Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Desi District logo

Desi District Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsTXFranchising since 2024
CAverageAverage43/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$669K – $1.0M
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00741Data QualityExcellent86%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Desi District is a fast-casual franchise serving South Asian and Indian street food and dishes. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing food prep, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Desi District franchise requires a total initial investment of $669K – $1.0M, including a $30K – $40K franchise fee and an ongoing 4.0% royalty[2]. The 2024 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2024. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2024 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - figures are from a filing two or more years old

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored6 of 7 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$669K – $1.0M
85th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Company-owned only
Royalty
4.0%
3rd pct Service Resta…
Units
5
23rd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$669K – $1.0M
Median $486K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $40K
Median $35K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$75K – $100K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
4.0%
Median 5.5%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
4.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
5 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $669K – $1.0M including a $30K franchise fee, 4.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 43/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAItem 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands. Ask franchisees directly for full unit-level revenue.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Desi District Franchise Group, LLC
CEO title
Member
Sridhar Chigurupati
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
13389 Marmolada Drive, Frisco, TX 75035
Auditor
Naper CPA Group
Audited financials

Overview

About

CEO
Sridhar Chigurupati
Headquarters
TX
Founded
2016
FDD year
2024
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 74% above the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$669K – $1.0MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 21 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 15 of the 2024 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$75K – $100K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2024 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Desi District: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$30K$30K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$75K$100K
Equipment, build-out, other$564K$891K
Total initial investment$669K$1.0M

Source: Desi District 2024 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$669K – $1.0M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$75K – $100K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
4.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
4.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Desi District: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty4.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$20K – $40K
Total fee load4.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross sales$2.6MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 48 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Item 19 typegross sales by location
Sample size5

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Desi District is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Desi District unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $669K–$1.0M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $75K–$100K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$932K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

Company-owned outlets only - not franchisee performance

Median gross sales
$2.6M

Gross sales are revenue before expenses — not profit. Actual owner earnings depend on rent, labor, royalties, marketing fees, and debt service.

No system-wide average is published for this brand. The median and range below are what Item 19 supports; we show an average only where it reconciles against them.

Item 19 type
gross sales by location
Sample size
5
vs category median 19 · small
Range (low → high)
$546K→$7.5MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 48 of the 2024 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Cohort dispersion (min → max)
Reporting year
2023
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2024
Disclosed in the 2024 filing, covering 2023
Transparency
4 / 10
vs category median 4 / 10 · typical
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank85th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank3th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank23th
vs Quick-Service Restaurants peers
Risk score rank65th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 781 Quick-Service Restaurants brands

Showing the headline figures — all 137 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 4.0% — below the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Desi District Compares

Metric
Desi District
Category median
vs median
Investment
$845K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
5
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units5Verified — printed on page 50 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
5
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
5
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
4
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2021
0
Franchised units
2022
0±0
Franchised units
2023
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score43/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage43Verdict score 43/100

Desi District is an early-stage franchise with unclear unit economics, undisclosed profitability data, and corporate financial concerns that make this a speculative investment requiring extensive validation.

Low confidence±15 pts
2858

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Naper CPA Group

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 states the franchisor was formed 5/31/2024 and has not been in business three years; Exhibit F contains only an audited opening balance sheet dated 6/15/2024. No income statement or revenue figures are presented, and the balance sheet numbers were not present in the extracted text.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 43 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOROnly 5 units in system with unknown growth trajectory indicates minimal scale and unproven model replication
  2. 02MEDNet income not disclosed in Item 19 prevents ROI analysis — cannot validate if $3.9M avg revenue translates to acceptable profitability
  3. 03MEDExtremely high per-unit capital requirement relative to unit count suggests early-stage franchise with limited operational history

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 137 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 4.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training127 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ3
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory radius5 mi
Territory population50,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ5 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationFrisco, Texas
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawTX
Litigation count0

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
75 hrs
On-the-job training
52 hrs
Training location
Frisco, TX or Franchisee's Location
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
15 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee (with franchisor approval)
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
TOAST (Eatery POS), Block POS (Market POS)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: TOAST (Eatery POS), Block POS (Market POS)

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Desi District franchise?

The total investment to open a Desi District franchise ranges from $669K – $1.0M, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Desi District franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the Desi District FDD discloses a median of $2.6M but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Desi District?

Desi District is franchised by Desi District Franchise Group, LLC. The FDD names no parent company. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Desi District FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Desi District FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Desi District's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Desi District (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Desi District franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Desi District has 5 total units in the United States.

Is Desi District a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Desi District as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 43 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Desi District, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.