Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Lice Clinics of America logo

Lice Clinics of America Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

HealthcareUTFranchising since 2013
CAverageAverage45/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$120K – $168K
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01491FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent95%
Manager-run OKYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Lice Clinics of America is a healthcare franchise operating clinics that provide guaranteed, medical-grade head-lice treatment and removal. Franchisees run a clinic managing trained technicians, treatments, and retail prevention products.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Lice Clinics of America franchise requires a total initial investment of $120K – $168K, including a $80K franchise fee and an ongoing 8.0% royalty[2]. The 2025 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$120K – $168K
20th pct Healthcare
Avg gross sales
N/A
Partial period
Royalty
8.0%
57th pct Healthcare
Units
90
60th pct Healthcare
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Healthcare · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$120K – $168K
Median $321K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$80K – $80K
Median $50K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$6K – $8K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
8.0%
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
12.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
90 units
Median 23 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
20.0%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
7 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Healthcare median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $120K – $168K including a $80K franchise fee, 8.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports gross sales by quartile monthly rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 45/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -12 franchised outlets in the latest year (6 opened, 18 closed); 10 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • FLAGBankruptcy history disclosed in the FDD. Review Item 4 for details before proceeding.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Larada Sciences, Inc.
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Claire Roberts
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
4873 South State Street, Murray, Utah 84107
Auditor
Bangerter, Lund & Associates
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$5.2M
vs $6.5M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Claire Roberts
Headquarters
UT
Founded
2006
FDD year
2025
States available
29

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 55% below the typical healthcare franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$120K – $168KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$79,500Verified — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty8.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$6K – $8K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Lice Clinics of America: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$80K$80K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$6K$8K
Equipment, build-out, other$35K$80K
Total initial investment$120K$168K

Source: Lice Clinics of America 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$120K – $168K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$6K – $8K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$80K – $80K
Bottom third — review vs category
Royalty
8.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
4.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
12.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Lice Clinics of America: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty8.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund4.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$420
Training fee$2K
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$2K – $4K
Total fee load12.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typepartial-period revenue
Sample sizeNot extracted

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Lice Clinics of America is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Lice Clinics of America unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $120K–$168K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $6K–$8K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$151K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Item 19 reports gross sales by quartile monthly rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable. We omit it from rankings.

Showing the headline figures — all 149 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 12.0% — above the Healthcare median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports gross sales by quartile monthly rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System contracting at -19.8% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Healthcare medians

How Lice Clinics of America Compares

Metric
Lice Clinics of America
Category median
vs median
Investment
$144K
$321Kmiddle half $178K–$530K · n=133
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$676Kmiddle half $496K–$929K · n=48
N/A
Unit Count
90
23middle half 5–101 · n=132
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Healthcare brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units90Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 44 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-19.8% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate20.0% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
90
Opened
6
Last reporting year
Closed
18
Terminated
4
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
10
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
20.0%
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
99%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-19.8%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-19.8%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
4
Not renewed
10
Transferred
1
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
10
0.11 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
10
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
111
Franchised units
2023
101-10
Franchised units
2024
89-12
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 29 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

29

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

A system losing more than 10% of its units year-over-year is a red flag. Check whether closures are concentrated in specific regions.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score45/100 (higher is better)
Litigation7 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage45Verdict score 45/100

High-risk franchise with a contracting system, active litigation against franchisees, regulatory compliance issues, and insufficient financial transparency to validate unit economics.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
3258

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (plaintiff).

California Consent Order (2017) - $50K penalty, franchise law violations; Virginia Settlement Order (2018) - $15.5K penalty, unregistered franchise sales; Washington Consent Order (2018) - $9,725 investigative costs, unregistered franchise sales; 4 suits filed in 2024 against franchisees to enforce non-compete and collect royalties

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

Subject: the company or an affiliate. Disclosed (Item 4 covers the last 10 years)

Larada Sciences, Inc. (and 37 Ventures, LLC as guarantor) filed Chapter 11 reorganization March 19, 2021 in Central District of California (Case 9:21-bk-10269-DS). Plan confirmed September 8, 2022.

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Bangerter, Lund & Associates

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $5.2MYr 2: $6.5MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 audited statements (FY2022-2024) are scanned images with no extractable text. Figures shown are from the UNAUDITED interim consolidated statement of operations for Larada Sciences, Inc. for the 9 months ended Sep 30, 2025: Net Revenue $5,237,576; Gross Profit $3,742,192; Income from Operations $160,518; Other Income $35,234; Net Income $195,753. Balance sheet labels present but numeric columns were non-extractable images, so net worth/assets/liabilities are null.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 45 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDSystem contracting sharply (-11.9% YoY decline from 101 to 89 units) indicates franchisee failure or mass exits
  2. 02MINORFour active breach of contract/non-compete lawsuits filed by franchisor against franchisees in 2024 alone suggests franchisor-franchisee conflict and enforcement issues
  3. 03MINORThree regulatory settlement orders in California, Virginia, and Washington indicate compliance failures or customer protection violations
  4. 04MINORAverage revenue of $240,845 generates only ~$19,268 in annual royalties (8%), making 8% royalty burden heavy on thin margins
  5. 05MEDNet income not disclosed in Item 19 prevents verification that $240K revenue supports living wage after royalties, rent, labor, and supplies
  6. 06MEDHigh initial investment ($120K-$168K) combined with declining unit count and undisclosed profitability creates poor risk-reward ratio
  7. 07MINORFive-year term is relatively short given capital investment and client acquisition ramp time in service business

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 149 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 12.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training31 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory population500,000
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationSalt Lake County, Utah (litigation only, no arbitration)
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawUT
Litigation count7
View Item 3 litigation summary

California Consent Order (2017) - $50K penalty, franchise law violations; Virginia Settlement Order (2018) - $15.5K penalty, unregistered franchise sales; Washington Consent Order (2018) - $9,725 investigative costs, unregistered franchise sales; 4 suits filed in 2024 against franchisees to enforce non-compete and collect royalties

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
20 hrs
On-the-job training
11 hrs
Training location
Salt Lake City, Utah (or virtual); P&L training by third-party Approved Supplier (Profit Soup)
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee finds and negotiates, franchisor must approve site within 5 business days
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Meevo 2
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Meevo 2

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

4 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 4 contacts · $49
Free preview
801-430-••••
Unlock all 4 contacts
(801) 533-••••
866-277-••••
973-402-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Lice Clinics of America franchise?

The total investment to open a Lice Clinics of America franchise ranges from $120K – $168K, with an initial franchise fee of $80K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Lice Clinics of America franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the Lice Clinics of America FDD discloses figures for part of the system but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Lice Clinics of America?

Lice Clinics of America is franchised by Larada Sciences, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Lice Clinics of America FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Lice Clinics of America FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Lice Clinics of America's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Lice Clinics of America (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Lice Clinics of America franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Lice Clinics of America has 90 total units in the United States, including 89 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 6 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Lice Clinics of America a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Lice Clinics of America as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 45 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Lice Clinics of America, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Healthcare franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Healthcare category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.