Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Dentsmart logo

Dentsmart Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

AutomotiveILFranchising since 2024
BAbove averageAbove average53/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$79K – $111K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00738FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent86%Pre-opening
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Dentsmart is an automotive franchise specializing in paintless dent repair and minor auto body cosmetic repairs. Franchisees run local operations, managing technicians, service, and dealer and consumer accounts.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Dentsmart franchise requires a total initial investment of $79K – $111K, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 8.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2024. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$79K – $111K
9th pct Automotive
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
8.0%
40th pct Automotive
Units
17
12th pct Automotive
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Automotive · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$79K – $111K
Median $368K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$20K – $40K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
8.0%
Median 6.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
10.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
17 units
Median 92 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 2.4%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Automotive median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $79K – $111K including a $25K franchise fee, 8.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 53/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Dentsmart LLC
Predecessor
Dentsmart, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Jeff Williams
Incorporated in
IL
HQ
1333 El Camino Drive, Pekin, IL 61554
Auditor
Rice Sullivan, LLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$4.6M
vs $8.7M prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Overview

About

CEO
Jeff Williams
Headquarters
IL
Founded
2022
FDD year
2025
States available
16

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 74% below the typical automotive franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$79K – $111KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 22 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Verified — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty8.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$20K – $40K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown12 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$25K$25K
Training Expenses$3K$3K
Security and utility deposits and other costs associated with establishing your office$0$5K
Office equipment, fixtures, leasehold improvements, whether purchased or leased$1K$1K
Tools$10K$10K
Business licenses and other licenses$2K$3K
Software and Hardware$2K$3K
Insurance$3K$3K
Grand opening advertising and marketing$2K$2K
Other Professional Fees$4K$6K
Technician Training$9K$9K
Additional Funds - 3 months$20K$40K
Total initial investment$79K$109K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$79K – $111K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$20K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
8.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
Currently the Administrative Fee is $100, from which $20 …
Total fee load
10.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Dentsmart: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty8.0% of net sales
Technology fee$50
Transfer fee$2K
Renewal fee$5K
Total fee load10.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Dentsmart makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Dentsmart unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $79K–$111K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $20K–$40K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$125K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 10.0% — above the Automotive median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 8.3% CAGR over 3 years across 17 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Automotive medians

How Dentsmart Compares

Metric
Dentsmart
Category median
vs median
Investment
$95K
$368Kmiddle half $178K–$858K · n=95
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.0Mmiddle half $695K–$1.8M · n=38
N/A
Unit Count
17
92middle half 23–293 · n=94
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Automotive brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units17Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 51 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth+8.3% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
17
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
4
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
81%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+8.3%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+8.3%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
2
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
13
Franchised units
2023
13±0
Franchised units
2024
13±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 8 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 8 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

12 current owners across 8 states.

  • IL 4
  • TN 2
  • IA 1
  • MN 1
  • NC 1
  • NY 1
  • OH 1
  • WI 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score53/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases · none name the franchisor
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average53Verdict score 53/100

Dentsmart presents CAUTION-level risk due to regulatory history, missing financial transparency, minimal unit growth over 13+ years, and dual royalty structure, requiring intensive franchisee validation before investment.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
4066

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

State of Minnesota Dept. of Commerce action against predecessor Dentsmart Inc. (OAH Docket No. 8-1005-22373-2, ~Nov 2011) for offering franchise without registration. Resolved by Consent Order Dec. 22, 2011; predecessor paid $2,500 civil penalty and agreed to cease offering franchises in Minnesota until registered.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Rice Sullivan, LLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $4.6MYr 2: $8.7MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

FY2024 (year ended Dec 31, 2024) total revenue $4,585,416 comprised Service Income $2,253,829, Royalties $2,165,367, Technician Placement Fee $151,667, Other Income $14,553. Prior year FY2023 total revenue was $8,699,453 (Service Income $6,053,954, Royalties $2,202,105, Tech Placement $228,153, Other $214,841). Net loss of $604,166 in FY2024. Cover page flags Special Risk: franchisor's financial condition calls into question its ability to provide services/support (see Item 21). Franchisor organized July 6, 2022; audited by Rice Sullivan, LLC.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 53 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo Item 19 financial performance disclosure (average revenue/net income unknown) prevents ROI validation
  2. 02MINORRegulatory violation in 2011 with consent order indicates compliance/disclosure issues by predecessor entity
  3. 03MINOROnly 17 units with unknown growth trajectory suggests stagnant or declining system despite franchise model since 2011
  4. 04MINORHigh combined royalty burden (8% PDR + 8% Non-PDR) reduces franchisee profitability margins
  5. 05MINOR5-year term is shorter than industry standard (typically 10 years), creating renewal uncertainty risk

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 140 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 10.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training180 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Right of first refusalℹNo
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice10 days
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationPeoria County / Tazewell County, Illinois (principal place of business)
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawIL
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

State of Minnesota Dept. of Commerce action against predecessor Dentsmart Inc. (OAH Docket No. 8-1005-22373-2, ~Nov 2011) for offering franchise without registration. Resolved by Consent Order Dec. 22, 2011; predecessor paid $2,500 civil penalty and agreed to cease offering franchises in Minnesota until registered.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
80 hrs
On-the-job training
100 hrs
Training location
Du Quoin and/or Pekin, Illinois (classroom); Franchisee Location (OJT)
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Vehicle Hub
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Vehicle Hub

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

12 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 12 contacts · $49
Free preview
618-267-••••IL
Unlock all 12 contacts
513-404-••••OH
920-205-••••WI
731-796-••••TN
763-688-••••MN

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Dentsmart franchise?

The total investment to open a Dentsmart franchise ranges from $79K – $111K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Dentsmart franchise owners earn?

Dentsmart makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Dentsmart?

Dentsmart is franchised by Dentsmart LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Dentsmart FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Dentsmart FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Dentsmart's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Dentsmart (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Dentsmart franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Dentsmart has 17 total units in the United States, including 13 franchised units and 4 company-owned units.

Is Dentsmart a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Dentsmart as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 53 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Dentsmart, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Automotive franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Automotive category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.