment plus working capital, as filed — the one figure here that needs no assumption.

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

What one unit earns on your invested capital

Model A · Single-Unit Return

Computes unlevered return on invested capital (ROIC) for a single franchise unit, read against the 30–60% reference band · Yale SOM, Post-MBA Path Exhibit 2 (2023). Below that band a passive index fund likely outperforms; above it the franchisor has pricing power you're subsidizing.

Note: Item 19 revenue is what the franchisor discloses, and it is the top line only — gross sales are not profit. No FDD discloses the operating costs that turn one into the other, so those fields start empty and nothing is modelled until you supply them from your own lease quote, labor market and build-out budget.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Scoops Lacrosse unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearFDD
FDD Item 19 reports $624,408 per unit — Company-owned outlets only - not franchisee performance. Adjust to a franchisee figure before relying on this.
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $47K–$59K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $3K–$4K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$56K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

What 25 units return when you use SBA financing

Model B · Return on Equity: Debt-Financed Acquisition

Models a 25-unit portfolio acquisition financed with an SBA 7(a) loan. Shows equity IRR (your return on cash invested), DSCR (how safely the cash flow covers debt service), and the capital stack (SBA + seller + equity breakdown).

This is the “search fund” or “entrepreneurship through acquisition” scenario: you buy an existing multi-unit operator, use leverage to amplify returns, and either operate or hire management. The 25-unit size is the typical minimum for an SBA-backed franchise portfolio acquisition to pencil as a full-time income.

What “return on equity” means here: if you put in $500K of your own cash and the business generates enough EBITDA to pay down debt and grow, your equity IRR is the annual return on that $500K, including the value created when you eventually sell. Target IRR for a search fund is typically 25–35%.

Not modelled yet

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.

A 25-unit return is built on a per-unit EBITDA. Fill in the operating costs in Model A above and this model runs on that figure, or take the whole scenario to the full ROI workbench, where the portfolio and LBO models accept your own per-unit economics directly.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Company-owned outlets only - not franchisee performance

Based on a single outlet - not a system average

Avg gross sales
$624K
Per unit, per year

Gross sales are revenue before expenses — not profit. Actual owner earnings depend on rent, labor, royalties, marketing fees, and debt service.

Item 19 type
gross sales
Sample size
1 outlet
vs category median 11 · small
Reported figure
$624KNot cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
A single outlet — not a range
Reporting year
2024
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2025
Disclosed in the 2025 filing, covering 2024
Transparency
8 / 10
vs category median 4 / 10 · above
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank5th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank37th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank2th
vs Health & Fitness peers
Risk score rank69th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 173 Health & Fitness brands

Showing the headline figures — all 144 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →
Revenue insight

Revenue is 11.8x the investment midpoint. At typical franchise margins, this suggests a payback under 3 years.

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Unit economics

Average unit generates $624K/year in gross sales. Revenue-to-investment ratio: 11.8x. Company-owned outlets only - not franchisee performance.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.5% — below the Health & Fitness median of 9.0%.

Disclosure

Transparency score 8/10 — this franchisor discloses detailed breakdowns (quartiles, segments, or cohort data). Buyers can model unit economics with higher confidence. Sample size of 1 outlet — treat as directional only.

Operator retention

Net unit growth roughly flat at 0.0%.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Health & Fitness medians

How Scoops Lacrosse Compares

Metric
Scoops Lacrosse
Category median
vs median
Investment
$53K
$392Kmiddle half $226K–$620K · n=172
Below median, better than category
Revenue
$624K
$477Kmiddle half $316K–$739K · n=65
Above median, better than category
Unit Count
1
17middle half 5–70 · n=171
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Health & Fitness brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units1Verified — printed on page 31 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it one way.
3-yr growth+0.0%

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
1
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.0%
Net unit change over 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
2
2.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
4
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
0±0
Franchised units
2024
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score41/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage41Verdict score 41/100

Brand-new franchisor (began franchising 2024) with only 1 company-owned unit and 0 franchised units. Financials are thin: net worth $63,502 and a net loss of $48,802, but audited with Item 19 disclosed and no litigation or bankruptcy.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
2854

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Troy, MI-based independent auditor (firm name not stated in extracted text)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 41 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORVery early stage: franchising since 2024, only 1 unit total (company-owned)
  2. 02MINORNet loss of $48,802 against a tiny net worth of $63,502
  3. 03MEDNo litigation, no bankruptcy, audited financials, Item 19 disclosed

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 144 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training40 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population500,000
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice5 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMassachusetts
Governing lawMassachusetts
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
15 hrs
On-the-job training
25 hrs
Training location
headquarters and on-site
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
16 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee (home-based; no site selection required by franchisor)
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Squarespace
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Squarespace

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1 contacts · $49
Free preview
508-259-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Scoops Lacrosse franchise?

The total investment to open a Scoops Lacrosse franchise ranges from $47K – $59K, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Scoops Lacrosse franchise owners earn?

According to Item 19 of the Scoops Lacrosse FDD, the average gross sales per unit is $624K. Important context: Company-owned outlets only - not franchisee performance; Based on a single outlet - not a system average. Note: this is gross revenue, not profit. Actual owner earnings vary based on location, operating costs, and management.

Who owns Scoops Lacrosse?

Scoops Lacrosse is franchised by Scoops Lacrosse Franchising LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Scoops Lacrosse, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Scoops Lacrosse FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Scoops Lacrosse FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Scoops Lacrosse's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Scoops Lacrosse (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Scoops Lacrosse franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Scoops Lacrosse has 1 total units in the United States.

Is Scoops Lacrosse a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Scoops Lacrosse as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 41 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Scoops Lacrosse, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Health & Fitness franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Health & Fitness category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.