Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
JDog Junk Removal & Hauling logo

JDog Junk Removal & Hauling Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

RetailPAFranchising since 2011
FWeakest tierWeakest tier14/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$30K – $187K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
31.2%
on 45 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01341FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Manager-run OKYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

JDog Junk Removal & Hauling is a junk-removal franchise operated by military veterans and their families. Franchisees run a route-based operation with branded trucks and crews handling residential and commercial hauling in a territory.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A JDog Junk Removal & Hauling franchise requires a total initial investment of $30K – $187K, including a $10K – $45K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 31.2% charge-off rate across 45 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: F (Weakest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2025 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - a newer filing may exist

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$30K – $187K
1st pct Retail
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Flat fee
Units
94
27th pct Retail
SBA charge-off
31.2%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Retail · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$30K – $187K
Median $336K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$10K – $45K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$9K – $60K
Median $35K
near median
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 5.0%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 8.0%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
31.2%
45 loans · Median 14.7%
above median ↑, worse than category
System Size
94 units
Median 61 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
36.2%
Median 3.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
2 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Retail median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $30K – $187K including a $10K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict F (Weakest tier), verdict score 14/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 31.2% across 45 loans (well above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -29 franchised outlets in the latest year (5 opened, 34 closed); 1 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • FLAG34 units terminated last reporting year (36.2% of the system). Ask existing franchisees why.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
JDog Franchises, LLC
Parent company
JD Investment Company, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
J Dog Franchises, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
1021 Old Cassatt Road, Suite 100, Berwyn, PA 19312
Auditor
Citrin Cooperman & Company, LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$2.6M
vs $3.6M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Gerald “Jerry” Flanagan
Headquarters
PA
Founded
2011
FDD year
2025
States available
27

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 68% below the typical retail franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$30K – $187KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$10,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
RoyaltyFlat fee
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$9K – $60K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

JDog Junk Removal & Hauling: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$10K$10K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$9K$60K
Equipment, build-out, other$11K$117K
Total initial investment$30K$187K

Source: JDog Junk Removal & Hauling 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$30K – $187K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$9K – $60K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$10K – $45K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
Flat monthly fee, tiered by territory size. Tier 1: $800/…
Ad fund
National Marketing Fund contribution is flat: currently $…

Ongoing fees · Item 6

JDog Junk Removal & Hauling: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Technology fee$0
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$10K
Inventory (initial)$500 – $3K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

JDog Junk Removal & Hauling makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one JDog Junk Removal & Hauling unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $30K–$187K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $9K–$60K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$143K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 122 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -51.0% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Retail medians

How JDog Junk Removal & Hauling Compares

Metric
JDog Junk Removal & Hauling
Category median
vs median
Investment
$109K
$336Kmiddle half $198K–$495K · n=128
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$803Kmiddle half $529K–$1.1M · n=54
N/A
Unit Count
94
61middle half 14–208 · n=126
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Retail brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units94Verified — printed on page 42 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-51.0% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate36.2% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
94
Opened
5
Last reporting year
Closed
34
Terminated
34
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
36.2%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-51.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-51.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
34
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
1
0.01 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
192
Franchised units
2023
123-69
Franchised units
2024
94-29
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 27 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

27

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

A system losing more than 10% of its units year-over-year is a red flag. Check whether closures are concentrated in specific regions.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

F
SBA Lending Health
Weak SBA lending record · 31.2% charge-off
Total loans
45
Loan volume
$6.5M
Median loan
$150K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
31.2%
on 45 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
68.8%
5-yr charge-off
35.7%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
7
Defaults
5
Typical loan rate
7.9%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
12.0%
brand above franchise avg ↑
Jobs supported
213
3.5 per loan
Lender concentration
81%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 88% went to startups / new businesses, 12% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in other waste collection, franchised businesses charge off at 12.0% vs 12.3% for independents — franchising is associated with 2% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Vintage analysis

JDog Junk Removal & Hauling charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
JDog Junk Removal & Hauling charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 3 vintages from 2020 to 2023. Rates range from 33.3% to 50.0%.0%5%10%15%20%25%30%35%40%45%50%'20'22'23

Top lenders financing JDog Junk Removal & Hauling franchisees

United Midwest Savings Bank National Association35 loans35.7%
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company2 loans—
The Huntington National Bank2 loans—

Showing 3 of 7 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for JDog Junk Removal & Hauling from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
9.6%
Avg SBA guarantee
83%
Avg interest rate
7.92%
Avg chargeoff amount
$118K
Lender concentration
81.4%
Job velocity
3.5 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
6.2%
NAICS 562119
Jobs supported
213

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 81% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1United Midwest Savings Bank National Association35$5.1M35.7%
2Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company2$125KN/A
3The Huntington National Bank2$135KN/A
4Celtic Bank Corporation1$150KN/A
5Five Star Bank1$15K0.0%
6Cadence Bank1$300KN/A
7Meridian Bank1$315K0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
FLFlorida7150.0%
OHOhio600.0%
TXTexas4266.7%
MIMichigan300.0%
PAPennsylvania300.0%
VAVirginia30--
ALAlabama20--
MDMaryland20--
NYNew York200.0%
CACalifornia11100.0%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2018
2
2019
3
2020
4
2021
7
2022
12
2023
10
2024
4
2025
1

Borrower profile

Startup38 (88%)
Existing (2+ yr)4 (9%)
Unanswered1 (2%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

Lending insight

A 31.2% charge-off rate means roughly 1 in 3 franchisees failed to repay their SBA loan. Investigate what changed.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 31.2% — 95% above the 16.0% national norm, i.e. higher lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off31.2% · 45 loans
Verdict score14/100 (higher is better)
Litigation2 cases · none name the franchisor
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

FWeakest tier14Verdict score 14/100

Declining franchise system with significant litigation exposure, missing financial disclosures, and corporate financial instability creates substantial risk for franchisee capital.

High confidence±4 pts
1018

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

1) Hopkins v. Advanced Call Center Technologies et al. (2020 class action FDCPA; settled $61,300 total). 2) LeDuc/Tripp v. Paredes et al. (2024 ERISA class action re ESOP; pending). Both involve director Christopher Debbas, not the franchisor directly.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Citrin Cooperman & Company, LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $2.6MYr 2: $3.6MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

FY2025 total revenues $2,566,480 (royalties $1,787,032; franchise fees $677,596; transfer fees $15,000; marketing revenue $86,852). Other income, net of $16,998 (interest income $19,900, other income $2,811, interest expense $(5,713)) is below the operating line. Net loss of $(10,838) for FY ended May 31, 2025. Fiscal year ends May 31.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 14 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDUnit count declined 23.6% year-over-year (94 units), indicating system contraction and franchisee struggles
  2. 02MINORTwo active lawsuits (one settled FDCPA violation, one pending ERISA class action) suggest operational/compliance issues and potential corporate liability exposure
  3. 03MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure in FDD Item 19, preventing accurate ROI assessment on $30K-$187K investment
  4. 04MINORTiered royalty structure ($800-$2000/month Tier 1) creates unclear earning expectations and suggests performance variance across franchisees
  5. 05MINOR15-year term is unusually long for service franchise with declining unit base, limiting franchisee exit flexibility

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 122 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term15 yrs
Renewal term15 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training40 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term15 years
Renewal term15 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory radius25 mi
Territory population200,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeNo
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ3 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ15 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationPhiladelphia, PA (non-binding mediation in Berwyn, PA first)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawPA
Litigation count2
View Item 3 litigation summary

1) Hopkins v. Advanced Call Center Technologies et al. (2020 class action FDCPA; settled $61,300 total). 2) LeDuc/Tripp v. Paredes et al. (2024 ERISA class action re ESOP; pending). Both involve director Christopher Debbas, not the franchisor directly.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
30 hrs
On-the-job training
10 hrs
Training location
Berwyn, PA (JDog University) and TBD field location
Time to open
1 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

78 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 78 contacts · $49
Free preview
(844) 438-••••
Unlock all 78 contacts
253-244-••••
586-473-••••
605-667-••••
610-858-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a JDog Junk Removal & Hauling franchise?

The total investment to open a JDog Junk Removal & Hauling franchise ranges from $30K – $187K, with an initial franchise fee of $10K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do JDog Junk Removal & Hauling franchise owners earn?

JDog Junk Removal & Hauling makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns JDog Junk Removal & Hauling?

JDog Junk Removal & Hauling is franchised by JDog Franchises, LLC. Its parent company is JD Investment Company, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the JDog Junk Removal & Hauling FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the JDog Junk Removal & Hauling FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is JDog Junk Removal & Hauling's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, JDog Junk Removal & Hauling has a charge-off rate of 31.2% across 45 loans, meaning 31.2% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many JDog Junk Removal & Hauling franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, JDog Junk Removal & Hauling has 94 total units in the United States, including 94 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 5 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is JDog Junk Removal & Hauling a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates JDog Junk Removal & Hauling as a F-grade franchise with a verdict score of 14 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent JDog Junk Removal & Hauling, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Retail franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Retail category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.